Tent, Sleeping Bag & Compact Air Mattress Advice

Discussion in 'Trip Planning' started by twr1776, Feb 24, 2014.

1. twr1776

twr1776 "Mr Awesome"

Oddometer:
    I am planning on a solo trip out west this year to check out some of the National Parks. I am going to be on a KLR and plan on camping in the parks some of the time. Any recommends on a compact tent, sleeping bag, and air mattress or sleeping pad for under the sleeping bag? Thanks
  2. St_rydr

St_rydr #livelikerob

Oddometer:
    Big Agnes

I really think their sleeping bags/pads are top notch.
    Tent I would either go cheap or go with REI as their warranty/return policy and available stores makes sense.
  3. Cannonshot

Cannonshot Having a Nice Time Administrator Super Moderator

Oddometer:
    +1 on Big Agnes bag and pad combo. I use an REI tent as well.
  4. Ironheadziggy76

Ironheadziggy76 What the hell?

Oddometer:
    I have a Mountain Hardware brand three person tent that I've been using since 2008, it's been well used and continues to stay water tight. It's been from Georgia to Alaska in it's life, all on the back of a motorcycle. My advise would be to spend a little extra to get a better quality tent as this will be your home while traveling. www.rei.com has good "house brand" tents at decent prices, and they are a good product with an excellent warranty should something happen. Feel free to send me a PM with any questions you might have as far as camping off the back of a bike, I'm no expert, but I really enjoy it! :lol3

I'm also a member over at www.motocampers.com They're a great bunch of folks on there that are willing to share their experiences. They have been over run by threads on pop up campers lately, but most of us there still camp with tents.
  5. Eyes Shut

Eyes Shut See no evil Super Supporter

Oddometer: