ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2011, 05:08 AM   #55951
ScottDill
TANSTAAFL
 
ScottDill's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 4,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by ungeheuer View Post
Sooo then....how come the stock seat fits the IMS's different tank slope-angle then?
Corbin seat pan is very stiff. It won't just bend into place like the stock one.
ScottDill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 06:11 AM   #55952
Rusty Rocket
Life behind "Bars"
 
Rusty Rocket's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Trying to leave CT
Oddometer: 9,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by josdavlar View Post
hey ya'll


when the choke is ON is the little brass piston BACKED OUT of its little cylinder? or is it the other way around?
Check this : http://www.kientech.com/DR650HandChokeConv.htm


I was having trouble with my cable operated choke so I went with the hand choke. Same as every bike ever owned. You know it's closed cuz you push it shot.
__________________
on one side the sign it said "Private Road", but on the other side it didn't say nothin'
2009 DR650
..1972 Penton Six-Days ..1971 Suzuki TS185.. 2005 KTM 400exc
Member of: AMA, NETRA, Blue Ribbon Coalition, CCCofVT, Berkshire TR, CT Ramblers
Rusty Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 03:54 PM   #55953
joefromsf
Dark Happens
 
joefromsf's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 1,543
Question Help with Cogent Shock Install

I'm finally getting around to reinstalling my upgraded rear shock after getting it back from Cogent and I am stumped. It's too late to call Rick tonight so thought I would check here for help before calling him in the morning.

Basically I can't get the shock's mounting holes to line up so that I can get the mounting bolts thru. It "seems" like the shock is 1/16-1/8" too long.

I can get the upper mounting bolt in OK. But I can't get the cushion lever, where the lower bolt goes, into a position where the holes line up with the shock's holes. I've got the cushion rods (dogbones) disconnected from the cushion lever so that the lever has maximum play. But in its lowest position (maximum distance between shock mounting points on the bike), the lever's mounting holes are above those of the shock.

What am I missing here? I consider myself a pretty good bike wrencher.

If somebody has a stock, Cogent or any other DR shock that is set up for standard ride height and not currently mounted on your bike, can I get you to measure the distance between mounting holes on the shock (center to center). My distance is 18-3/16" or about 462mm.

Thanks.
joefromsf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 04:19 PM   #55954
procycle
Beastly Adventurer
 
procycle's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Center of the DR650 universe
Oddometer: 2,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefromsf View Post
I'm finally getting around to reinstalling my upgraded rear shock after getting it back from Cogent and I am stumped. It's too late to call Rick tonight so thought I would check here for help before calling him in the morning.

Basically I can't get the shock's mounting holes to line up so that I can get the mounting bolts thru. It "seems" like the shock is 1/16-1/8" too long.

I can get the upper mounting bolt in OK. But I can't get the cushion lever, where the lower bolt goes, into a position where the holes line up with the shock's holes. I've got the cushion rods (dogbones) disconnected from the cushion lever so that the lever has maximum play. But in its lowest position (maximum distance between shock mounting points on the bike), the lever's mounting holes are above those of the shock.

What am I missing here? I consider myself a pretty good bike wrencher.

If somebody has a stock, Cogent or any other DR shock that is set up for standard ride height and not currently mounted on your bike, can I get you to measure the distance between mounting holes on the shock (center to center). My distance is 18-3/16" or about 462mm.

Thanks.
Lifting the bike higher so the swingarm angles down more doesn't gain you enough room?

A stock shock is about 17-7/8"
__________________
Clarke's second law of Egodynamics: "For every expert, there is an equal and opposite expert." - Jasper Fforde
www.procycle.us - Everything for your DR650 and lots of other great stuff!
DR900 Big Bore Stroker buildup
TurboDiesel Corvette - go to the end to start at the beginning
procycle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 04:41 PM   #55955
joefromsf
Dark Happens
 
joefromsf's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 1,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by procycle View Post
Lifting the bike higher so the swingarm angles down more doesn't gain you enough room?
I disconnected the dogbones so the swingarm isn't a factor here. The spine of the cushion lever is against the frame in the max (lowest) position. I can't get anymore distance without getting out the grinder.

Quote:
Originally Posted by procycle View Post
A stock shock is about 17-7/8"
Hmmm. That's a 5/16" difference. I think that length would fit easy. I'll have to talk to Rick about this tomorrow. Thanks for the measurement.

joefromsf screwed with this post 10-24-2011 at 04:51 PM
joefromsf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 04:58 PM   #55956
BergDonk
Beastly Adventurer
 
BergDonk's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Snowy Mountains Oz
Oddometer: 3,583
My Ohlins is about 6 mm longer than stock and I had to do some trimming to get it it fit, 461.5mm long with 134mm of shaft travel.The stock DR shock is 455mm long with 128mm travel.

Seems like yours has been lengthened.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...6&postcount=54

Steve
__________________
shed time IS quality time
BergDonk's DR650 BergDonk's XT1200Z
BergDonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 05:34 PM   #55957
Fabone
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: outside the Willamette Valley
Oddometer: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by joefromsf View Post
I'm finally getting around to reinstalling my upgraded rear shock after getting it back from Cogent and I am stumped. It's too late to call Rick tonight so thought I would check here for help before calling him in the morning.

Basically I can't get the shock's mounting holes to line up so that I can get the mounting bolts thru. It "seems" like the shock is 1/16-1/8" too long.

I can get the upper mounting bolt in OK. But I can't get the cushion lever, where the lower bolt goes, into a position where the holes line up with the shock's holes. I've got the cushion rods (dogbones) disconnected from the cushion lever so that the lever has maximum play. But in its lowest position (maximum distance between shock mounting points on the bike), the lever's mounting holes are above those of the shock.

What am I missing here? I consider myself a pretty good bike wrencher.

If somebody has a stock, Cogent or any other DR shock that is set up for standard ride height and not currently
mounted on your bike, can I get you to measure the distance between mounting holes on the shock (center to center). My distance is 18-3/16" or about 462mm.

Thanks.

Mount up the bottom end first, then shoehorn the top in. That's what I did.
Fabone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 05:42 PM   #55958
joefromsf
Dark Happens
 
joefromsf's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 1,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by BergDonk View Post
My Ohlins is about 6 mm longer than stock and I had to do some trimming to get it it fit, 461.5mm long with 134mm of shaft travel.The stock DR shock is 455mm long with 128mm travel.

Seems like yours has been lengthened.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...6&postcount=54

Steve
Thanks Steve. Another confirmation my shock is too long.
joefromsf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 05:51 PM   #55959
joefromsf
Dark Happens
 
joefromsf's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 1,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabone View Post
Mount up the bottom end first, then shoehorn the top in. That's what I did.
Already tried that. I've now got two confirmations my shock is longer than stock. Nothing short of somehow compressing the shock or grinding at frame and/or cushion lever will get a shock of this length on the bike. Since I specifically requested no change in ride height, I'd say I should expect normal installation. I'm sure Rick will make it right.
joefromsf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 06:20 PM   #55960
tobster9
Sky larker
 
tobster9's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia,
Oddometer: 119
procycle DIY seat

has anyone else tried the procycle 'fit it yourself' seat cover? I paid $179 for mine and its about a 8/10 for comfort, way, way, way better than stock, great anti slip nice n thick material. Im, going to be sitting on it for the next 2 months so Im hoping it stays comfy....
__________________
with sufficient thrust pigs fly just fine
tobster9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 06:53 PM   #55961
Mud Missile
Aventurero
 
Mud Missile's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: SE of FW
Oddometer: 170
Throttle cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by discoganya View Post
Anyone have any experience adjusting the throttle cable? I recently did a 500 mile day ride... Bike sat for 5 days thereafter and started right up yesterday. While riding I realized that the throttle does not retract to it's original position as easily as it used to. A little bit of stickiness. Checked the throttle cables near the carb and the one of them appeared loose. There is some play on the front side of the pulley. Any advice on adjusting this? (Unfortunately, I don't have the users manual or service manual in front of me right now).
I just adjusted the cables on mine after cleaning the carb. Each pull cable has a set of two nuts, one on top and one on the bottom. What I did was to loosen up the one on top to give me free play and ability to get it off the metal frame. Then, tighten or loose the nut on the bottom a bit and tighten the nut on top. Check for loose or too tight cable by twisting the throttle. Also, you may need to lubricate the cable. I hope this helps. Good luck.
__________________
Mudmissile
Mud Missile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 06:53 PM   #55962
simonw
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Oddometer: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by russt View Post
I found some threads/ postings for replacing a broken starter switch and bought a SPST momentary pushbutton switch from Radio Shack (RS part # 275-0646).

Not knowing anything about electrical systems, is there a specific wire to post connection? Or does it not matter- I can connect either wire to either post on the switch. Before I solder the switch I am going to use jump cables to test out the connection. Thought I would ask as others for their experience with this.

Thanks in advance for the help.
I have been a long time lurker and occasional poster. Just wanting to say this is one of the greatest forum evaaaaa! instead of spending almost $100 to get a new right hand control, I put in a momentary switch and it works like a charm. thanks fellow dr lovers.
simonw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 07:12 PM   #55963
vnsfxr
BornAgainDirtyRider
 
vnsfxr's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Lake County California
Oddometer: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapp22 View Post
Gang the turnsignal relocator is selling well. would like to get enough of these out there to fund the "Type 2" which will be 4-bolt size with knockouts for switches and Accessory socket
http://www.ebay.com/itm/110753607721#ht_1261wt_1185

despite whats in the ebay listing, we do have some units in Australia and Canada if you'd prefer to buy from those inmates, and I can arrange ship wherever and just pass through the incremental cost... the worst part is that I have to get a human at the USPS to stamp the customs forms, and I don't live close to any of them... Just another excuse to kick the tires and light the fires
Go to https://sss-web.usps.com/cns/landing.do get signed up print your own labels/custom forms, pay for the postage online and have your mail man scan them as accepted and take them to the Post Office for you when he drops off your mail.

The whole program is called Click n Ship

This message brought to you by a Postmaster Inmate
__________________
Socialism – Tax dollars at work for those who don’t
vnsfxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 07:53 PM   #55964
Adv Grifter
on the road o'dreams
 
Adv Grifter's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Passing ADV Stalkers in California
Oddometer: 6,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by procycle View Post
Lifting the bike higher so the swingarm angles down more doesn't gain you enough room?

A stock shock is about 17-7/8"
Plus ONE +++ That should do it. I've been in the same quandary the moving the swingarm made it work. (don't lose any needle bearings from the various cushion link bearings! They fall out!
Adv Grifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 08:06 PM   #55965
BergDonk
Beastly Adventurer
 
BergDonk's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Snowy Mountains Oz
Oddometer: 3,583
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adv Grifter View Post
Plus ONE +++ That should do it. I've been in the same quandary the moving the swingarm made it work. (don't lose any needle bearings from the various cushion link bearings! They fall out!
Interesting terminology being used in this discussion, 'cushion'

I've never heard it before in all these years, and I'm heading towards 60 fast

Steve
__________________
shed time IS quality time
BergDonk's DR650 BergDonk's XT1200Z
BergDonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015