Overpant question

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by Maliwal, Dec 30, 2012.

1. Maliwal

Maliwal Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hey folks, I have a question about something over pants. I just picked up a 750 cruiser :puke1 for commuting to and from school next year, and I want some decent weather and slide protection for the lower half. Last time I checked, the ladies prefer a man with skin on his legs.

So here it is: living in southern Cali, I won't be facing blizzard conditions. I will, however, face huge temperature changes from morning to afternoon, sometimes on the order of fifty to sixty degrees. Three cheers for semiarid climates, eh? Being a broke-ass college student, I want something on the cheaper end though. Any suggestions? Wet crotch all day in class is a sensation I'd like to avoid, or at least soaked ones.

I found these leather over pants but I wonder how they would compare to a similarly priced pair of textile over pants. Thoughts?

http://www.leatherup.com/mp/Xelemen...r-Over-Pants-w/-Side-Zipper--Snaps/41326.html
  2. sealsam

sealsam Sam...I am. Supporter

Oddometer:
  3. sieg

sieg Wearing out tires......2 at a time, day after day. Supporter

Oddometer:
    I don't think leather is the best thing for rain or cold.:deal
  4. acejones

acejones Long timer

Oddometer:
    If you're riding a Harley you are required to wear leather; the rest of us not so much.
  5. TebKLR

TebKLR Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Definitely not at the "cheap" end of the scale, but good value....

Aerostich Darien Light pants have been keeping me warm and dry for a couple of years now.

A little less expensive are their AD-1 overpants.
  6. Lomax

Lomax Nanu-Nanu Adventurer Supporter

Oddometer:
  7. Canuman

Canuman Crusty & Unobliging

Oddometer: