ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-17-2010, 09:18 PM   #5836
B.Curvin
Feral Chia tamer
 
B.Curvin's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Left of the dial. Canton, NC
Oddometer: 2,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnj
Clarke, Acerbis, or IMS......and why????
Many thanks in advance!!
I only have experience with the Acerbis, but I like it a lot.

No problems with fit or durability. I love the looks. If I only need a little

fuel it's carried very low. With two petcocks I have 3 reserves.

I turn the right one off and the left one on after refueling.

Left goes to reserve when I first run out. If I go through that I turn

the right one on. If I go through that I go to reserve on the right.

I've never gotten to reserve on the right.

It looks great (IMHO)



I can get way forward with no issues.

__________________
Mutt'n the custard.

Porsche Audi VW
B.Curvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 09:50 PM   #5837
cnj
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Oddometer: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by B.Curvin
I only have experience with the Acerbis, but I like it a lot.

No problems with fit or durability. I love the looks. If I only need a little

fuel it's carried very low. With two petcocks I have 3 reserves.

I turn the right one off and the left one on after refueling.

Left goes to reserve when I first run out. If I go through that I turn

the right one on. If I go through that I go to reserve on the right.

I've never gotten to reserve on the right.

It looks great (IMHO)



I can get way forward with no issues.

That tank does look pretty sleek.
cnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 07:20 AM   #5838
rockt
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Oddometer: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by B.Curvin



I can get way forward with no issues.

B.Curvin, what tires are on your DR?

Bike looks great.
rockt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 07:34 AM   #5839
PK
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: St. Paul
Oddometer: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Country Doc
How'd you get out of that one??

dc
This one? Or why did I get into that one in the first place?






I was riding with a buddy on a 650 X-Cahllenge who wisely let me try to cross. We had a nice laugh and thankfully he dismounted and joined me in the muck. We had to lift and turn the bike 180 degrees, start it with the kick start submerged, and he pushedd a bit, I roosted a lot, and made it out.






The swamp was with me the rest of the day.






Excellent riding in Nemadji State Forest - about 100 miles of all sorts of trails, roads, ATV tracks and even single track. We rode a whopping 70 miles in about 7 hours!


PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 10:38 AM   #5840
GsVs
Goin' Somewhere
 
GsVs's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Hoosier (IN) USA
Oddometer: 1,388
Seat Cover ??

Also - where did you get that seat cover ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockt
B.Curvin, what tires are on your DR?

Bike looks great.
__________________
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -- -
Honda
GsVs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 02:32 PM   #5841
Kegler
Adventurer
 
Kegler's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Owensboro KY
Oddometer: 46
95 DR350SE No Electrical Power

Last weekend my horn was going off unexpectedly during a trail ride. This afternoon, I removed my Clarke tank and was looking for what was causing the problem. Nothing obvious, but I did unplug the horn and rerouted the wires and connected it back up. When I turned the key on, the horn started going off, so I just turned off the key. I then switched the wires, figuring I got them backwards, and switched the key back on but now I have no electrical at all.

Looks like I have blown some sort of main fuse, but I can't seem to find any. Anybody got any advice?
Kegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 02:36 PM   #5842
MiteyF
Beastly Adventurer
 
MiteyF's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan... temporarily
Oddometer: 1,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by wemjr300
Last weekend my horn was going off unexpectedly during a trail ride. This afternoon, I removed my Clarke tank and was looking for what was causing the problem. Nothing obvious, but I did unplug the horn and rerouted the wires and connected it back up. When I turned the key on, the horn started going off, so I just turned off the key. I then switched the wires, figuring I got them backwards, and switched the key back on but now I have no electrical at all.

Looks like I have blown some sort of main fuse, but I can't seem to find any. Anybody got any advice?
Can't find the blown fuse or the fuses at all?
MiteyF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 04:28 PM   #5843
Bob Onit
Rocket Surgeon
 
Bob Onit's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Population 174
Oddometer: 1,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by wemjr300
Looks like I have blown some sort of main fuse, but I can't seem to find any. Anybody got any advice?
I don't recall if they changed the fuse holder location for the electric start models but the fuse holder on the earlier DR street legal models is just to the left of the battery. (it may be located directly above the battery, I'm going by memory)

You will see what looks like a large rectangular plug mounted to a rubber holder with two wires coming out of the bottom (possibly red and brown). This is the fuse holder. The top of the fuse holder flips open and inside you should see 2 blade style fuses.

One is the main fuse which I'm guessing blew when you were hooking up the horn. The other fuse is a spare.


If there is no spare fuse I suggest you buy one and keep it in the holder in case of emergency.

Good luck.

Bob Onit screwed with this post 09-18-2010 at 06:42 PM
Bob Onit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 06:59 PM   #5844
kingbee
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Western U.P.
Oddometer: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minnesota
It took a little convincing, but I think I am going to move from the DR650 thread to the DR350 thread.

I'm looking for something a little more trail-worthy that fits my nooB skills better.
Where are you located? In MN I assume but where? Reason I ask is there's a '99 DR350SE for sale here in the western U.P. The seller is asking $1500. I'd buy it myself but I already have one

I bought my daughter's CRF150 off the same guy earlier this summer; he's a good guy.

I told the guy to put an ad here but he doesn't have a computer

PM me if you want his phone #

Cheers,
Dave
__________________
1999 DR350SE- Mine
1992 XT225- Queenbee's
2007 CRF150F- Princessbee's
kingbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 07:47 PM   #5845
EastBoundAndDown
Studly Adventurer
 
EastBoundAndDown's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Oddometer: 580
Hey fellas, the throttle on my DR is finicky, sometimes it will be really easy to push/pull, sometimes it will be really hard and will stick. A new one is $37, is there any chance of lubing it at a specific point to see if that helps? Thanks.
__________________
"And if my thought-dreams could been seen
They'd probably put my head in a guillotine
But it's alright, Ma, it's life, and life only."

'Couple old Kawasaki's and an Orange 200
EastBoundAndDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 08:11 PM   #5846
Bob Onit
Rocket Surgeon
 
Bob Onit's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Population 174
Oddometer: 1,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by EastBoundAndDown
Hey fellas, the throttle on my DR is finicky, sometimes it will be really easy to push/pull, sometimes it will be really hard and will stick. A new one is $37, is there any chance of lubing it at a specific point to see if that helps? Thanks.
You can lube throttle cables (I use "Lock Ease") Graphite oil solution.

Do you have the CV or pumper carb and how many cables?
Bob Onit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 08:37 PM   #5847
B.Curvin
Feral Chia tamer
 
B.Curvin's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Left of the dial. Canton, NC
Oddometer: 2,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockt
B.Curvin, what tires are on your DR?
Bike looks great.
I honestly can't remember what the tires are in the garage pic. They came on the
bike but I put Metzeler Unicross on before the first ride.
Believe it or not they're not only killer in the dirt but you can haul the mail on pavement.

The Unicross I mounted.




Quote:
Originally Posted by GsVs
Also - where did you get that seat cover ??
They've changed the colors, but it is this cover with a tall seat foam.

http://www.gutsracing.com/detail.aspx?ID=678
__________________
Mutt'n the custard.

Porsche Audi VW
B.Curvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 09:07 PM   #5848
yondering
Beastly Adventurer
 
yondering's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: NW Wa. state
Oddometer: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by EastBoundAndDown
Hey fellas, the throttle on my DR is finicky, sometimes it will be really easy to push/pull, sometimes it will be really hard and will stick. A new one is $37, is there any chance of lubing it at a specific point to see if that helps? Thanks.
Yeah, buy a cable luber. They are pretty cheap. It's a small aluminum and rubber attachment that allows you to force lube down the cable, using an aerosol lube. I use Cable Life lube, it's good stuff.

If you have aftermarket cables, with loose crimped (unsealed) ends, it helps a lot to seal up the end you'll lube with RTV. Makes a mess and doesn't lube the whole cable as well if not sealed.
yondering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 10:44 PM   #5849
EastBoundAndDown
Studly Adventurer
 
EastBoundAndDown's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Oddometer: 580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Onit
You can lube throttle cables (I use "Lock Ease") Graphite oil solution.

Do you have the CV or pumper carb and how many cables?

CV, 2 cables. Best spot to lube them?
__________________
"And if my thought-dreams could been seen
They'd probably put my head in a guillotine
But it's alright, Ma, it's life, and life only."

'Couple old Kawasaki's and an Orange 200
EastBoundAndDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 12:22 AM   #5850
slartidbartfast
Love those blue pipes
 
slartidbartfast's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Southern Louisiana or Southern England or ...
Oddometer: 4,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by EastBoundAndDown
CV, 2 cables. Best spot to lube them?
Most control cables are lined with plastic - Get the wrong kind of lube in there and the plastic swells, causing binding. Worth a try I suppose, but I'd start with a silicone spray.

Has the bike been dropped on the right side recently? A bent handlebar end inside the throttle tube may cause sticking. Occasional/random sticking can also be caused by grit or dirt under the throttle tube.
__________________
MSF Ridercoach IBA: 35353 95 R1100GSA, 93 GTS1000, 85 R80RT, 93 DR350/435, 99 RX125, 78 DT100
January 2010 New Zealand South Island ride
Summer 2009 UK to Alps ride
Summer 2008 UK End-to-End ride
slartidbartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014