ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2012, 09:28 AM   #67951
MeterPig
Meh
 
MeterPig's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Parker, Colorado...
Oddometer: 17,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibbosdr650 View Post
hey guys,

just wondering if anyone could help me, I am about to replace my clutch and wanted to clean and check the pinion gear. Any ideas on how to get it out.
http://www.advrider.com/forums/attac...1&d=1281313546

Thanks
What makes ya sell?
__________________
You looked down here...didn't you.
MeterPig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 09:38 AM   #67952
TrophyHunter
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 2,112
BigDogMax - ditto on the video. Great job by your daughter. Even better that she's out there with you.
__________________
www.dualsportmoto.com
2005 DR650 2003 DRZ-250
2013 HD Road King '73 Hodaka Wombat

"It's a small amount of gas, but it represents a long walk" My Dad...
TrophyHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 10:21 AM   #67953
deathu
Adventurer
 
deathu's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Bucharest
Oddometer: 77
Hi everyone,

Some of you may remember my carburetor issues we discussed on this thread about one week ago. Now, some of the new parts I ordered arrived. To cut it short, I replaced the modified white nylon washer/spacer thing that holds the jet needle, with a new and unmodified one. Now I'm back to stock settings, 1.5 turns out on the pilot screw, and the bike runs excellent. Man, that little washer made such a huge difference.. I never had such a good throttle response on this bike since I have her (about 2 months I guess).

Anyway.. the bike now developed another issue. As I said, the bike runs excellent, at least compared to how it was running before... WHEN it runs. For 2 times in a row now, when I start the cold bike it just runs for a minute then abruptly stalls. Let me explain...cold engine. Choke on. Start the bike with no issue... it idles for a minute then stalls abruptly/without any warning (the engine speed doesn't decrease before stalling). After that, the bike is VERY difficult to start again... almost drained my battery. Finally, I manage to start it only after leaving it for one minute or so (ignition off). Then it starts easily and works as expected (this time, little to no choke required).

If I try to re-start the bike immediately after it stalled, I have little to no success, and I'm totally unable to rev it from the throttle.. it dies immediately. It seems to me it only wants to start again after sitting untouched for a minute or so.

Any ideas are more than welcome...
deathu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 10:30 AM   #67954
Richguzzi
Adventurer
 
Richguzzi's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: SF Bay Area
Oddometer: 63
CV carb needles

Question: Does anyone make or is there a part number for an adjustable needle for the stock carb? One that has the, pre EPA, standard five or so positions instead of one that you need to shim to adjust? No I don't want to change carbs as I just did the 600 mile service. I've been through the forum and didn't see anything. I can get, and have, various needles for the Dellortos on my Eye-talian bikes so there must be Mikuni needles available. Or do I have to buy a spare and chuck it in a lathe?
Richguzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 10:37 AM   #67955
Rumlover
Ed
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Utah
Oddometer: 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathu View Post
Hi everyone,

Anyway.. the bike now developed another issue. As I said, the bike runs excellent, at least compared to how it was running before... WHEN it runs. For 2 times in a row now, when I start the cold bike it just runs for a minute then abruptly stalls. Let me explain...cold engine. Choke on. Start the bike with no issue... it idles for a minute then stalls abruptly/without any warning (the engine speed doesn't decrease before stalling). After that, the bike is VERY difficult to start again... almost drained my battery. Finally, I manage to start it only after leaving it for one minute or so (ignition off). Then it starts easily and works as expected (this time, little to no choke required).

If I try to re-start the bike immediately after it stalled, I have little to no success, and I'm totally unable to rev it from the throttle.. it dies immediately. It seems to me it only wants to start again after sitting untouched for a minute or so.

Any ideas are more than welcome...
It doesn't sound to serious to me. Sometimes getting the idle dialed in can get a little tricky\frustrating. Sounds to me like it is stalling from being a little too rich still at idle (leaving the engine a little flooded which is why it is hard to start afterwards).

Might try taking it off choke a little sooner or reducing the choke a little as it warms up.
Also may want to try turning the pilot screw in a little more (1.25 turns) and turning the idle up a tad at the idle speed screw.

A little tweaking of the adjustments will fix it. Be patient.
Good luck!

Rumlover screwed with this post 08-05-2012 at 10:45 AM
Rumlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 10:37 AM   #67956
MeterPig
Meh
 
MeterPig's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Parker, Colorado...
Oddometer: 17,090
This was mentioned above but make sure it has fuel. There is a little filter in the carb fill neck-toss that and put in an inline filter.

Sounds like fuel clogging to start.



Quote:
Originally Posted by deathu View Post
Hi everyone,

Some of you may remember my carburetor issues we discussed on this thread about one week ago. Now, some of the new parts I ordered arrived. To cut it short, I replaced the modified white nylon washer/spacer thing that holds the jet needle, with a new and unmodified one. Now I'm back to stock settings, 1.5 turns out on the pilot screw, and the bike runs excellent. Man, that little washer made such a huge difference.. I never had such a good throttle response on this bike since I have her (about 2 months I guess).

Anyway.. the bike now developed another issue. As I said, the bike runs excellent, at least compared to how it was running before... WHEN it runs. For 2 times in a row now, when I start the cold bike it just runs for a minute then abruptly stalls. Let me explain...cold engine. Choke on. Start the bike with no issue... it idles for a minute then stalls abruptly/without any warning (the engine speed doesn't decrease before stalling). After that, the bike is VERY difficult to start again... almost drained my battery. Finally, I manage to start it only after leaving it for one minute or so (ignition off). Then it starts easily and works as expected (this time, little to no choke required).

If I try to re-start the bike immediately after it stalled, I have little to no success, and I'm totally unable to rev it from the throttle.. it dies immediately. It seems to me it only wants to start again after sitting untouched for a minute or so.

Any ideas are more than welcome...
__________________
You looked down here...didn't you.
MeterPig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 10:41 AM   #67957
Rumlover
Ed
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Utah
Oddometer: 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richguzzi View Post
Question: Does anyone make or is there a part number for an adjustable needle for the stock carb? One that has the, pre EPA, standard five or so positions instead of one that you need to shim to adjust? No I don't want to change carbs as I just did the 600 mile service. I've been through the forum and didn't see anything. I can get, and have, various needles for the Dellortos on my Eye-talian bikes so there must be Mikuni needles available. Or do I have to buy a spare and chuck it in a lathe?
The adjustable needle that KTM uses in their BST40 carb is a direct fit. A little googling will get you the part number, or stay tuned -- I am sure someone here has it handy.

Rumlover screwed with this post 08-05-2012 at 10:47 AM
Rumlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 10:46 AM   #67958
ram1000
Beastly Adventurer
 
ram1000's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Tricities Washington
Oddometer: 1,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rumlover View Post
The needle that KTM uses in their BST40 carb is a direct fit. A little googling will get you the part number, or stay tuned -- I am sure someone here has it handy.
I don't have the part number but I have a 2002 KTM 640 needle in my stock carb using the nylon spacer under the clip it is set to the third position. Cost me $10 a couple years ago at the KTM dealer.
__________________
A good adventure bike will get you to where you wish you had a good dirt bike! (and back)
:2014 XC800 :2012 WR450
ram1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 11:11 AM   #67959
Kommando
Grumpy Young Man
 
Kommando's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Spacecoaster FL
Oddometer: 7,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richguzzi View Post
Question: Does anyone make or is there a part number for an adjustable needle for the stock carb? One that has the, pre EPA, standard five or so positions instead of one that you need to shim to adjust? No I don't want to change carbs as I just did the 600 mile service. I've been through the forum and didn't see anything. I can get, and have, various needles for the Dellortos on my Eye-talian bikes so there must be Mikuni needles available. Or do I have to buy a spare and chuck it in a lathe?
Several adjustable needles are available for the stock BST40 carb. Procycle and Dynojet sell adjustable needles for a cut airbox. I don't know what brand of needle Procycle sells in their carb kits. They might vary, based on availability. You'd have to ask Jeff.

If you'd like to leave your airbox intact, Factory Pro or KTM needles offer adjustability with a stock-similar taper, for use with an unmodified airbox. Just remove the snorkel, which is replaceable. The KTM needles are available through www.Sudco.com, while Procycle and other vendors sell the Factory Pro needle.
Kommando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 11:27 AM   #67960
Richguzzi
Adventurer
 
Richguzzi's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: SF Bay Area
Oddometer: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kommando View Post
Several adjustable needles are available for the stock BST40 carb. Procycle and Dynojet sell adjustable needles for a cut airbox. I don't know what brand of needle Procycle sells in their carb kits. They might vary, based on availability. You'd have to ask Jeff.

If you'd like to leave your airbox intact, Factory Pro or KTM needles offer adjustability with a stock-similar taper, for use with an unmodified airbox. Just remove the snorkel, which is replaceable. The KTM needles are available through www.Sudco.com, while Procycle and other vendors sell the Factory Pro needle.

Thanks! Yea I'm not messing with airbox mods just yet. I was just looking for an easy replacement with a couple of easily adjustable notches ...
Richguzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 01:48 PM   #67961
Escaped
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Escaped's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Northern California
Oddometer: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathu View Post
Hi everyone,

As I said, the bike runs excellent, at least compared to how it was running before... WHEN it runs. For 2 times in a row now, when I start the cold bike it just runs for a minute then abruptly stalls. Let me explain...cold engine. Choke on. Start the bike with no issue... it idles for a minute then stalls abruptly/without any warning (the engine speed doesn't decrease before stalling). After that, the bike is VERY difficult to start again... almost drained my battery. Finally, I manage to start it only after leaving it for one minute or so (ignition off). Then it starts easily and works as expected (this time, little to no choke required).

If I try to re-start the bike immediately after it stalled, I have little to no success, and I'm totally unable to rev it from the throttle.. it dies immediately. It seems to me it only wants to start again after sitting untouched for a minute or so.

Any ideas are more than welcome...
Is the vacuum operated petcock operating correctly? Check the vacuum line to the petcock.

Or start it with the petcock in prime position and see if it runs.
__________________
2006 DR650 53,654 miles

DR650 - Eyes open all of the time
Escaped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 02:01 PM   #67962
Escaped
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Escaped's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Northern California
Oddometer: 462
[QUOTE=BadDogMax;19287345]I just got back from Mammoth doing just that. Awesome time!



Great video!

It looks like I rode on some of the very same roads - thru the tunnel under 395 for sure.
__________________
2006 DR650 53,654 miles

DR650 - Eyes open all of the time
Escaped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 02:05 PM   #67963
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 7,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richguzzi View Post
Thanks! Yea I'm not messing with airbox mods just yet. I was just looking for an easy replacement with a couple of easily adjustable notches ...
Just get an NZ, Oz or even maybe Canadian needle.
The part number is in the manual.
__________________
DR650 Wiki
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 02:54 PM   #67964
GaThumper
Road Less Traveled
 
GaThumper's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Thumpin' in North GA - headin' for the Smokys
Oddometer: 515
There's a 32 page study over on TT about the DR650 needles.

http://www.thumpertalk.com/topic/396...le-comparison/

I just skimmed through the first 17 pages to find this for you!

"It's a 6G5 from a 98 KTM LC4. KTM P/N 584310346G5"
__________________
Dirtly: 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Road Sofa: 2001 Yamaha (ad)Venture 1300
Dirtlier: 1999 Suzuki DR350SE Old Sport: 1979 Suzuki GS1000E

1996 Suzuki Intruder 1400 (for sale) 1987 Yamaha TT600 (for sale)
GaThumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 03:24 PM   #67965
freestate
Adventurer
 
freestate's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Stockholm, Capitol of Scandinavia
Oddometer: 65
Hiya, just hooked up two bags I bought as panniers on the DR.





As you can see I have them rather forward and didn't bother with any brackets to hold it off the exhaust, instead relying on the plastic side cover to save the right bag from catching fire.
What do you guys think, safe or stupid?

freestate screwed with this post 08-05-2012 at 03:31 PM
freestate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014