ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2007, 05:17 AM   #1
Starstriker OP
www.transasia.se
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Oddometer: 505
Zumo or 276c (278)

Im in the process of upgrading from my 60Cx to a Zumo or 276c. There is also a new model called 278 with more memory.

I consider myself an advanced GPS user. The Zumo with its touchscreen, BT and MP3-player appeals me, but still I have read some negatives about autorouting etc. Are these issues solved in later software-upgrades?

The 278 is very nice, too, but hasnt got the touchscreen etc. It also have an older generation of chip which seems to be not as sensitive as the one in the Zumo.

Which would you go for?
__________________
GREATDAYS.SE
Starstriker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 05:27 AM   #2
D'Artagnan
Sharp and Pointy
 
D'Artagnan's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Oddometer: 622
Yea, I've pretty much got it narrowed down to the zumo or 276 myself. From what I have read, the 276 seems to be the more capable unit. It does more, but is more compicated to use. The Zumo offers ease of use at the cost of some features. The Auto-recalc issue being the big issue there.
__________________
K1TAZ

Good Judgement comes from Experience,
Experience usually comes from Bad Judgement.
D'Artagnan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 05:39 AM   #3
konfucius
Gnarly Adventurer
 
konfucius's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Boras, Sweden
Oddometer: 220
I think the new 278 is only available in EU.

I would of course go with 278 (which I also has ordered), since I love the screen on 276c, the new 278 also supports POI Loader which 276c does not, so for me it's easy. The less sensitive chip in 276c (and in 278) has never been a problem for me.

On the other hand I have a starcom1 intercom with bluetooth (for phone) and ipod connected (and a Tomtom for the car), so I don't have the need for the other functions on Zumo 550, which makes it easier for me to choose...
konfucius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 06:02 AM   #4
richc
Beastly Adventurer
 
richc's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Baja, Motorcycle Heaven
Oddometer: 7,607
Here's a good thread discussing the 276c in detail - with some comparisons to the Zumo. Mike - the author - really does use a GPS.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=211097
richc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 06:08 AM   #5
Starstriker OP
www.transasia.se
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Oddometer: 505
Well, I already have the intercom-setup with phone and MP#, so I guess the 278 would be my choice then.

Seems like the Zumo is a bit too "simplified".

Quote:
Originally Posted by konfucius
I think the new 278 is only available in EU.

I would of course go with 278 (which I also has ordered), since I love the screen on 276c, the new 278 also supports POI Loader which 276c does not, so for me it's easy. The less sensitive chip in 276c (and in 278) has never been a problem for me.

On the other hand I have a starcom1 intercom with bluetooth (for phone) and ipod connected (and a Tomtom for the car), so I don't have the need for the other functions on Zumo 550, which makes it easier for me to choose...
__________________
GREATDAYS.SE
Starstriker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 06:11 AM   #6
rallybug
Local Yokel
 
rallybug's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Location: North Salt Lake, UT
Oddometer: 8,099
How much are the 278s going for in your area?

Over here, they're £600 (€885 or 8140 SKr), tax included.
__________________
Ben

My Ride Reports
rallybug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 06:24 AM   #7
konfucius
Gnarly Adventurer
 
konfucius's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Boras, Sweden
Oddometer: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by rallybug
How much are the 278s going for in your area?

Over here, they're £600 (€885 or 8140 SKr), tax included.
You get them from €950 in DE or from 9500 SEK in Sweden (tax incl.), but a swedish dealer told me that garmin is raising the price 5-30% on electronics, have no idea if thats only in sweden.
konfucius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 06:36 AM   #8
rallybug
Local Yokel
 
rallybug's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Location: North Salt Lake, UT
Oddometer: 8,099
Ouch - just seen them for £559 in Malthouse Marine - that's 7,580 SKr at the moment.
__________________
Ben

My Ride Reports
rallybug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 06:55 AM   #9
Starstriker OP
www.transasia.se
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Oddometer: 505
Another Q....

I know the 278 comes with City NT preinstalled in its 2GB memory.

What if I want to upload other mapsets as well?
Can I install an extra memorycard? If, is it Garmins own memorycards or can I use normal SDs?
__________________
GREATDAYS.SE
Starstriker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 07:01 AM   #10
richc
Beastly Adventurer
 
richc's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Baja, Motorcycle Heaven
Oddometer: 7,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starstriker
Another Q....

I know the 278 comes with City NT preinstalled in its 2GB memory.

What if I want to upload other mapsets as well?
Can I install an extra memorycard? If, is it Garmins own memorycards or can I use normal SDs?
It accepts G2 (Garmin) cards - I think those are different from the SD's. You can load other mapsets.

Forgot to add - I went thru this Zumo vs. 276C process recently. I settled on the 276C as being more useful.
richc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 07:35 AM   #11
rallybug
Local Yokel
 
rallybug's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Location: North Salt Lake, UT
Oddometer: 8,099
Yep, as richc says:

Accepts optional g2 data cards (g2 does not show current flow and Mariners View on the 278) for detailed marine cartography and City Navigator® street level mapping

(from the Garmin UK page for the 278)
__________________
Ben

My Ride Reports
rallybug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 12:26 PM   #12
konfucius
Gnarly Adventurer
 
konfucius's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Boras, Sweden
Oddometer: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by rallybug
Ouch - just seen them for £559 in Malthouse Marine - that's 7,580 SKr at the moment.
wow, that is a good price, seems they ship to sweden as well...

I noticed that some of the swedish dealer has raised the price.
konfucius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 11:03 AM   #13
RideThereNow
Fortunate One
 
RideThereNow's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Kansas
Oddometer: 87
Depends on what your use is

The Zumo is dumbed down for the general populace, the 276C, 376C, 478, etc. are more like working tools. Think again about that static screen and where you'll be riding, your fingers touching that screen will eventually scar it up and the touch screen can get nutty in dusty, static conditions, like a dry dirt road.

If you're just going to the coffee bar the Zumo will get you there.
RideThereNow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 01:57 AM   #14
konfucius
Gnarly Adventurer
 
konfucius's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Boras, Sweden
Oddometer: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by rallybug
Ouch - just seen them for £559 in Malthouse Marine - that's 7,580 SKr at the moment.
Bought the 278 from the above, great service, best price and really quick delivery, got it after only three working days (UK to Sweden).
konfucius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 06:52 AM   #15
richc
Beastly Adventurer
 
richc's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Baja, Motorcycle Heaven
Oddometer: 7,607
I've seen some posts suggesting the 276C is hard(er) to use. I just got one and am a GPSr moron, I've had 3 or 4 of them but never really used them because they were too complicated and the UI wasn't what I'd term intuitive. I've managed to figure out how to use what I want in the 276 - I've made a route in Mapsource and transfered it to the GPSr, I've modified track interval a couple of times and used them to follow my route back, I've gotten someplace and entered it is a waypoint, I've found the distance between a couple of points and I've loaded CN and TOPO maps on it. I don't know what else it does, but it's pretty easy to use and I like the big screen.
richc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014