ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2013, 02:28 PM   #14866
outbackrider
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Oddometer: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vankaye View Post
That's Great Alfa!!

I'm pretty happy with my FMF Powercore. Did some carb tuning and greasing this past weekend and my DR is running top notch! I can't believe the little things that I have done to this bike and it just gets better and better! All she ever needed was some love...

Hey Vankaye, what did you do to tune your bike to the FMF.
I have one on my '98 dirt model, I get to a point when opening the throttle and it starts to break up and gets boggy. I have good power on the low end, but as it comes to about 3/4 throttle...it breaks up...

Thanks.
outbackrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 05:26 PM   #14867
a1fa
Riding Nomad™
 
a1fa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Arkansas
Oddometer: 13,464
Did you open your airbox too?
__________________
Learn to ride. Ride to learn.
a1fa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 07:07 PM   #14868
trippda
Adventurer
 
trippda's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Stillaguamish Convergence, WA
Oddometer: 51
Thumb

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingWman View Post
Nice collection of bikes there Trippda. Those signals look very bright, how is the visibility from the back?
Thanks dawg. Ya they are real bright, and even though you it's difficult to see the mount from behind, once they're on there is no obstruction. Very pleased. and they're only $45, which is pretty good considering the OEM ones I found were like 65 for the pair.
__________________
RAW DAWG
Get busy living, or get busy dying
'83 GS650GL - '96 - DR350 -'04 Sherpa
trippda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:22 PM   #14869
shank
Shank950
 
shank's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Lockyer Valley Qld Australia
Oddometer: 781
work shop manual

Hi
I'm giving the old 91, 350 a freshen up.
Whats the chance that someone could PM me a link to a workshop manual please?
Thanks
__________________
Vinny: What the fuck do you mean, replicas?
Sol: They look the shit, don't they? And nobody is gonna argue. And I've got some extra loud blanks, just in case.
Vinny: In... Oh, in case we have to deafen them to death?
shank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 02:29 AM   #14870
slimy
Wanabe Adventurer
 
slimy's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Flatland Florida
Oddometer: 111
Workshop Manual

Greg Bender has the factory DR350 Workshop Manual on his website at: http://www.thisoldtractor.com/gtbend...ervice_manuals
__________________
The adventure begins when the plan fails....
slimy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 02:34 AM   #14871
shank
Shank950
 
shank's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Lockyer Valley Qld Australia
Oddometer: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimy View Post
Greg Bender has the factory DR350 Workshop Manual on his website at: http://www.thisoldtractor.com/gtbend...ervice_manuals
Thanks for that. And thanks for the PM's
__________________
Vinny: What the fuck do you mean, replicas?
Sol: They look the shit, don't they? And nobody is gonna argue. And I've got some extra loud blanks, just in case.
Vinny: In... Oh, in case we have to deafen them to death?
shank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:13 AM   #14872
NWRambler
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Northwestest US
Oddometer: 41
Wiring question

Just powder coated my frame and put the wiring harness back on. However, I have one extra wire hanging with no where to go. It is a single spade connector (female IIRC), black with white tracer, and it hangs from the harness where the blinker relay wires also come out to go on the relay. I labeled everything as I disassembled it, this has no label, so I think I didn't unplug it from anything. Maybe it really has no where to go. Anybody mind looking behind your headlight and seeing what's up? Thanks.
NWRambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:30 AM   #14873
RuggedExposure
wandering the desert
 
RuggedExposure's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Hermanas, NM (on the US/Mex border past BFE)
Oddometer: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by NWRambler View Post
Just powder coated my frame and put the wiring harness back on. However, I have one extra wire hanging with no where to go. It is a single spade connector (female IIRC), black with white tracer, and it hangs from the harness where the blinker relay wires also come out to go on the relay. I labeled everything as I disassembled it, this has no label, so I think I didn't unplug it from anything. Maybe it really has no where to go. Anybody mind looking behind your headlight and seeing what's up? Thanks.
dirt or street model?
__________________
The fear and dread of you will fall on all the beasts of the earth

Border Road 100 Border Road Rally Raid
'13 Husky Terra 650, '08 Kawasaki Meanstreak 1600, '95 DR350S
RuggedExposure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:39 AM   #14874
2bold2getold
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: DFW TX
Oddometer: 1,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by NWRambler View Post
Just powder coated my frame and put the wiring harness back on. However, I have one extra wire hanging with no where to go. It is a single spade connector (female IIRC), black with white tracer, and it hangs from the harness where the blinker relay wires also come out to go on the relay. I labeled everything as I disassembled it, this has no label, so I think I didn't unplug it from anything. Maybe it really has no where to go. Anybody mind looking behind your headlight and seeing what's up? Thanks.
My "98SE's got that one also. Not hooked to anything. Test light shows it goes to ground.
2bold2getold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:39 AM   #14875
NWRambler
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Northwestest US
Oddometer: 41
Wiring question

thanks, I meant to put that in there. It is a 98 SE.
NWRambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:14 AM   #14876
NWRambler
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Northwestest US
Oddometer: 41
Wiring question

Thanks 2B2G. That settles the last nagging question of this rebuild for me. Stripped it bare a month ago, should be rolling by the weekend. With a little luck.
__________________
98 DR350SE
83 Maxim 750
NWRambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 10:23 AM   #14877
MrPulldown
Beastly Adventurer
 
MrPulldown's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Truckee
Oddometer: 2,467
Quote:
Originally Posted by NWRambler View Post
Just powder coated my frame and put the wiring harness back on. However, I have one extra wire hanging with no where to go. It is a single spade connector (female IIRC), black with white tracer, and it hangs from the harness where the blinker relay wires also come out to go on the relay. I labeled everything as I disassembled it, this has no label, so I think I didn't unplug it from anything. Maybe it really has no where to go. Anybody mind looking behind your headlight and seeing what's up? Thanks.
On my bike there was a wire like that. Brown IIRC. It was keyed hot (12v). I used it to run my heated grips.
__________________
94 DR 350 SE
No Load LED Flash Relay and Diode Kits for Sale
MrPulldown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 11:42 AM   #14878
MadChap
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MadChap's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Out of Prison
Oddometer: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPulldown View Post
On my bike there was a wire like that. Brown IIRC. It was keyed hot (12v). I used it to run my heated grips.
I originally used the brown wire to run my heated grips.....until it started to melt. You might want to reconsider and run a larger gauge wire for your grips. Just sayin.......
MadChap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 11:58 AM   #14879
MrPulldown
Beastly Adventurer
 
MrPulldown's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Truckee
Oddometer: 2,467
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadChap View Post
I originally used the brown wire to run my heated grips.....until it started to melt. You might want to reconsider and run a larger gauge wire for your grips. Just sayin.......
I do have an in-line fuse. Have not seen any melting yet.
Before riding season hits, I will be redoing my dash. The brown wire will then be a trigger wire for my relay. That is if it is not all fried.
__________________
94 DR 350 SE
No Load LED Flash Relay and Diode Kits for Sale
MrPulldown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 03:33 PM   #14880
thump!
Adventurer
 
thump!'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Northeast Tennessee
Oddometer: 875
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPulldown View Post
I do have an in-line fuse. Have not seen any melting yet.
Before riding season hits, I will be redoing my dash. The brown wire will then be a trigger wire for my relay. That is if it is not all fried.
Grips are usually around 35-40 watts... About the same as your brake light. That's only 3 amps. Doesn't take much of a wire for that.
thump! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014