ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2007, 01:50 PM   #1
Malindi OP
Zen Adventurer
 
Malindi's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 5,399
BMW Dealers in the US

I have a file that lists all the BMW dealers in the US (lat/lon). I am not sure where I got it, but here's a link. I also have it for the UK, France, Belgium, Holland.

http://berettaconsulting.com/other/B...%20Dealers.gdb
__________________
Back in YVR after riding around the world for 2 years. www.nohorizons.net
Malindi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 01:57 PM   #2
PhilSpace
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,264
McCurdy has the "authoritative" list which has been done in the GPX POI Loader format. I have taken his and started to add phone numbers for the GPS's that have cell phone/BT capability.

Here's the Link - http://gmccurdy1.home.att.net/Dealers/Dealers.html

PhilSpace screwed with this post 07-08-2007 at 02:03 PM
PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 01:59 PM   #3
Malindi OP
Zen Adventurer
 
Malindi's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 5,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSpace
McCurdy has the "authoritative" list which has been done in the GPX POI Loader format. I have taken his and started to add phone numbers for the GPS's that have cell phone/BT capability.
Cool. Where can I find that list?
__________________
Back in YVR after riding around the world for 2 years. www.nohorizons.net
Malindi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 03:03 PM   #4
marco polo
Studly Adventurer
 
marco polo's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Alexandria VA and Ottawa, Canada
Oddometer: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malindi
Cool. Where can I find that list?
Just click on the link he gave you in his post above. When you go to the site, you'll be able to download a Zip file. When you open the Zip file, you'll have a series of files which you can save/open. Best to read the "Read Me" file first. He has files for BMW bike dealers in Canada, and the US -- and he has them in a variety of formats. Aside from uploading them from Mapsource to my GPS, I also print out the list in Excel, and if you select a smaller font, you can have everything, incl phone numbers on two pages. Easy to carry on the bike.
marco polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 03:08 PM   #5
PhilSpace
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,264
Not Malindi's fault, it wasn't there when he posted it - it took me that long to find the link
PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 03:11 PM   #6
Malindi OP
Zen Adventurer
 
Malindi's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 5,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSpace
Not Malindi's fault, it wasn't there when he posted it - it took me that long to find the link
__________________
Back in YVR after riding around the world for 2 years. www.nohorizons.net
Malindi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 03:40 PM   #7
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,937
Is there a FAQ on how to import these garmin style POIs into my GPS base info, so I don't have to add them to every route? I'd prefer not to wipe out the rest of the POI db while I'm at it.

2720 and 60C...
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 03:45 PM   #8
Malindi OP
Zen Adventurer
 
Malindi's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 5,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto
Is there a FAQ on how to import these garmin style POIs into my GPS base info, so I don't have to add them to every route? I'd prefer not to wipe out the rest of the POI db while I'm at it.

2720 and 60C...

Easy ..
Open 2 instances of MapSource, copy the POI waypoints into the file opened on the second instance.
__________________
Back in YVR after riding around the world for 2 years. www.nohorizons.net
Malindi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 03:50 PM   #9
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malindi
Easy ..
Open 2 instances of MapSource, copy the POI waypoints into the file opened on the second instance.
What file opened in the second instance?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 03:54 PM   #10
Malindi OP
Zen Adventurer
 
Malindi's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 5,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto
What file opened in the second instance?
I guess any file you want to add these POI's to. For instance, I have a file called "home" which has all the maps and waypoints for my "local" area. If I wanted to add the US BMW dealers to it, then I woud open that file, start a second instance of MapSource, open the BMW dealer file, copy all the waypoints from the BMW dealer file, tab to the MapSource instance with my "home" file and paste the BMW POI's in that file.
__________________
Back in YVR after riding around the world for 2 years. www.nohorizons.net
Malindi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 05:20 PM   #11
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,937
Sorry to be so dense, but is there a way to make the bmw dealer waypoints automatically show up in every route I make or use without having to cut and paste them every time?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 05:25 PM   #12
Malindi OP
Zen Adventurer
 
Malindi's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 5,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto
Sorry to be so dense, but is there a way to make the bmw dealer waypoints automatically show up in every route I make or use without having to cut and paste them every time?
Well, if all the BMW dealers are in the waypoints set, then any route you make can include a BMW stop, if you want. It would mean an aweful lot of detours...

I think what you want is to keep all the BMW dealers in your main file, then add routes as you create them and upload the routes (and maps needed) to the GPS. If you then need a BMW dealer when you are under way, hit "Find" > "Nearest waypoints" and then scroll down till you see the first BMW dealer listed. Hit Enter and Go To. The GPS will then route you to that dealer from where you are at that moment.
__________________
Back in YVR after riding around the world for 2 years. www.nohorizons.net
Malindi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 05:35 PM   #13
PhilSpace
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto
Is there a FAQ on how to import these garmin style POIs into my GPS base info, so I don't have to add them to every route? I'd prefer not to wipe out the rest of the POI db while I'm at it.

2720 and 60C...
Yes, and no, Mapsource is not the way if you have a GPS that supports custom POI's. I am swamped right now and don't have the time to dig it out, but do a search for my thread on the POI editor.

It only works on supported GPS's, but will embed them into the GPS and make them searchable, just like restaurants and gas stations.

If you have a phone/bluetooth enabled GPS, you can also include the phone number and from the search on the GPS call the dealer and scream for help.

More when I can get out of power point hell
PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 05:37 PM   #14
PhilSpace
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malindi
Well, if all the BMW dealers are in the waypoints set, then any route you make can include a BMW stop, if you want. It would mean an aweful lot of detours...

I think what you want is to keep all the BMW dealers in your main file, then add routes as you create them and upload the routes (and maps needed) to the GPS. If you then need a BMW dealer when you are under way, hit "Find" > "Nearest waypoints" and then scroll down till you see the first BMW dealer listed. Hit Enter and Go To. The GPS will then route you to that dealer from where you are at that moment.
One other quick note, there is a limit to the number of waypoints you can have. You end up having to rubber band them from their own .gpb file and copy/paste them into your route .gpb.

Custom POI's are loaded forever, they are always there and I don't think there is a limit on quantity, only available storage on your GPS.

And one other cool point - there is a MAC version of the POI Loader
PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 05:39 PM   #15
Malindi OP
Zen Adventurer
 
Malindi's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 5,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSpace
One other quick note, there is a limit to the number of waypoints you can have. You end up having to rubber band them from their own .gpb file and copy/paste them into your route .gpb.

Custom POI's are loaded forever, they are always there and I don't think there is a limit on quantity, only available storage on your GPS.

And one other cool point - there is a MAC version of the POI Loader
Aha .... well, until maybe the end of this week I am still in Garmin V land .... upgrading the 276c. Maybe that world is all different. I never knew you could add custom POI's to a basemap.
__________________
Back in YVR after riding around the world for 2 years. www.nohorizons.net
Malindi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014