ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Pacific Northwet - Where it's green. And wet.
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2015, 08:31 AM   #1
tod701 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
tod701's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Stanwood
Oddometer: 996
HB1582 – Increased traffic infraction fees (WA)

HB1582 increases the fees associated with traffic violations.
It would add $53 or more to every traffic infraction.
The minimum penalty for car pool lane or other preferential lane use violations would go up to $250.
A new fee of $500 per alcohol or THC test administered.

http://app.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summa...1582&year=2015

It looks like the intent of the fees goes beyond deterrent and makes it look like some members Legislature view it as more like a revenue stream. The more the State profits from writing tickets the more extreme their methods will become.

An unintended consequence may be law enforcement officers will be tasked with more revenue driven activities at the cost of a reduction in public safety efforts.

This bill has been assigned to the House Transportation Committee.

If you want to let them know what you think, here’s their email addresses:

Judy.Clibborn@leg.wa.gov
Jake.Fey@leg.wa.gov
Luis.Moscoso@leg.wa.gov
Ed.Orcutt@leg.wa.gov
Mark.Hargrove@leg.wa.gov
Steve.Bergquist@leg.wa.gov
Dave.Hayes@leg.wa.gov
Linda.Kochmar@leg.wa.gov
Jim.Moeller@leg.wa.gov
Jeff.Morris@leg.wa.gov
Liz.Pike@leg.wa.gov
Marcus.Riccelli@leg.wa.gov
Jay.Rodne@leg.wa.gov
Mike.Sells@leg.wa.gov
Matt.Shea@leg.wa.gov
Dean.Takko@leg.wa.gov
Gael.Tarleton@leg.wa.gov
Hans.Zeiger@leg.wa.gov
Mia.Gregerson@leg.wa.gov
Mark.Harmsworth@leg.wa.gov
Joan.McBride@leg.wa.gov
Lillian.Ortiz-Self@leg.wa.gov
Lynda.Wilson@leg.wa.gov
Jesse.Young@leg.wa.gov
__________________
Tod
NMA, WOHVA, BRC, AMA, NRA
tod701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 10:43 AM   #2
Lawnchair
Adventurer
 
Lawnchair's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Pleasure Point Baby Yeah!
Oddometer: 26
I find it RIDICULOUS for the State to BILL ME $500 to create evidence for a crime purported (hearsay) against me. Isn't Hurst on the LCB rules commitee for the new I-502 regulations? Those .5ng tests that come up negative must be suckin' his budget dry!
Lawnchair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 12:37 PM   #3
Maddaddy
Greg
 
Maddaddy's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Olympia, WA
Oddometer: 1,714
Our driving system is a joke because there is no real ramifications for being an asshat. Fire it up.
__________________
PSSOR - Dualsport Training & Adventure Camps.
Off-Road Destructor Extraordinaire
Maddaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 06:39 PM   #4
Watercat
. . . gravity sucks
 
Watercat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Garlic Gulch, Duwamps Pacific NorWet
Oddometer: 1,562
Highway robbery

[QUOTE=tod701;25997476]HB1582 increases the fees associated with traffic violations.
It would add $53 or more to every traffic infraction . . . . . . . . . . .

That's definitely Fukkkked-up . . . . .
. . . . . .
. . . . . . .
It looks like the intent of the fees goes beyond deterrent and makes it look like some members Legislature view it as more like a revenue stream. The more the State profits from writing tickets the more extreme their methods will become.

An unintended consequence may be law enforcement officers will be tasked with more revenue driven activities at the cost of a reduction in public safety efforts.

. . . . . . . More ? No bueno.

I'll be emailing my rep. Thanks for the heads-up Tod.
__________________
Get your motor runin' . . . . . "Seek an erection for medical help lasting longer than four hours"

" . . . discovery channel has been shit for over a decade . . . this (ADVrider) is actually good." - OldAndBusted

Expect the unexpected! - Skunked & DfunkD

2006 Husky TE 610
2005 Big Strom
2010 THRUXTON
Watercat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 07:43 AM   #5
shadhardman
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2013
Location: Pacific NW, W-WA
Oddometer: 251
It's a little ambiguous as to if you have to be convicted under Section 3 to be charged the $500 or they can test and charge you even if you test under the limit.
__________________
~Shad
2012 12GS Rallye
shadhardman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 08:18 PM   #6
Bill-66
Hencho in Kansas
 
Bill-66's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: The Northwet..
Oddometer: 7,295
Of course it's intended to be a revenue stream..that is near solely what law enforcement is...show up after shit went bad..take a report, see who we collect from. That's the job...

That being said..compared to the two states I've lived in previously..the fines here are a joke..hell, I'd run down and prepay one to get a free pass card.

Las Vegas, speeding..minimum is going to cost you $500-$600..plus costs and a day sitting in court...

In Colorado I remember a guy getting an HOV violation and paying out...$700 if I recall correctly...I can tell you, you DO NOT see people cheating it there...

Meh...at least down here, I seldom see cops around..if I do they don't seem to lift an eye to my bike...
__________________
"Ignorance is a powerful tool when applied at just the right time..sometimes even surpassing knowledge.." EJ Potter
Bill-66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 10:00 PM   #7
Trinity_Session
Studly Adventurer
 
Trinity_Session's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: The Great State of WA
Oddometer: 558
As if the State Patrol wasn't militant enough.

Link is 404???

Trinity_Session screwed with this post 01-25-2015 at 12:17 AM Reason: Link is dead.
Trinity_Session is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 08:33 AM   #8
tod701 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
tod701's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Stanwood
Oddometer: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trinity_Session View Post
Link is 404???
This one?


http://app.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summa...1582&year=2015
__________________
Tod
NMA, WOHVA, BRC, AMA, NRA
tod701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 03:29 PM   #9
Tirespin
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Tirespin's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Where the Muk is Heckilteo?
Oddometer: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadhardman View Post
It's a little ambiguous as to if you have to be convicted under Section 3 to be charged the $500 or they can test and charge you even if you test under the limit.
This isn't ambiguous by my reading. Each test administered => every time the breathalyzer is used, collect another $550.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnippetOfTheBill
There is a fee of five hundred fifty dollars for each alcohol concentration or THC concentration test administered pursuant to this section. The fee must be deposited into the motor vehicle fund.
__________________
Skip 2010 KTM 990 Adventure R Fuel and Maint Log
Tirespin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015