User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-15-2005, 10:12 AM   #1
jcolombo OP
Lurking Moderator

Oddometer: 1,248
Why you need a scooter!

Falling for the siren song of the Stella (thanks Photog!), I smuggled one into California via Ohio a couple of weeks ago. I've been riding bikes, mostly big BMWs for 20 years, but after a couple of weeks, I have to say that I've been missing out. Here's why we all should get scooters:

1) 2 stroke motors:

OK, I know there are non-2 strokes out here, but if, like me, you have not had the experience of owning a 2 stroke, you owe it to yourself to get one before they go that that great regulation in the sky. Great sound, fun to play with the powerband, dead simple and puts a smile on my face everytime I slow down and hear the "bing-bing-bing" sound. I just can't imagine going through life this long without having experienced this technology (those of you nodding as you gaze at your RD350 can continue to smile smugly).

2) Different roads, different sights, different experiences

My normal commute is 22 miles down a 4 lane, high speed (average > 80 MPH) freeway in the Bay Area. Although I know some people will hop their scooter up enough to ride on the freeways, I don't think there is a piston kit big enough to play in that world. So, I took the ironically-named "Foothill Expressway" to work. Nice, four lane road meandering through upscale communities, tree-lined streets and rolling hills. It's a road I would never take to work, yet being on the scooter forced me there, and I was much better for it. I arrived at work relaxed, smiling and all of about 15 minutes later than that high-speed freeway push. If this is not the single best aspect of scootering, I don't know what is.

3) Size matters