ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2011, 07:29 AM   #56926
poppawheelie
Gnarly Adventurer
 
poppawheelie's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Oddometer: 368
GXSR muffler

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xplorr View Post
GSXR can on ebay: http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI...E:B:SS:US:1123

A bit spendy, but looks clean. (I am not affiliated with the sale.)

Cheers, matt
That is really pricey! I ran an ad on CraigsList looking for one and got an X40F0X the next day for $50, locally. Rode over to pick it up - no shipping. Lucky.
__________________
"To me the trail is calling! The old trail - the trail that is always new." Matthew Alexander Henson

"It's not the destination. It's the journey." Me
poppawheelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 07:33 AM   #56927
vnp514
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington State
Oddometer: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stringer99 View Post
im at 4700 miles on a 2003 and need to take the top end apart to change a leaky head gasket, and a paper base gasket. should i bother to install new rings while i've got it apart?
I had some friends help me install a new BG on my 2002 with over 11,000 miles on it. We reused the stock rings. I did learn to use anaerobic sealer and not just plain silicon when you go to button things back up. Call Jesse at Kienteck and pick his brain. He is one of the go to guys when it comes to these DRs.

http://www.kientech.com/

Good Luck!

Pete
vnp514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 07:52 AM   #56928
dflow
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dflow's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: SW of STL
Oddometer: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stringer99 View Post
For several hours I have been trying to install the top NSU screw, with many different teqniques. It is not going in, period. the bolt wont thread through. i dont know what else to do. the threads are correct, bottom one goes in easy. there is just no possible way to install it with the clutch in the way. can i just yank the whole NSU system out of the bike? again, several hours on that bolt. it doesnt go in.
I have replaced 3 NSUs todate without issues and with the clutch in place. I replace with internal hex cap head screws so I can drive them in with a ball-tip driver. This helps in getting that hard to access top screw started and torqued even with the limited space. I also remove one old screw at a time and replace with the new screw before moving to the 2nd screw. This ensures the spring and ball stays under the NSU. Just in case I plug passages in the engine case to avoid doh moments when parts fly. BTW all 3 jobs had loose to finger tight screws when I got in there.
dflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 07:57 AM   #56929
Porrick
Going nowhere fast
 
Porrick's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Maryland
Oddometer: 101
relays and stuff

Thanks to all who responded. I guess I should clarify.......

I am installing an HDB top clamp/guards and Vapor (all other instruments will be deleted), I want to add the following:

1) Eastern Beaver headlight harness with 2x 40A relays and push button on/off switch;
2) Dual Star heated grips controlled via WarmnSafe troller
3) Top clamp mounted cig lighter socket for RAM mounted GPS (with internal battery)

The questions:

1) Is it worth the cost to buy an Eastern Beaver PC8 fuse box to run this stuff through?

2) If so, what is the purpose of the 40A relay option for the PC8? Is it necessary/helpful??

3) Would the addition of a relay on the troller make the grip heaters more effective (hot)?

4) I assume the Vapor can be run (along with an LED battery gauge) off the spare accessory plug behind the headlight cowl. Any need/value to add a switch/relay to the Vapor wiring?

Sorry to be so dense about this stuff, but I'm used to 60's Brit bikes that don't have all this crap....

TIA, Porrick
Porrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:01 AM   #56930
dflow
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dflow's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: SW of STL
Oddometer: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stringer99 View Post
Yes im pretty sure. its coming from the front of the head gasket, right next to the exhaust port. Then after time the wind blows it across the fins and towards the back. I ordered an extra end plug for the install just in case i have problems with removal. The rings I was contemplating because of my dark oil issues, and I'll have the top end stripped anyway. Wasn't sure if it was a good idea or not.
Is the leak souce above the exhaust header or below? Above is the cover, below the head. A leakdown or compression test will tell you if your rings/valves are an issue. When you say your oil is black just how black do you mean?
dflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:55 AM   #56931
vintagespeed
fNg
 
vintagespeed's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonger, CA
Oddometer: 1,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stringer99 View Post
oil and filter has been changed every 200 miles since purchased 1000 miles ago..
why? i ride around 350mi/week, oil changes at 3000mi.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LexTalionis View Post
I have a spare clutch and brake lever in my saddlebags all the time...
the OP was asking about brake pads and chains. a little heavier than a pair of levers and could be shipped or purchased anywhere in the world. space & weight being a premium on around the world trips, why waste?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Porrick View Post
1) Is it worth the cost to buy an Eastern Beaver PC8 fuse box to run this stuff through?
2) If so, what is the purpose of the 40A relay option for the PC8? Is it necessary/helpful??
3) Would the addition of a relay on the troller make the grip heaters more effective (hot)?
4) I assume the Vapor can be run (along with an LED battery gauge) off the spare accessory plug behind the headlight cowl. Any need/value to add a switch/relay to the Vapor wiring?...
you dont need 8 fused ports unless you're adding ALOT more farkles to your handlebars, this will all add much more weight. a 40A relay is unnecessary, 20A is plenty. grip heaters are most effective without anything to hinder power flow (AMPS). mine are simply wired either ON/OFF by toggle.

yes the vapor can run off the brown accessory plug behind the cowl. but if you're adding fused ports and relays, why not wire it in to that source?

also, the HDB clamp does not fit a cig lighter port. it fits an 18mm dia Powerlet port, you'll need an adapter for cig.

here's my HDB clamp/vapor/etc:

__________________
'12 Triumph ST3R corner raper, '09 HusaBerg FE570 and a bunch of 2 strokes that you dont want to read about. :)

TAT-2013: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=913898
SoCal_NoDak-2012: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=829203
vintagespeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 09:01 AM   #56932
vintagespeed
fNg
 
vintagespeed's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonger, CA
Oddometer: 1,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by silverwolf View Post
Because It seems if I am running this lean when it should be rich...
you're probably way to rich and drowning it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LexTalionis View Post
...As in, don't put red OR blue locktite on your spark plugs....
dangit! NOW you tell me. :( i just green lock-tighted my seat bolts and case cover bolts. you know, just to be sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by motolab View Post
Oil turning black is a symptom of not changing it frequently enough...
or a slipping clutch.
__________________
'12 Triumph ST3R corner raper, '09 HusaBerg FE570 and a bunch of 2 strokes that you dont want to read about. :)

TAT-2013: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=913898
SoCal_NoDak-2012: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=829203
vintagespeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 09:10 AM   #56933
motolab
Beastly Adventurer
 
motolab's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Oddometer: 1,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by LexTalionis View Post
OK, this is the second or third time I've read of Motolab selling carb parts, yet I see no info on Motolab's postings relative to retail sales.

Although I have no need for carb parts now, nor have I had such a need in the past decade or so, I like to add to my list of resources, and so, Motolab, what do you sell and what services do you offer (other than your free advice on this thread, which is much appreciated)?

TIA,
Lex
Hello Lex,

Have a look at http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=528038.

Regards,

Derek
motolab is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 09:26 AM   #56934
MountaineerWV
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MountaineerWV's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: West Virginia
Oddometer: 293
Colombia

Does anyone have any suggestions for solid mechanics or shops for the DR650 in Cartagena or Medellin, Colombia? I believe the DR is the bike of choice for the police there?

I'm about to do some maintenance that I've never done before...and in the event that I screw something up I would like to have reputable mechanic that I can go to for help.

Thanks,
James
__________________
TAT...and Beyond
West Virginia University
Beta Theta Pi - Beta Psi
US Army 2006-2011; Ansbach, Germany 2007-2011; Iraq 07-08 & 09-10
MountaineerWV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 09:45 AM   #56935
newride
Studly Adventurer
 
newride's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: South Shore of MA
Oddometer: 699
front wheel axle

Okay, I might just have a stubborn axle, but I am having trouble getting it off. Took off the 4, 10mm nuts and it is my understanding that the axle comes off just like any other bolt? (19mm) Maybe it is just stuck. Any tricks I am missing?
Thanks all.
__________________
1975 BMW R90/6
2006 DR 650
My moto blog: http://jbloggie1.blogspot.com/
newride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 09:47 AM   #56936
Stringer99
Banned
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Central FL
Oddometer: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by dflow View Post
Is the leak souce above the exhaust header or below? Above is the cover, below the head. A leakdown or compression test will tell you if your rings/valves are an issue. When you say your oil is black just how black do you mean?
its coming out the head gasket. oil comes out like chocolate milk and opaque after 200 miles. clutch is good, looks new. maybe i should order the rings to be on the safe side. ;ast thing i want to do is tear this apart more than once.
Stringer99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 10:35 AM   #56937
silverwolf
Gnarly Adventurer
 
silverwolf's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Asheville, NC
Oddometer: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by vintagespeed View Post
you're probably way to rich and drowning it.

It gets over 50 mpg and runs better when I put duct tape over part of the airbox opening.
silverwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 10:56 AM   #56938
ER70S-2
Beastly Adventurer
 
ER70S-2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: SE Denver-ish
Oddometer: 3,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by newride View Post
Okay, I might just have a stubborn axle, but I am having trouble getting it off. Took off the 4, 10mm nuts and it is my understanding that the axle comes off just like any other bolt? (19mm) Maybe it is just stuck. Any tricks I am missing?
Thanks all.
Put the 10mm nuts and cap back on, finger tight. This keeps the forks from twisting while getting the axle loose. Use a box end wrench or socket, an open ended wrench only uses two flats on the head. I use the one in the tool kit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stringer99 View Post
its coming out the head gasket. oil comes out like chocolate milk and opaque after 200 miles. clutch is good, looks new. maybe i should order the rings to be on the safe side. ;ast thing i want to do is tear this apart more than once.
Checking the ring end gap (at the bottom of the cylinder), will give you a good idea on how worn they may be. 4700 miles is hardly broken in. New rings are $40.

Oil looking like chocolate milk sounds like water in the oil, not likely on an air/oil cooled bike. Can you post a pic of the oil, next oil change?
__________________
2004 DR650: 57,097 miles of

SUZUKI DR650SE INFORMATION INDEX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threewheelbonnie View Post
"BTW, I don't do style. It's a dirt bike, not some girlie dress-up thing." -
ER70S-2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 11:04 AM   #56939
newride
Studly Adventurer
 
newride's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: South Shore of MA
Oddometer: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by newride View Post
Okay, I might just have a stubborn axle, but I am having trouble getting it off. Took off the 4, 10mm nuts and it is my understanding that the axle comes off just like any other bolt? (19mm) Maybe it is just stuck. Any tricks I am missing?
Thanks all.
do i have to pull off the speedo cable housing first before axle. Manual is very vauge as usual.
__________________
1975 BMW R90/6
2006 DR 650
My moto blog: http://jbloggie1.blogspot.com/
newride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 11:14 AM   #56940
ER70S-2
Beastly Adventurer
 
ER70S-2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: SE Denver-ish
Oddometer: 3,995
No. When I pull the axle out, I lift the wheel up and forward, so I can remove the speedo housing.
__________________
2004 DR650: 57,097 miles of

SUZUKI DR650SE INFORMATION INDEX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threewheelbonnie View Post
"BTW, I don't do style. It's a dirt bike, not some girlie dress-up thing." -
ER70S-2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014