ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-29-2007, 01:59 PM   #61
Plasterman
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Oddometer: 63
R1150rt

Any suggestion on best way to hook the 2610 up to my 1150RT. What mount, cord or cables needed? Would you buy the Garmin motorcycle mounting kit? Have Autocom Active plus and would like to hear voice prompts. Never had GPS before, is the 2610 user friendly?

Thanks

Tom
Plasterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 02:21 PM   #62
nomiles
Sledge-o-matic
 
nomiles's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Bay Area ~ NorCal
Oddometer: 3,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by g容g
I have a 2610 too (have had for years) and it's GREAT!

only downside is I paid $450 or so for mine....

oh well

When the 2610 came out in 2004 the msrp was $1025.00


I love mine! (paid $275 from Edge)

some good info for new 2610 buyers: http://home.socal.rr.com/diverhank/
__________________
Everybody is someone else's weirdo.
nomiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 02:30 PM   #63
g容g
Canadian living in exile
 
g容g's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: 41.655984,-71.302657
Oddometer: 6,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasterman
Any suggestion on best way to hook the 2610 up to my 1150RT. What mount, cord or cables needed? Would you buy the Garmin motorcycle mounting kit? Have Autocom Active plus and would like to hear voice prompts. Never had GPS before, is the 2610 user friendly?

Thanks

Tom
hmm, check out Cycoactive for some good mounts & suggestions
www.cycoactive.com
__________________
Greg
Europe 2013 Europe 2012 Europe 2011 England 2010 Gaspe PQ 2008 Nova Scotia 2007

Try to see the world beyond your front door.
g容g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 02:51 PM   #64
jodyz121
Mostly Harmless . . .
 
jodyz121's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Louisiana
Oddometer: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasterman
Any suggestion on best way to hook the 2610 up to my 1150RT. What mount, cord or cables needed? Would you buy the Garmin motorcycle mounting kit? Have Autocom Active plus and would like to hear voice prompts. Never had GPS before, is the 2610 user friendly?

Thanks

Tom


RAM mount works very well. Don't try to mount on the dash or an accessory shelf. Mounting on the handlebars works best.

Look here:

http://www.touratech-usa.com/shop/gallery.lasso?A=BMW
__________________
JodyZ
'02 R1150RT
'05 F650GS Dakar
jodyz121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 06:41 PM   #65
dagwood
Banned
 
dagwood's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver, Not! BC...
Oddometer: 35,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by nomiles
When the 2610 came out in 2004 the msrp was $1025.00


I love mine! (paid $275 from Edge)

some good info for new 2610 buyers: http://home.socal.rr.com/diverhank/

pretty funny the review was written in 04'. but still sounds relevant.

I hope the user/PC interface is easier than this guy makes out.
dagwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 09:30 PM   #66
sonic578
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: SE Florida
Oddometer: 726
I'm looking for pdf copy of the 2610 manual. Garmin apparently no longer posts the manual on their site. Can someone either email it to me, or better yet, post it to this thread? Thanks.
__________________
Dave
'11 GS
sonic578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 02:45 AM   #67
Lunatik
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: BELLEVILLE, ONTARIO, CANADA
Oddometer: 346
I ACTUALLY made a LOGICAL CHOICE !! YIPPY

hi fellow AVD's.
I was all set to go buy my new 550 ZUMO...
After having had to replace a buddies Street Pilot lll Colormap that drowned on an East Coast trip last June (that's what I get for borrowing) I noticed the 2610 Price on EBAY as well from EdgeGPS (that's where I got the Street Pilot lll from).

Then I come here, and everyone is ALL OVER IT ...
Having rolled it around in my head for over two weeks now (what do I REALLY NEED, vs. What the ZUMO OFFERS) plus the COST differences (about $500.00) ...
I just ordered TWO 2610's and TWO motorcycle mounts. One for me, one for my girlfriend's DR 650.
Now I'm really smiling ... thanks.

Oh, anyone know about the LOCKING GARMIN mount on the EDGE site? I can still make a switch I'm sure ... Its $50.00 vs. the $35.00 for the normal one. Is it WORTH it? or should I just make due, and then order the Touratech locking mount later?

Ideas ? Pictures maybe please?
Lunatik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 06:17 AM   #68
g容g
Canadian living in exile
 
g容g's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: 41.655984,-71.302657
Oddometer: 6,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeagerda
I'm looking for pdf copy of the 2610 manual. Garmin apparently no longer posts the manual on their site. Can someone either email it to me, or better yet, post it to this thread? Thanks.
just use a 2620 manual
LINK
__________________
Greg
Europe 2013 Europe 2012 Europe 2011 England 2010 Gaspe PQ 2008 Nova Scotia 2007

Try to see the world beyond your front door.
g容g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 06:54 AM   #69
Ogre_fl
Beastly Adventurer
 
Ogre_fl's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Cook Bayou, FL
Oddometer: 1,994
The 2610 & 2650 share the same manal

http://www8.garmin.com/manuals/Stree...nersManual.pdf
Ogre_fl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 09:12 AM   #70
nomiles
Sledge-o-matic
 
nomiles's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Bay Area ~ NorCal
Oddometer: 3,975
Edit: Sorry about the bad manual info, I was sure it was there.


Here's an old link to a good Garmin 2610 mount page that might interest someone?

http://gpsinformation.net/sp26xx/cyc...yclemount.html



I bought the Garmin 2610 mount from Edge and mounted it on an aluminum plate with some neoprene wetsuit rubber between the mount and the plate, then didn't tighten the 4 screws fully(Nylock nuts) left some cushion in the neoprene, works great.

Ta He!! with paying Touratech $100+ for a mount.
__________________
Everybody is someone else's weirdo.

nomiles screwed with this post 07-30-2007 at 09:35 AM
nomiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 09:25 AM   #71
sonic578
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: SE Florida
Oddometer: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by nomiles
The 2610 manual IS on the Garmin site (all of them are there, even discontinued models)

Go to: support>manuals>mobile electronics>discontinued>streetpilot 2610 ~> http://www8.garmin.com/support/userM...t=010-00273-03

same as the 2620 though.
nomiles,
The 2610 and 2620 are not the same, and the manuals are slightly different (I believe the 2620 has the microdrive in it - not sure what else is different). The link you provided only shows the "Declaration of Conformity" document, not the manual.

Oger correctly pointed out that the 2610 and 2650 are the same manual... that link does work. Thanks.
__________________
Dave
'11 GS
sonic578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 09:38 AM   #72
nomiles
Sledge-o-matic
 
nomiles's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Bay Area ~ NorCal
Oddometer: 3,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeagerda
nomiles,
The 2610 and 2620 are not the same, and the manuals are slightly different (I believe the 2620 has the microdrive in it - not sure what else is different). The link you provided only shows the "Declaration of Conformity" document, not the manual.

Oger correctly pointed out that the 2610 and 2650 are the same manual... that link does work. Thanks.
Damn!*^%$#@! I edited out my bad info. Thanks for pointing that out.
__________________
Everybody is someone else's weirdo.
nomiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 09:47 AM   #73
Ogre_fl
Beastly Adventurer
 
Ogre_fl's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Cook Bayou, FL
Oddometer: 1,994
FWIW I struggled over the mount issue.
I have had Garmin mounts (not the 2xxx series) both break and let go.

I bought a RAM mount and the motorcycle power/headphone cable separately. As typical for RAMS I have owned its a bit cumbersome to get the unit in & out, but I know its not going to fall out of it. Its also cumbersome enough that I feel some one wont snatch it that quickly (gas stop situations) unless they really know how to get the unit out of one.

I'm sure the Touratech has something about it that makes it worth THAT much more than the $8 RAM one, but the RAM is good enough for me.
Ogre_fl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 09:59 AM   #74
g容g
Canadian living in exile
 
g容g's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: 41.655984,-71.302657
Oddometer: 6,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeagerda
nomiles,
The 2610 and 2620 are not the same, and the manuals are slightly different (I believe the 2620 has the microdrive in it - not sure what else is different). The link you provided only shows the "Declaration of Conformity" document, not the manual.

Oger correctly pointed out that the 2610 and 2650 are the same manual... that link does work. Thanks.
micro drive difference.. yes
other than that... no.

anyway, you can always post your questions here & have them answered

__________________
Greg
Europe 2013 Europe 2012 Europe 2011 England 2010 Gaspe PQ 2008 Nova Scotia 2007

Try to see the world beyond your front door.
g容g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 10:32 AM   #75
Ritalin Boy
Petroconsumptivitius
 
Ritalin Boy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Oddometer: 5,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekm
I'm thinking of upgrading to the 2610 from my Streetpilot III but wanted to clarify something. Will I be able to load maps to both the old and new units through the software? Currently my SPIII is stuck with only the loaded maps because I lost the unlock code ( DOH!!) and then my hardrive failed. I had to reinstall and garmin was unsympathetic, they said to purchase the mapsource software to the tune of $139 or so. (they said because I bought the unit used they couldn't reissue a code.)

Any chance my old unit could become useable again through this deal??

PS- I will probably go for it anyway, but it would be nice to be able to leave one in the car and one on the bike.
Nope.

Make sure you start a Garmin account though. This way your unlock codes are stored on their server too so you can always get them back no matter what your hardware does.
__________________
Rob Nye
Sled Dog Touring Team
IBA 250
Vermont, it's not flat


Dear Cancer, I hate you. You're a heartbreaker and a thief. And I want you to give him back, you jerk. Sincerely, Nikki.

A happy childhood is the worst possible preparation for life. Kinky Friedman, candidate for Governor of Texas
Ritalin Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014