ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2011, 07:58 PM   #45076
Rumlover
Ed
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Utah
Oddometer: 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Singer View Post
My local elevation runs from 1-6 thousand feet. I am running a Miuni 145 main which is the smallest one in the kit.
I would consult with Procycle for specifics.
My 2cents (guess) would be at 3000' to try a Mikuni 142.5 or the stock 140 if changing the needle setting doesn't give better mileage.
Rumlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 08:29 PM   #45077
sagedrifter
Southern Explorer
 
sagedrifter's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Jacksonville, Alabama
Oddometer: 1,420
I never got instant throttle with the BST carb, its a vac unit so it does need a second or two to get going.

Have you read the BST Bible thread on here? http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=347184

3,000 feet ain't much, my bike is fine all the way to 11K plus with the 145. I have not tried higher elevations than 11K. Its the needle position that needs changing probably. Call Procycle back up for pointers...
sagedrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 08:44 PM   #45078
NJ-Brett
Brett
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Southern New Jersey
Oddometer: 6,451
If you drill the slide on the stock carb, it opens faster, but the carb was not designed for that, so I think a lot of people end up with things set richer to compensate. That ruins the mpg.
It can also stumble if things are set too rich.
Easy to experiment with needle positions...

I have heard the stock needle sux, and the dynojet is better.
Before I got the tm40, I just pulled the snorkel, drilled the slide a little and shimmed the needle up some.
Better then stock for zero cost.



Quote:
Originally Posted by M Singer View Post
If the throttle is opened part way and I roll on more, the response is very good. If I completely close the throttle while braking to adjust my speed for an upcoming corner, there is a bit of a stumple when I roll on.

Couldn't opening the side too quickly cause a momentary lean condition that could cause a stumble?
NJ-Brett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 09:00 PM   #45079
TeeVee
His mudda was a mudda!
 
TeeVee's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Miami/Managua
Oddometer: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodcat8 View Post
It's amazing what a complete and total douchbag you are. Seriously. It's gotten to a point where I just shake my head and sigh everytime you post anything.... in any thread.
For the record, so you can actually know what your talking shit about for once, I sold my DR w/in a week of listing it in the fleamarket to a fellow "inmate". Who has enjoyed the bike very much since he picked it up.
So for the love of god, just for a day or two, maybe, just maybe... STFU.

you two should just get a room or something
__________________
______________
'08 DR650
'07 DL1000
TeeVee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 10:28 PM   #45080
newride
Studly Adventurer
 
newride's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: San Fran
Oddometer: 704
Nsfu

Quote:
Originally Posted by LexTalionis View Post
Sorry to read of your continuing problems. The DR is a perfect machine to begin learning mechanical skills, don't be discouraged by your first experiences, there will be much satisfaction later on.

I have only serviced one clutch so far, and that was a decade ago, however: I started all the bolts, then in a cross-wise pattern began snugging them down a little at a time, intending to make three circuits, with the last circuit using a torque wrench.

NOTE that the torque specified for these bolts is just **7.0 lbft**. You will NOT be able to use a lbft torque wrench for this low value, you MUST use a LBIN torque wrench set to 84 lbin.

7.0 lbft is just a little more than "snug." and you want to have all the bolts at the *same* "snugness" for the clutch to work properly.

Caveat: I'm not a mechanic, maybe someone who is will correct me.

Also: the small fasteners at the bottom of your fork take the same or nearly the same torque; there have been posts here of riders snapping those bolts.

Lastly, you may want to post your location, there may be a local, helpful DR rider who can assist you in getting to know your DR.

Lex
Thanks Lex and Bergdonk for your suggestions. the other small issue seems to be the clutch bolts. I have enclosed a pic. Have been looking everywhere for a similar bolt/washer combo, but not even close even at Home Depot. Had to order one from suzuki. The washers are attached to the bolts, so it is hard to find that same combo. it seems other washers may slip.
Attached Images
 
__________________
1975 BMW R90/6

My moto blog: http://jbloggie1.blogspot.com/
newride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 10:52 PM   #45081
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 7,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ-Brett View Post
If you drill the slide on the stock carb, it opens faster, but the carb was not designed for that, so I think a lot of people end up with things set richer to compensate. That ruins the mpg.
The same carb is used in the KTM 625/640 series.
It has 2 holes and both larger than on the DR.
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 11:19 PM   #45082
ER70S-2
Beastly Adventurer
 
ER70S-2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: SE Denver-ish
Oddometer: 6,471
My buddy is replacing the BST on KTM's with FCRs. When the 'fast guys' land a jump, the motor quits because gravity slams the vacuum slide shut. Since my 400 pound DR (fuel and tailbag) will bend in the middle (yes, an exaggeration), I don't do jumps.
__________________
2004 DR650: 62,605 miles
2013 WR250R

SUZUKI DR650SE INFORMATION INDEX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threewheelbonnie View Post
"BTW, I don't do style. It's a dirt bike, not some girlie dress-up thing." -
ER70S-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 12:58 AM   #45083
kezzajohnson
kezza
 
kezzajohnson's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Cairns - Queensland Australia
Oddometer: 1,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by LexTalionis View Post
Sorry to read of your continuing problems. The DR is a perfect machine to begin learning mechanical skills, don't be discouraged by your first experiences, there will be much satisfaction later on.

I have only serviced one clutch so far, and that was a decade ago, however: I started all the bolts, then in a cross-wise pattern began snugging them down a little at a time, intending to make three circuits, with the last circuit using a torque wrench.

NOTE that the torque specified for these bolts is just **7.0 lbft**. You will NOT be able to use a lbft torque wrench for this low value, you MUST use a LBIN torque wrench set to 84 lbin.

7.0 lbft is just a little more than "snug." and you want to have all the bolts at the *same* "snugness" for the clutch to work properly.

Caveat: I'm not a mechanic, maybe someone who is will correct me.

Also: the small fasteners at the bottom of your fork take the same or nearly the same torque; there have been posts here of riders snapping those bolts.

Lastly, you may want to post your location, there may be a local, helpful DR rider who can assist you in getting to know your DR.

Lex
Or, if you have a Torque wrentch that has Newton Metres, The value for Clutch springs is 10nm.
When I did mine recently, I just did them up finger tight, then used torque wrench set at 10nm, turning them a couple of times each (as Bergdonk said) and doing them in a criss-cross fashion until torque setting reached. No dramas.
__________________
KezzaJohnson Blue 06 DR650se,Yellow 06 DRZ250

Website: http://www.territoryon2wheels.com

"May the Road Never Rise to Defeat you..."

kezzajohnson screwed with this post 02-20-2011 at 01:06 AM
kezzajohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 02:49 AM   #45084
MK160
Dust in the Wind
 
MK160's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: East TN
Oddometer: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Singer View Post
If the throttle is opened part way and I roll on more, the response is very good. If I completely close the throttle while braking to adjust my speed for an upcoming corner, there is a bit of a stumple when I roll on.

Couldn't opening the side too quickly cause a momentary lean condition that could cause a stumble?
This is the same problem I had with my BST. That, and maddening surge at cruise (light throttle, light load). The TM40 fixed it entirely.

MK160
__________________
KMSH "Dusty", 1 horsepower, 4 hoof drive, dappled palomino.
MK160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 06:42 AM   #45085
M Singer
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Oddometer: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ-Brett View Post
If you drill the slide on the stock carb, it opens faster, but the carb was not designed for that, so I think a lot of people end up with things set richer to compensate. That ruins the mpg.
It can also stumble if things are set too rich.
Easy to experiment with needle positions...

I have heard the stock needle sux, and the dynojet is better.
Before I got the tm40, I just pulled the snorkel, drilled the slide a little and shimmed the needle up some.
Better then stock for zero cost.
I'm going to lower the needle to the 3rd grove from the top today.

I ran shim under the needle with the snorkel pulled b/4 the full jet kit with air box mod. Significantly more power with the jet kit. Didn't really notice the difference from stock to snorkle removed + shim.
M Singer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 06:50 AM   #45086
M Singer
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Oddometer: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by sagedrifter View Post
I never got instant throttle with the BST carb, its a vac unit so it does need a second or two to get going.

Have you read the BST Bible thread on here? http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=347184

3,000 feet ain't much, my bike is fine all the way to 11K plus with the 145. I have not tried higher elevations than 11K. Its the needle position that needs changing probably. Call Procycle back up for pointers...
I have read the BST Bible. Awesome write up! I know this is a different bike but...my CV carbed FZ1 has absolutely 0 lag in throttle response under any condition! Once it is warmed up that is. Actually my issue right now is fuel economy/range. At 2 turns out the hesitation is minor and I can live with it.
M Singer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 11:58 AM   #45087
Trbig67
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Oddometer: 108
Still having turn signal problems. Left side signals work fine, right side, there's nothing front or back. Bulbs checked and they are fine. (Tire pressure is fina also for those suggesting that.) I've gone around the harness and wiggled the right turn signal wires with no effect. I took the front cowling off to access all the wires near the headlight and all seems fine there and no effect from wiggling those turn signal wires there. I dropped the turn signal switch and can't see anything corroded and nothing looks too worn on the parts.

Anyone knowing the wiring of these, please respond. When the key is on but the motor not running, when I turn the right signal on, the light around the speedo and the headlight will dim in time with the flasher, but there is no indicator light on the dash that will light, nor turn signal. So, if you KNOW whether this means the power goes from the switch to the flasher.. meaning the switch is fine and sending juice to the flasher, could you respond? This would hopefully mean a problem after the flasher and I'd like to rule out the switch, and wondering my next move.

As I've said, I hate electrical problems, so if you have any helpful ideas, I'd appreciate hearing from you.
Trbig67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 12:38 PM   #45088
procycle
Beastly Adventurer
 
procycle's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Center of the DR650 universe
Oddometer: 2,315
The couple I've checked were at 8.7:1 and 8.8:1
The brochure spec or 9.5:1 from Suzuki is pretty optimistic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LexTalionis View Post
Motorcycle Consumer News did a multi-part article on upgrades to the DR650 last year. This year, they're doing another multi-part article on engine blueprinting using the same DR650.

In the March issue they measured the displacement and calculated the combustion ratio.

Suzuki states the combustion ratio is 9.5:1.

MCN measured the combustion ratio on their bike as 8.95:1.

The usual caveats pertain; this is only one example.

Lex
__________________
Clarke's second law of Egodynamics: "For every expert, there is an equal and opposite expert." - Jasper Fforde
www.procycle.us - Everything for your DR650 and lots of other great stuff!
DR900 Big Bore Stroker buildup
TurboDiesel Corvette - go to the end to start at the beginning
procycle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 12:41 PM   #45089
procycle
Beastly Adventurer
 
procycle's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Center of the DR650 universe
Oddometer: 2,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Singer View Post
If he doesn't chime in here first, I will give him a call. I suspect he will suggest dropping the needle down one clip.
Absolutely. Anyone installing a jet kit should experiment with the needle clip position. It should be set with the clip in the highest position that still gives smooth operation and good throttle response.
__________________
Clarke's second law of Egodynamics: "For every expert, there is an equal and opposite expert." - Jasper Fforde
www.procycle.us - Everything for your DR650 and lots of other great stuff!
DR900 Big Bore Stroker buildup
TurboDiesel Corvette - go to the end to start at the beginning
procycle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 02:09 PM   #45090
Reddog
Doug@8000'
 
Reddog's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Gunnison,CO
Oddometer: 395
turn signal issue

Trbig67
Check the ground to the inoperative signals, sounds like a grounding issue to me. Best of luck, Doug@8000'
__________________
" It's not what you ride, it's that you ride"
"I've never seen a trailer hitch on a hearse"
Cool guesthouse rental in riding Eldorado, Gunnison, Colorado
http://www.duckpondcottage.com/
http://www.gunnisontire.com/gunnicam.html
Reddog is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015