ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 157 votes, 4.99 average. Display Modes
Old 03-24-2008, 08:19 PM   #61
rwamf
Follow me
 
rwamf's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Odessa TX USA
Oddometer: 1,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zecatfish
Any idea how external power will work on a bike without a battery? You know the voltage drops a little at idle, not consistent like with a battery.
I kinda like my XT550 with out a battery, one less thing to go bad.
I run one of these on my KLX300R, no battery, and it maintains Output voltage 15V DC, max. 160mA output with Input voltage 4.5 - 40V DC or max. 25V AC
Most handheld GPSs require less than 2.4 watts. But for example, the Garmin GPS276C input requirements (~10W) are substantially higher than this unit's output.

CLICK IMAGE
__________________
"Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail. ~ RWE
Robert

rwamf homepage

rwamf screwed with this post 05-28-2008 at 11:01 AM
rwamf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 08:29 PM   #62
Zecatfish
XTique Rider
 
Zecatfish's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Arkansas USA
Oddometer: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwamf
I run one of these on my KLX300R, no battery, and it maintains 15vdc output with 5 to 30vac input
Interesting, but my bike already runs on 12v dc, its just without a battery at idle the head light dims a little. SO I was curious if anyone tried a cigarette plug on a bike with voltage drops I'm not worried about it getting to much voltage.

As to AC voltage I know how tat goes, I had to wire up voltage regulator on my ATK it uses AC and plowed 3 headlight bulbs before I got it right. The manual was wrong on the schematic.
__________________
Google Earth GPS Howto (still a work in progress) use USGS TOPO Maps to layout trails.
http://home.windstream.net/catfish/GPS


The Early Bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
https://sites.google.com/site/ozarkadventuretours/

Zecatfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 11:09 PM   #63
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zecatfish
Interesting, but my bike already runs on 12v dc, its just without a battery at idle the head light dims a little. SO I was curious if anyone tried a cigarette plug on a bike with voltage drops I'm not worried about it getting to much voltage.

As to AC voltage I know how tat goes, I had to wire up voltage regulator on my ATK it uses AC and plowed 3 headlight bulbs before I got it right. The manual was wrong on the schematic.
If you already have rectifier and regulator, I would hang a battery across the line to protect from high voltage spikes and from low voltage at idle if I were going to run a several hundered doller electronic think on the circuit. If not a battery, at least a very large capacitor.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 12:34 PM   #64
tokenboy
Gnirly Adventurer
 
tokenboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Oddometer: 381
I went down to the local GPS store at lunch today and played with an XOG for about 20-30 minutes. What a nice little unit. The interface was great, the touchscreen response was extremely good as well. Bang-for-the-buck wise I think I have found my next GPS unit for on the bike.

I demo'd it side by side with a Magellan Crossover and came away thinking the Crossover to be a piece of garbage. The XOG was extremely nice.
__________________
867-5309
Ask for Jenny.
tokenboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 05:40 AM   #65
Cyclepath
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: SW Washington, USA
Oddometer: 359
xog questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwamf
I have never used it as a handheld so I have no Idea how long the battery lasts.
I only use it on my Bike, so it is always plugged in. But it is nice to take it in when you stop for lunch and use it to plan more stuff or import a different set of tracks while you are waiting for your lunch etc, since it is always charged and ready to go.
hi robert, i just picked up an XOG from amazon for 228.00 bucks, brandy new. the manual seems a bit lax. got a couple of questions for you if you don't mind.

#1, is there any need to cut any high def. maps from my map create 6.3 to load to the SD card.

#2, how many trails or routes can be loaded to the xog before i need to use the SD card. i just have music on the sd card right now.

#3, is there any way to have the music control buttons appear on the map page like my i-way 500 ?

so far i like the unit and will be using it on my dr-650. it's a much smaller unit and wont look so much like a TV.... the screen on my i-way is much brighter though. the xog has version 1.5 loaded so i guess i need to download the latest 1.7 version before i start asking to many questions.

thanks in advance robert,

cyclepath
Cyclepath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 08:18 AM   #66
rwamf
Follow me
 
rwamf's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Odessa TX USA
Oddometer: 1,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclepath
#1, is there any need to cut any high def. maps from my map create 6.3 to load to the SD card.

#2, how many trails or routes can be loaded to the xog before i need to use the SD card. i just have music on the sd card right now.

#3, is there any way to have the music control buttons appear on the map page like my i-way 500 ?

thanks in advance robert,

cyclepath
1. Only if you want the TOPO info, The Topo maps are older but in many areas they do show more of the back roads. I like them on the SD card as I can turn off the old topo roads and highways and leave the topo lines on with the NavTeq maps, and the Topo on the XOG is not a mess like on the Garmin units

2. I have loaded 94 tracks in mine and all was fine, another time I loaded a file with only 57 tracks and it said it was full, I do not know why, I hardly had any waypoints saved etc. But you have to load them to an SD card and from the SD card. SD cards are cheap, and the track files are very small.

3. Yes you can make a skin , I have not took the time to learn how to make a skin, check out "gps passion" for more info on skins
__________________
"Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail. ~ RWE
Robert

rwamf homepage
rwamf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 12:00 PM   #67
Cyclepath
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: SW Washington, USA
Oddometer: 359
hi robert, thanks for getting back to me so quickly.
this is what i needed to know.

do i have to use the lowrance card reader that came with my i-finder exp.c or can i just transfer them to the sd card with any reader or just use the xog with the sd card installed??

cyclepath




Quote:
Originally Posted by rwamf
1. Only if you want the TOPO info, The Topo maps are older but in many areas they do show more of the back roads. I like them on the SD card as I can turn off the old topo roads and highways and leave the topo lines on with the NavTeq maps, and the Topo on the XOG is not a mess like on the Garmin units

2. I have loaded 94 tracks in mine and all was fine, another time I loaded a file with only 57 tracks and it said it was full, I do not know why, I hardly had any waypoints saved etc. But you have to load them to an SD card and from the SD card. SD cards are cheap, and the track files are very small.

3. Yes you can make a skin , I have not took the time to learn how to make a skin, check out "gps passion" for more info on skins
Cyclepath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 12:32 PM   #68
rwamf
Follow me
 
rwamf's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Odessa TX USA
Oddometer: 1,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclepath

do i have to use the lowrance card reader that came with my i-finder exp.c or can i just transfer them to the sd card with any reader or just use the xog with the sd card installed??

cyclepath
For "usr" files any SD reader will work( or the XOG itself) , but for Mapcreate Topo maps you need their reader/writer., But any maps you have already put on an SD card for your ExpedtionC will work in the XOG,
Remember if you put "usr" files on the SD card using the XOG as the SD reader, you must power it down and back up before the XOG will see the files that you transfered, or eject the card and back in.
__________________
"Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail. ~ RWE
Robert

rwamf homepage
rwamf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 04:48 PM   #69
Cyclepath
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: SW Washington, USA
Oddometer: 359
thanks again robert. and i do have most of what i need already on a card for the exp. so thanks for mentioning this. i prolly would have had a lite bulb go on eventually, duhhhh.

cyclepath


Quote:
Originally Posted by rwamf
For "usr" files any SD reader will work( or the XOG itself) , but for Mapcreate Topo maps you need their reader/writer., But any maps you have already put on an SD card for your ExpedtionC will work in the XOG,
Remember if you put "usr" files on the SD card using the XOG as the SD reader, you must power it down and back up before the XOG will see the files that you transfered, or eject the card and back in.
Cyclepath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 09:41 PM   #70
WIDGIN
When In Doubt, Gas It Now
 
WIDGIN's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: South of the North Georgia Mountains
Oddometer: 157
After a lot of research, I ordered an XOG from Amazon today. Should be here some time next week. To get the best detail on fireroads in the area should I order Mapcreate 7.0? From what I can tell, it provides better trail info than the downloadable topo's?
WIDGIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 08:13 AM   #71
rwamf
Follow me
 
rwamf's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Odessa TX USA
Oddometer: 1,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by WIDGIN
After a lot of research, I ordered an XOG from Amazon today. Should be here some time next week. To get the best detail on fireroads in the area should I order Mapcreate 7.0? From what I can tell, it provides better trail info than the downloadable topo's?
It is 1999- 2002 road data, and it shows allot of minor road data not on the Nav-teq maps, plus it is allot cheaper than the downloadable maps.
make sure you buy it with their card reader/writer as that is the only way to use the maps with a GPS.
One cool feature is you can turn off the topo roads and highways but leave the topo lines on with the NavTeq maps, very cool. if you are going to run it on a bike , make a small sun shield, it helps allot to see the screen in the daytime,
have fun with it.
__________________
"Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail. ~ RWE
Robert

rwamf homepage
rwamf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 08:14 PM   #72
Ishai
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Baltimore MD
Oddometer: 80
Sun Shield for XOG

Robert- could you please post a picture of a sun shield that works for you?also- RAM is finally shipping their motorcycle mount for the XOG- I just mounted it on the bike but have'nt had a chance to test ride . It feels sturdier than the car mount as it should be -feels like it should be fine on the Uly.
Ishai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 10:02 PM   #73
rwamf
Follow me
 
rwamf's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Odessa TX USA
Oddometer: 1,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ishai
Robert- could you please post a picture of a sun shield that works for you?also- RAM is finally shipping their motorcycle mount for the XOG- I just mounted it on the bike but have'nt had a chance to test ride . It feels sturdier than the car mount as it should be -feels like it should be fine on the Uly.
I made one out of some semi soft plastic, It works, I use a 90 deg power adapter and use a large rubber band cut from an old inner tube to hold it all together
But I am going to buy one of these, I bought one for my 600c and it great.
__________________
"Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail. ~ RWE
Robert

rwamf homepage
rwamf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 10:10 PM   #74
Ishai
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Baltimore MD
Oddometer: 80
Thanks a bunch Robert- That looks good. Which sun shade model you think works best with the XOG?

Ishai
Ishai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 08:20 AM   #75
rwamf
Follow me
 
rwamf's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Odessa TX USA
Oddometer: 1,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ishai
Thanks a bunch Robert- That looks good. Which sun shade model you think works best with the XOG?

Ishai
The one listed, the 316, as it is for the smaller units listed, should work fine.
__________________
"Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail. ~ RWE
Robert

rwamf homepage
rwamf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014