ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-05-2006, 07:39 AM   #16
andmoon
Beastly Adventurer
 
andmoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: NJ exit 10
Oddometer: 3,187
So which one should I get?
andmoon is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 02:29 PM   #17
Oldrice
oldrice.com
 
Oldrice's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Detroit - East Side
Oddometer: 527
what about actual maps?

Ok. Cool. But....I'm loking for good maps? No GPS but hard laminated real honest to goodness maps. Who has the best maps? Can I buy them?

We're going off-road. Mainly. From Mexico to Ushuaia, Argentina.

Any ideas?

I've googled "Good Maps" and found some...but I'd like to know if anyone on here has a preference.

Anyone? Dr. Phil? Bu... anyone?

Oldrice-
www.oldrice.com/KLR650.htm
__________________
www.oldrice.com
Four Wheels Move the Body, Two Wheels Move the Soul.

AJS Trials, CB250K0, XL250K0
Oldrice is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 04:15 PM   #18
DeSoto
Gnarly Adventurer
 
DeSoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: From Kans-ass
Oddometer: 487
A few handy sites

Trying get you GPS to blend in? http://www.cellset.com/

Cool site if you are running a 2610 . http://home.socal.rr.com/diverhank/S...edFeatures.htm


More stuff. http://www.gpsu.co.uk/

a handy conversion site. http://www.oasisphoto.com/navigation/convert_form.php
__________________
05 1200 GS
07 650 GS

DeSoto screwed with this post 01-16-2007 at 08:29 AM
DeSoto is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 01:10 PM   #19
lowflyer
Doubleplusgood
 
lowflyer's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Earth
Oddometer: 2,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldrice
Ok. Cool. But....I'm loking for good maps? No GPS but hard laminated real honest to goodness maps. Who has the best maps? Can I buy them?

We're going off-road. Mainly. From Mexico to Ushuaia, Argentina.

Any ideas?

I've googled "Good Maps" and found some...but I'd like to know if anyone on here has a preference.

Anyone? Dr. Phil? Bu... anyone?

Oldrice-
www.oldrice.com/KLR650.htm
What is this "map" you speak of?

I have used these guys: http://www.offroute.com/mod2/index.asp

lowflyer screwed with this post 11-01-2006 at 01:23 PM
lowflyer is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 05:21 PM   #20
DeSoto
Gnarly Adventurer
 
DeSoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: From Kans-ass
Oddometer: 487
Here you go Phil.
This is a really good basic site:
http://www.trimble.com/gps/index.shtml
__________________
05 1200 GS
07 650 GS
DeSoto is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 11:47 PM   #21
vik
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Union City, CA
Oddometer: 12
Hi Phil,


I want to install the Mapsource software on my Palm OS5

Is it possible to get a Mapsource version for the Palm
I want to edit and make maps on my handheld
It has the processing power and resolution
Is there any version of mapsource for Palm handhelds


I have the Zumo CD for Xp
Is there anything i can do to get the Palm version ?

Thanks again for your help
vik is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 07:46 AM   #22
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,818
Uninstall Reinstall Remove Mapsource

From Adsinger's thread - http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=191771

How to Uninstall Reinstall or Remove Mapsource



Heard From Garmin


I finally got a response from GarminTS. I must say it is very good, comprehensive, yet also comprehendable. Nice work. I'm posting here for future seachers to see exactly how Garmin recommends correcting the errors I had.

alan.

Here it is:

Thank you for contacting GARMIN International. I would be happy to help you
with this!

My recommendation is to uninstall the software and then reinstall to a
separate destination directory if needed. I also recommend going into the
registry and deleting the GARMIN key in the registry.

1. Go to the start menu in windows

2. Select the settings and then select the control panel.

3. In the control panel double click on the icon for ADD/REMOVE PROGRAMS.

4. Select MapSource in the uninstall window. The software will ask to if you
wish to uninstall all the components, answer YES to this option.

5. Select the Start key to the run option. In the run window type in <
regedit > and enter. In the registry editor, you need to be very careful and
please follow these steps precisely.

a. Select the (+) next to the folder stating HKEY_CURRENT_USER

b. In this view select the (+) next to SOFTWARE, when you click on this it
will open your registry further.

c. In the SOFTWARE view you will see a series of folders, one will be
GARMIN. Highlight the word GARMIN and press the delete key. It will ask for
confirmation of deletion. Make sure that the word GARMIN is the only key
highlighted. Press on the (-) signs to contract the expansion.

d. Select the (+) next to the folder stating HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE

e. In this view select the (+) next to SOFTWARE, when you click on this it
will open your registry further.

f. In the SOFTWARE view you will see a series of folders, one will be
GARMIN. Highlight the word GARMIN and press the delete key. It will ask for
confirmation of deletion. Make sure that the word GARMIN is the only key
highlighted. Press on the (-) signs to contract the expansion.

6. Shut down your system as normal and then let the system set for about 30
seconds and then start up your computer.

7. Reinstall the software. It will display the destination folder, if the
setting is anything other than c:\garmin, click on the browse option and
type it in. You will get a message "This folder does not exist" but the
option to create it will follow. Select OK.

8. Reboot after finishing your installation allowing the software to rest in
the destination folder.

9. After you reinstall, I recommend that you upgrade your operating software
to the latest version of the MapSource operating system.

Following are the steps to update MapSource on your computer as well as the
link to the GARMIN download site:

http://www.garmin.com/support/mappingsw.jsp

Following are the steps to update MapSource on your computer as well as the
link to the GARMIN download site:
<www.garmin.com support mappingsw.jsp>>
Click on MapSource from the list. Please click on the word MapSource and you
will be taken to a Download page.
The Download page will have the word download on the screen. Once you click
on this it will begin trying to download the file. Please save it to the
DESKTOP. Once you have completed downloading the upgrade you will need to
run the program.

Please make sure you have closed out the MapSource program. If it is running
the update will not work correctly.
The file should be on your desktop. Then please double-click on the file and
the program will begin to install on to your computer.

Once it is completed you can go back and check by going into MapSource and
then click on the help and then the about MapSource.

Please make sure you have closed out the MapSource program. If it is running
the update will not work correctly.

The file should be on your desktop. Then please double-click on the file and
the program will begin to install on to your computer.

Once it is completed you can go back and check by going into MapSource and
then click on the help and then the about MapSource.

** NOTE... to check the version of Map Source you are running or to verify
the update was complete...in Map Source, click on HELP and ABOUT MAP SOURCE,
this will display the version below the Map Source title. **

I would also recommend downloading a new copy of the Map Source manual from
our website at -->> http://www.garmin.com/cartography/mapSource/manual.html.
__________________


dunno.....

9Dave screwed with this post 12-30-2006 at 08:00 AM
9Dave is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:11 PM   #23
Tollster
Jammer Jay
 
Tollster's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Pennsyltucky
Oddometer: 2,067
We are all dumb and look for unlawfull carnal knowledge with you our great toothless one.
__________________
Nothings possible, until its done!
If ya can't afford the fine, take the lead.
Pain is weakness leaving the body!
If you haven't crashed, you're not riding to potential!.
Tollster is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 09:25 AM   #24
freeflow
get in or go in
 
freeflow's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: GB-Wisconsin
Oddometer: 15,352
n00b to street gps units....

curious...I am impressed with the North America City Navigator V8 NT I installed into my new 60cx yesterday...amazing...

anyway...I am just not seeing the answers I seek...can I change the map sets as many times as I want into the unit?....I have a 1 GB card and all 61 arear = 937.5 MB, but I want to leave some card for tracks....

so can I edit the map sets as often as I like depending on what rgion of the country I plan to travel?...

I loaded the entire set intp my PC....is the unlock code done now?...can I load it into another PC?

can I tranfer this data to 2 or 3 GPS units?....can I swap the card from one GPS unit to the other and will it work fine?..

how many questions do I get ?....

thanks....Jeff
freeflow is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 09:36 AM   #25
pckopp
Aged Adventurer
 
pckopp's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 1,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by FREEFLOW
anyway...I am just not seeing the answers I seek...can I change the map sets as many times as I want into the unit?....I have a 1 GB card and all 61 arear = 937.5 MB, but I want to leave some card for tracks....

so can I edit the map sets as often as I like depending on what rgion of the country I plan to travel?...
Yes, you can go back to MapSource on your PC and create a new map set with only the map segments you want. Then load those to your GPS. You can even load map sets from other map programs like Topo or US Rec. Lakes. You just have to load all the map data at once. You can't add or delete.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FREEFLOW
I loaded the entire set intp my PC....is the unlock code done now?...can I load it into another PC?
Yes, you can install your software on as many PCs as you like.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FREEFLOW
can I tranfer this data to 2 or 3 GPS units?....can I swap the card from one GPS unit to the other and will it work fine?..
No to both questions. The UNLOCK code is what connects your copy of City Nav to that one GPS. You can get a second UNLOCK code from Garmin for a second GPS, but I've not heard of getting one for a third. Two is the normal limit. If you moved the data card to another GPS, the map data would not be available.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FREEFLOW
how many questions do I get ?....
Apparently, you haven't run out yet.
__________________
Phil in Seattle, WA
pckopp is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 09:46 AM   #26
freeflow
get in or go in
 
freeflow's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: GB-Wisconsin
Oddometer: 15,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by pckopp
Yes, you can install your software on as many PCs as you like.
thanks alot for all your help here......really....shortens the learning curve...
freeflow is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 09:11 PM   #27
Mapit
Making Maps is what I do.
 
Mapit's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Great Lakes State
Oddometer: 6
Fortunitly for all of us, no matter what receiver or projection you use there is going to be a new Geoid produced to reproject the earths surface. It's due to be available in the next month or two. Not sure what it's going to be called but you will know it when you see it. It's about time! There is just too much junk and unrealiable projections to choose from. I see the new Geoid to improve accuracy by at leat 5-7 meters over NAD27, WGS83 or 86. The National Map will be reprojecting it's data using the new projection.
Mapit is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 09:17 PM   #28
Ricardo Kuhn
a.k.a. Mr Rico Suave
 
Ricardo Kuhn's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2001
Location: Salt lake city, Utah
Oddometer: 12,253
Phil I thanks you so much for making this posting.


Hopefully is going to keep things a lot cleaner and organize, so important questions can be ask and even better answers can be reach.

good for you and for the rest of us
__________________
Wanted: worn, ugly, cheap motorcycle cover for a big GS 1200
Ricardo Kuhn is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 07:15 PM   #29
GSGIRL
Neither here nor there
 
GSGIRL's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: State of Grace
Oddometer: 5,054
Help!

I am a GPS noob noobie.
Inherited a nice Garmin Quest that I woul dlike to use in both my car and on the bike.

Problem is, that when I went to setup the GPS on my new computer, the setup wizard asks me to insert the Mapsource City Select disc 1, then disc 2. Unfortuantely, when I inherited the unit, it did not come with those City Select discs and I cannot complete the setup process.

Can anyone help me or suggest what I should do?

Besides try to find the original discs (that is already in process).

Thanks all.
__________________
'03 BLACK 1150GS - Tall, Dark & Handsome

The traveler sees what he sees, the tourist sees what he has come to see.

SmugMug Coupon: guwbixLxjaoTI
Save $5! I did!
GSGIRL is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 08:57 PM   #30
PhilSpace OP
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSGIRL
I am a GPS noob noobie.
Inherited a nice Garmin Quest that I woul dlike to use in both my car and on the bike.

Problem is, that when I went to setup the GPS on my new computer, the setup wizard asks me to insert the Mapsource City Select disc 1, then disc 2. Unfortuantely, when I inherited the unit, it did not come with those City Select discs and I cannot complete the setup process.

Can anyone help me or suggest what I should do?

Besides try to find the original discs (that is already in process).

Thanks all.
Hi Grace

You can download the Mapsource program updates and drivers from Garmin, that will give you the program and drivers, but without the CD's you're basically screwed.

Which Quest? I might know a really nice person that has the right CD's/DVD. Either way, you will need to call Garmin and give them the SN or Registration number to track down the original unlock code for the unit and map version it shipped with.
PhilSpace is offline  
Closed Thread

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014