ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Road warriors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-17-2014, 06:53 PM   #1
abuhawa OP
n00b
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Oddometer: 5
Cry KTM 990SMT stuck at high RPM after ride

Hi,
I am still baffling what is wrong with my bike. It will stuck at high RPM (3k-4k) after I ride it hard. Another symptom is the idle RPM is also go above 2k most of the time. After cold start, if the RPM is below 2k, the bike will stall after I pull clutch to change to 2nd or 3rd gears. Please have a look at my youtube video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uaTqJOW8VdE

The bike has the SAS plugged, and the 2nd flies are removed. Initially I thought the problem was with wrong fuel mapping as the exhaust system is kind of hybrid (the header is Akrapovic copy by local firm AHM, while the cans are original Akrapovic), so I installed Power Commander 5 and put it on dyno to get custom map. Unfortunately even with the custom map, the problem still persisted.

The fuel filter was also swapped with a good one and still the problem persisted.

Could it be due to faulty Throttle Position Sensor (TPS)? My mechanic at several time had adjusted the TPS screw and the problem would disappear for sometimes but not long, the problem started again.

Any opinion?
abuhawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 07:00 PM   #2
Newbusa
Studly Adventurer
 
Newbusa's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Port Alberni
Oddometer: 539
Would take this to the Orange Crush forum if you want help.
__________________
2010 990R Adventurer.
2006 TuonoR
Newbusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 07:03 PM   #3
Colorado_Rider
Studly Adventurer
 
Colorado_Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Failville, CO
Oddometer: 535
Isn't that just lovely...

TPS would be my first guess. How many miles on her?
__________________
2012 KTM SMT
2006 Honda 919
Colorado_Rider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 08:29 PM   #4
abuhawa OP
n00b
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Oddometer: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colorado_Rider View Post
Isn't that just lovely...

TPS would be my first guess. How many miles on her?
Currently at 46000KM. Already did TB sync/balancing. still not good.
abuhawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 09:47 PM   #5
Smithers167
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: Bellingham, Washington, U.S.
Oddometer: 168
Have you spliced into any wires?
Smithers167 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 09:51 PM   #6
abuhawa OP
n00b
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Oddometer: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithers167 View Post
Have you spliced into any wires?
No as far I am aware. Which wire did you mean? My bike was fitted with Garmin Montana mount and iphone 5 chargers. But those were wired from Acc1/2 accessories source.
abuhawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:04 PM   #7
Smithers167
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: Bellingham, Washington, U.S.
Oddometer: 168
Just curious, I had a jeep that had a similar problem after the clock spring in the steering wheel got wet shorted the ground which it also shared with the throttle position sensor. Caused it to not read it right and Rev high.
Smithers167 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:06 PM   #8
Smithers167
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: Bellingham, Washington, U.S.
Oddometer: 168
I would suggest going through wires that are exposed and accessible for possible shorts. Not sure where exactly the ecu unit is. Also wondering if the dash for wet maybe.
Smithers167 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:19 PM   #9
Colorado_Rider
Studly Adventurer
 
Colorado_Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Failville, CO
Oddometer: 535
Why not just replace the TPS>> Aren't they only like $125?
__________________
2012 KTM SMT
2006 Honda 919
Colorado_Rider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:35 PM   #10
abuhawa OP
n00b
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Oddometer: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colorado_Rider View Post
Why not just replace the TPS>> Aren't they only like $125?
I am currently waiting for the original KTM TPS part. In Malaysia, the dealer refuse to replace only the TPS, they only sell a complete Throttle Body. Rip Off! So have to order through my sister in the USA from KTMTwins.com.

My only worry is that, the problem is not caused by faulty TPS...Another headache....
abuhawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:08 PM   #11
Colorado_Rider
Studly Adventurer
 
Colorado_Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Failville, CO
Oddometer: 535
Worry about that later...if it does fix the problem please let us know!

BTW, how has the bike treated you other than this?
__________________
2012 KTM SMT
2006 Honda 919

Colorado_Rider screwed with this post Yesterday at 06:37 PM
Colorado_Rider is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014