ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 10:06 AM   #4171
clapped_r6
The Spoad Warrior
 
clapped_r6's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgefield, WA
Oddometer: 2,677
CB, you figure out anything about the cooler / TT stator interference?
__________________
none of us is as dumb as all of us
clapped_r6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:25 AM   #4172
hizzo3
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2012
Oddometer: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by clapped_r6 View Post
thanks. i'm thinking i want to put on the TT 100w stator, ht racing cooler, and spal fan kit. i think i'd rather have it on a thermostat than having to remember to turn it off!
In the Jeeping world, we use a thermostat with an override switched with a 5 minute timer set up for when the ignition turns off. While that may seem overly complicated for a DB, it has its uses.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
hizzo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:40 AM   #4173
yondering
Beastly Adventurer
 
yondering's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: NW Wa. state
Oddometer: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazybrit View Post
you can use a thermostat with a pc fan ....
That's what I'm doing. $15 temp switch from NAPA threads right into the bung on the KTM radiator. The PC fans are cheap enough to not worry about breaking them. I have a list of part numbers for this stuff if anyone needs them.
yondering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:41 AM   #4174
clapped_r6
The Spoad Warrior
 
clapped_r6's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgefield, WA
Oddometer: 2,677
i also just noticed that safari makes a 4 gallon tank for the exc? although spendy, i think safari makes a really good product. i had resigned to keeping my 3 gal. clarke for most things, and then picking up a 6.6 acerbis for remote stuff. the problem is, i don't NEED 6 gallons for that (i know i don't need to fill it up all the way!)

anybody running the 4 gallon safari? 4 gallons sounds about perfect. any unusuable fuel in that setup?
__________________
none of us is as dumb as all of us
clapped_r6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 01:33 PM   #4175
clapped_r6
The Spoad Warrior
 
clapped_r6's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgefield, WA
Oddometer: 2,677
another q i couldn't find:
i *think* i want to run 14/48 for general use, but am going to pick up a second wheelset for straight up dirt (rimlocks, bigger knobs). i've heard about people running different gearing with the same chain (flipping the axle blocks?). what will fit? i'd rather not change the front out all the time, i'd think if a 52 would fit that'd be the way to go?
__________________
none of us is as dumb as all of us
clapped_r6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 01:44 PM   #4176
Hayduke
///SAFETY THIRD///
 
Hayduke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Salida, coloRADo
Oddometer: 43,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by clapped_r6 View Post
another q i couldn't find:
i *think* i want to run 14/48 for general use, but am going to pick up a second wheelset for straight up dirt (rimlocks, bigger knobs). i've heard about people running different gearing with the same chain (flipping the axle blocks?). what will fit? i'd rather not change the front out all the time, i'd think if a 52 would fit that'd be the way to go?
I run a 14/51, and sometimes switch to a 15 c/s sprocket, and flip the blocks. The 15 will just barely fit, but it works.
__________________
"What these people need is some mental psychology."-Bonnie Abbzug

Hayduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 02:08 PM   #4177
RAZR
yup ima hairstylist
 
RAZR's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Silver Lake (L.A.)
Oddometer: 8,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by clapped_r6 View Post
another q i couldn't find:
i *think* i want to run 14/48 for general use, but am going to pick up a second wheelset for straight up dirt (rimlocks, bigger knobs). i've heard about people running different gearing with the same chain (flipping the axle blocks?). what will fit? i'd rather not change the front out all the time, i'd think if a 52 would fit that'd be the way to go?

i am running a 14/52 for singletrack riding and i have a cush hub rear wheel with a 48 for long trips/pavement/open desert riding and i just flip the blocks.
__________________
"when there is no more room in hell, the dead will walk the earth"
YOUTUBE
SPOT
RAZR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 02:18 PM   #4178
clapped_r6
The Spoad Warrior
 
clapped_r6's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgefield, WA
Oddometer: 2,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAZR View Post
i am running a 14/52 for singletrack riding and i have a cush hub rear wheel with a 48 for long trips/pavement/open desert riding and i just flip the blocks.
sweet. that's exactly what i wanted to hear!
__________________
none of us is as dumb as all of us
clapped_r6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:07 PM   #4179
blake716
nine toes
 
blake716's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Oddometer: 11,565
Which under fender should I replace my stock one with?

I was looking at Sicass and Baja Designs. Is one better than the other?
__________________
_________________________
blake716 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:02 PM   #4180
crazybrit
Beastly Adventurer
 
crazybrit's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Oddometer: 8,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake716 View Post
Which under fender should I replace my stock one with?

I was looking at Sicass and Baja Designs. Is one better than the other?
I guess I'm not 100% what you mean by "under fender" or what your replacement goal is. Are you referring to the number plate carrier and switching away from the "long" US one?

I just used the short ktm one (the 05 parts fiche shows both long and short, $21 each). You can reuse the bulb, just need the euro lamp holder ($3.84), plastic lens ($7.01) and the mounting lens screws. A guy over at ktmtalk classifieds sells the short with an LED light mounted. I'm sure both the companies you mention sell one too but I have no experience.

Apologies, if this isn't answering the question.
crazybrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:44 PM   #4181
blake716
nine toes
 
blake716's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Oddometer: 11,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazybrit View Post
I guess I'm not 100% what you mean by "under fender" or what your replacement goal is. Are you referring to the number plate carrier and switching away from the "long" US one?

I just used the short ktm one (the 05 parts fiche shows both long and short, $21 each). You can reuse the bulb, just need the euro lamp holder ($3.84), plastic lens ($7.01) and the mounting lens screws. A guy over at ktmtalk classifieds sells the short with an LED light mounted. I'm sure both the companies you mention sell one too but I have no experience.

Apologies, if this isn't answering the question.
Yes, the part that holds the license plate.

I'll checkout KTMtalk. Thanks
__________________
_________________________
blake716 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:46 PM   #4182
clapped_r6
The Spoad Warrior
 
clapped_r6's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgefield, WA
Oddometer: 2,677
i just looked, pretty slick. the PO of my bike hacked the "long" version down, i'm going to see if i can modify it to my liking. if it sux, then the "short" will be on my short list
__________________
none of us is as dumb as all of us
clapped_r6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:56 AM   #4183
CodyY
ADVenture Capitalist
 
CodyY's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Oddometer: 9,493
I use Sicass assemblies
__________________
Not an ACTUAL motorcyclist
CodyY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 05:17 PM   #4184
clapped_r6
The Spoad Warrior
 
clapped_r6's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgefield, WA
Oddometer: 2,677
Baja Designs rewound "130 watt" stator DC system, OR

TrailTech new "100 watt" stator DC system.

which did you / will you choose, and why? max reliability of increased wattage is the goal.

go.
__________________
none of us is as dumb as all of us
clapped_r6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 05:35 PM   #4185
Foot dragger
singletracker
 
Foot dragger's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: chico,just below rag dump(nor-cal)
Oddometer: 12,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by clapped_r6 View Post
i also just noticed that safari makes a 4 gallon tank for the exc? although spendy, i think safari makes a really good product. i had resigned to keeping my 3 gal. clarke for most things, and then picking up a 6.6 acerbis for remote stuff. the problem is, i don't NEED 6 gallons for that (i know i don't need to fill it up all the way!)

anybody running the 4 gallon safari? 4 gallons sounds about perfect. any unusuable fuel in that setup?
Ive got the 4.1 Safari tank on my 2011 530,so far no problems,easy to mount up,not overly wide at any point,the gas cap threads on easily which is more then I can say for other plastic tanks Ive had. The stock KTM petcock went right on the Safari tank no problem,no leaks. I would say its the right size for what I do. I can stick the stock tank back on if Im strictly local trail riding. Safaris are pricey but its the only 4 gallon tank for these bikes I could find.I like it! The fuel seems to splash around and get used just fine.

6.6 is TOO big unless your absolutely going survival style desert riding.
__________________
Some bikes around at times
Foot dragger is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014