ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2012, 07:24 AM   #12661
bobbed06
Cavalera Conspirator
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: That one place......
Oddometer: 1,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by One Less Harley View Post
Why????????? Why would you want to, more weight, more complicated and more expensive!!! ...and if you have to rebuild it in the future, where you gonna get a rebuild kit. I say KISS (keep it simple stupid) ( no flame intended). Sure every now and then a cable goes bad. Spend money on another set of tires which would be a better use of money.
Yep, I agree. If you wanna go really tall on handlebars its another expensive line to buy, another failure point on the trail, and something else to complicate life. Cables are Mo Betta in my book
__________________
\/ Batch of Low Mileage (2000 mi)DRZ Parts Cheap\/

http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1009935
bobbed06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 07:59 AM   #12662
Joey Jo Jo Jr. Shabadu
1 Less Car
 
Joey Jo Jo Jr. Shabadu's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Road Atlanta, GA
Oddometer: 237
What is/are the difference(s) between the 'S' and 'SM' carburetors?
__________________
2009 Suzuki DR-Z400S
2007 Aprilia SR50R Factory
2005 Yamaha FZ-6
Joey Jo Jo Jr. Shabadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 08:03 AM   #12663
Zachsv
SVhaver
 
Zachsv's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Wilmington, NC
Oddometer: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by STANIMAL View Post
With prices like that , no wonder they are getting parted out more often .
Got my 03 S with 2200 or so miles on it for 1400$ a few months ago
__________________
'06 Suzuki SV650 | '78 BMW R100/7
Http://gearedlowphoto.com/TAT
Zachsv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:06 AM   #12664
STANIMAL
SUPPORT THE SECOND
 
STANIMAL's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Northbrook IL
Oddometer: 2,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachsv View Post
Got my 03 S with 2200 or so miles on it for 1400$ a few months ago
I guess I need to stop spending money on mine then . Nice deal .
__________________
If it don't have tits, spark plugs or gun powder, it don't interest me. ---Moose Dog
If you don't organize your tools, you're a terrible person.---Aghartha
You twatwaffles who enjoy fucking duffelbags full of deer antlers, simply stay out of the thread. ---Hardware02
I'm ignorant, but happy---steyr_scout308
STANIMAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:52 AM   #12665
LittleRedToyota
Yinzer
 
LittleRedToyota's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Oddometer: 2,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Recycled Teenager View Post
So whats every one using for a spark plug on an S model with stock engine
the suzuki-recommended NGK. i forget the number offhand, though.
LittleRedToyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:10 AM   #12666
threadkiller
Semi-feral Pappy
 
threadkiller's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: White House, Tennessee
Oddometer: 1,778
When you lube the clutch cable from the lever end, does the lube make it past the inline adjustment apparatus, or should I take the cable off at the clutch end and lube from there as well?
threadkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:35 AM   #12667
HellSickle
Scone Rider
 
HellSickle's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Collins
Oddometer: 9,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by threadkiller View Post
When you lube the clutch cable from the lever end, does the lube make it past the inline adjustment apparatus, or should I take the cable off at the clutch end and lube from there as well?
Get a pressure luber. I lube from the top until it's dripping out the bottom.

__________________
We don't stop riding because we get old, we get old because we stop riding.
"Wisdom is knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it, and Virtue is doing it"

HellSickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:07 AM   #12668
wingam00
Formely AKA Wingam00
 
wingam00's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: SouthWest GA and Western NC
Oddometer: 527
Cable lube

A couple more options;


http://ezglidercablelube.com/

Or the cheap way:
__________________
Mark

“There is only one reason for pavement and that is to get to dirt.” - “King” Richard Burleson

-- If you argue with a Fool you are a FOOL! --
wingam00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:19 AM   #12669
bobbed06
Cavalera Conspirator
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: That one place......
Oddometer: 1,215
I have a cable luber, but have also had good luck with just spraying PB Blaster in the cable. That stuff just soaks right in the cable and effectively lubes the entire cable. Keep those cables LOOBED......
__________________
\/ Batch of Low Mileage (2000 mi)DRZ Parts Cheap\/

http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1009935
bobbed06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:45 AM   #12670
buls4evr
No Marks....
 
buls4evr's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Michissippi & Nuevo Mexico
Oddometer: 2,318
No petroleum products on a cable for me! I use graphite lock lube in a dry liquid matrix and lean the bike over to the right and let it run down the cable. Every other kind of cable lube picks up dirt and grinds the liner out of your cable. It is also very cheap and available at every hardware store or auto store.
buls4evr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 01:14 PM   #12671
kentnothstine
Studly Adventurer
 
kentnothstine's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Traverse City, MI, USA
Oddometer: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by buls4evr View Post
No petroleum products on a cable for me! I use graphite lock lube in a dry liquid matrix and lean the bike over to the right and let it run down the cable. Every other kind of cable lube picks up dirt and grinds the liner out of your cable. It is also very cheap and available at every hardware store or auto store.

Speedometer cable lube works too. Basicaly the same as ^^
__________________
2008 XT250(the new one for her to use)
2003 KLX400SR (the new one)
1997 Ural 650cc (SOLD)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thanantos View Post
Once your crotch gets wet it's all over.
kentnothstine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 03:38 PM   #12672
azshtr
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Oddometer: 2,130
My DRZ400E had a POS PO Help me sort out my lighting please. He replaced the stock light with one of these with dual 35watt bulbs.

http://www.motorcycle-superstore.com...Headlight.aspx

He soldered both lamp possitive wires to a single wire in the bikes harness which looks to be 16ga. (The light turns on when it should... on with the key and stays on even if the kill switch is shut off.)Then both grounds go through another single ground which again looks like 16ga. As both lights are on all the time is the wiring enough at 16ga? I don't have any on handlebar dimmer controls. I am considering placing a relay and on/off switch so I can turn it off and save the power consumption. I don't really care if I have dimmer ability but just want enough juice flowing through the proper wire size so as not to create a bike-b-que
__________________
Azshtr
Fighting to keep our lands open.
azshtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 04:21 PM   #12673
HellSickle
Scone Rider
 
HellSickle's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Collins
Oddometer: 9,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by azshtr View Post
My DRZ400E had a POS PO Help me sort out my lighting please. He replaced the stock light with one of these with dual 35watt bulbs.

http://www.motorcycle-superstore.com...Headlight.aspx

He soldered both lamp possitive wires to a single wire in the bikes harness which looks to be 16ga. (The light turns on when it should... on with the key and stays on even if the kill switch is shut off.)Then both grounds go through another single ground which again looks like 16ga. As both lights are on all the time is the wiring enough at 16ga? I don't have any on handlebar dimmer controls. I am considering placing a relay and on/off switch so I can turn it off and save the power consumption. I don't really care if I have dimmer ability but just want enough juice flowing through the proper wire size so as not to create a bike-b-que
Assuming both are on, the headlight is drawing 70W. Current would be 70/13 = 5.38A.

Wire current tables can be googled.

16 Ga really shouldn't be used for > 3.7 A. I don't think it will overheat, but you are losing power that will prevent the light from being as bright as it could be. You should convert to a 12ga wire.
__________________
We don't stop riding because we get old, we get old because we stop riding.
"Wisdom is knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it, and Virtue is doing it"

HellSickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 04:22 PM   #12674
HellSickle
Scone Rider
 
HellSickle's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Collins
Oddometer: 9,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingam00 View Post
A couple more options;


Or the cheap way:
O M F G

You guys really are cheaper than KLR riders.
__________________
We don't stop riding because we get old, we get old because we stop riding.
"Wisdom is knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it, and Virtue is doing it"

HellSickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 04:44 PM   #12675
GlennR
Playin' in the Fire
 
GlennR's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Boone,NC
Oddometer: 1,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by buls4evr View Post
No petroleum products on a cable for me! I use graphite lock lube in a dry liquid matrix and lean the bike over to the right and let it run down the cable. Every other kind of cable lube picks up dirt and grinds the liner out of your cable. It is also very cheap and available at every hardware store or auto store.


I'm not sure I know what you're referring to. The dry powdered graphite I have would be almost impossible to get inside a cable. I have a liquid spray graphite, that sprays like paint, but it's REALLY messy.

Do you know the brand name for the stuff that you use?
GlennR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014