ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 28 votes, 4.96 average. Display Modes
Old 01-10-2011, 01:17 PM   #2356
James Adams
Not a Texan
 
James Adams's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Texas
Oddometer: 7,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by klinquist View Post
The Spot II and the Connect should really be the same unit. They should have simply added a BT radio (perhaps with an on/off switch itself) to the Spot II. I don't want to depend on my phone to turn on tracking and/or send an OK message, so I went with the Spot II.
Now that is a great idea. A SPOT 2 that can connect to your phone to allow you to send custom messages if you want. Better yet, allow two-way messaging.
James Adams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 08:57 AM   #2357
JohnnyAirtime
Gnarly Adventurer
 
JohnnyAirtime's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Oddometer: 208
I think you have to WANT and have the NEED to send custom messages to want a CONNECT, or the DeLorme GPS w/SPOT kit.

... if your like me (carry spare batteries, and make sure to CYA in most situations of problems encountered), you'll benefit from the CONNECT and being able to customize your messages. If your okay with a SPOT1 or 2, then you don't have the NEED (or have never been in a "situation" to realize what you truly need), and therefore wouldn't be so apt to buy it. Simple as that I'd think.

(take the guy who got hurt in the LA-Vegas ride. If he had a DeLorme PN-60W w/SPOT he could have texted his wife, and told her his dilemna... and to call authorities. Rather than simply rely on a button push and "hoped for the best". Or at minimum, could have continued to send updated texts to his where-a-bouts and what he's doing to try and get help and HIS condition. With her knowing his situation and being in tune, she also could have relayed his needs a bit better and been better prepared herself, or better prepared the authorities) ... it helps to have someone prepared, who knows you and your messages. If my fiance' gets a 911, she KNOWS to drop what she's doing as someone is possibly bleeding out, or worse off.

I used to carry a Satellite phone everywhere I went. Left it in the off position to save battery life (even though I had two batteries with me at all times). I also carried a GPS, and a cell phone. Both with spare batteries (just in case). The only thing without a spare battery was my 2M HAM radio... but that was only to comm between me and my riding buddies, not me and the support truck or the rest of the world.

.... so, if you REALLY have the need you'll do what it takes (in this case, it's carry a spare battery for your smart phone - easy peezy). If not, then buy the SPOT2. Done.
__________________
~ Johnny J

'07 CRF450X & '04 XR400 (both plated), '01 CR500 (Duner), TRX450 (GF's ride)...etc.etc.

JohnnyAirtime screwed with this post 01-11-2011 at 09:04 AM
JohnnyAirtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 09:25 AM   #2358
spidennis
SandStorm Adventures
 
spidennis's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: South Padre Island, Texas .... far from anything
Oddometer: 1,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyAirtime View Post
(in this case, it's carry a spare battery for your smart phone - easy peezy).
How do you do use a spare battery with an iPhone?
__________________
2003 Yamaha WR250F (texas street legal, my primary ride, oh yeah baby!)
List of mods and rides:
http://www.sandslave.com/2003wr250f/
List of my Spot Tracker Adventures:
http://www.spotadventures.com/user/p...?user_id=53368
spidennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 11:00 AM   #2359
James Adams
Not a Texan
 
James Adams's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Texas
Oddometer: 7,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by spidennis View Post
How do you do use a spare battery with an iPhone?
With one of these: http://www.laptopmag.com/review/acce...-boosters.aspx

I know that there are some out there that will even let you use regular AA batteries.
James Adams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 11:49 AM   #2360
JeffinTD
Beastly Adventurer
 
JeffinTD's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: NE Oregon, The Dalles
Oddometer: 1,308
I'm kind of holding out hope for something that can enter custom messages in the field in one device...

Say a Spot 3 or whatever.

I don't absolutely need that feature, but I could see it saving a lot of hassle if whoever is coming to help me knew I just needed gas, or if they need to bring a truck and ramp or trailer to haul the bike out, or if I broke my arm/ankle or something else minor and am camped and OK for the night...

I thought about a sat phone, but if I were to be unable to activate it, the spot track feature would at least give a good idea of where to look for me.

For now I'll stick with the Spot 2.
__________________
Have: 09 R1200GSA, FLHR Road King, 680 Rincon, 500 Foreman.

Had: CX500, DR650, S2 Thunderbolt.

Need: To win the lottery so I can actually get time to ride.
JeffinTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 04:14 PM   #2361
rhicks
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Golden, CO
Oddometer: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by spidennis View Post
How do you do use a spare battery with an iPhone?

Mophie juicepack is your friend as reserve power. I also keep a usb charger in my bag.
__________________
2010 BMW F800GS Lava Orange (Sold)
2002 Kawasaki ZX6-E (Sold)
rhicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 05:45 PM   #2362
JohnnyAirtime
Gnarly Adventurer
 
JohnnyAirtime's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Oddometer: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by spidennis View Post
How do you do use a spare battery with an iPhone?
Just chalk it up to yet another reason I don't use an iPhone.

DROID all the way babaaaay!
__________________
~ Johnny J

'07 CRF450X & '04 XR400 (both plated), '01 CR500 (Duner), TRX450 (GF's ride)...etc.etc.
JohnnyAirtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 09:04 AM   #2363
GotMojo?
Beastly Adventurer
 
GotMojo?'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Oddometer: 4,105
Anybody know what Spot mounting bracket this is?



Pic pulled from this thread... http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=550178
GotMojo? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 09:44 AM   #2364
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by GotMojo? View Post
Anybody know what Spot mounting bracket this is?

That is the RAM mount.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 09:57 AM   #2365
GotMojo?
Beastly Adventurer
 
GotMojo?'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Oddometer: 4,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Thanks. And then I'd need this to mount it to the handlebars?
http://www.gpscity.com/ram-mount-spo...49z-spo2u.html
GotMojo? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 10:01 AM   #2366
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by GotMojo? View Post
Thanks. And then I'd need this to mount it to the handlebars?
http://www.gpscity.com/ram-mount-spo...49z-spo2u.html
Depends. I use this: RAM Mount Plastic Handlebar Rail Mount, Part # RAP-274U ($4.72)



Here's the post where I describe the whole setup on my F800GS bars.
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...postcount=2266
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 10:20 AM   #2367
James Adams
Not a Texan
 
James Adams's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Texas
Oddometer: 7,699
Yes, though the link you have below is for the SPOT 2 and the picture you posted was of the SPOT 1 (original). Just make sure you get the right cradle because they're different!

DAMHIK

Quote:
Originally Posted by GotMojo? View Post
Thanks. And then I'd need this to mount it to the handlebars?
http://www.gpscity.com/ram-mount-spo...49z-spo2u.html
James Adams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 12:13 PM   #2368
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by drcoopster View Post
Yes, though the link you have below is for the SPOT 2 and the picture you posted was of the SPOT 1 (original). Just make sure you get the right cradle because they're different!

DAMHIK
Good point. I have clarified the post with links to the right cradles.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 08:16 PM   #2369
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 3,171
My SPOT 2 crapped out today.
Freaking GPS light goes straight to red when I hit the tracking or OK button. I'm pretting dam sure I had a clear view of the sky. I was in the middle of the desert. It apparently was tracking for about 4 tracks then quit. Now it don't see and GPS satellites. I guess I'll be calling Customer Service tomorrow.
__________________
Tom
2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger",2003 525 EXC,
To Think is to Create!
My2Wheels
690 WIKI
dad2bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 08:40 PM   #2370
James Adams
Not a Texan
 
James Adams's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Texas
Oddometer: 7,699
Sorry to hear this. I had a warranty replacement and I received the new SPOT 2 within a few days--I hope the process is as smooth for you as it was for me.

If you're having issues with SPOT customer service, PM me with your support case number and I'll see if my rep can help escalate it.

-Ian

Quote:
Originally Posted by dad2bike View Post
My SPOT 2 crapped out today.
Freaking GPS light goes straight to red when I hit the tracking or OK button. I'm pretting dam sure I had a clear view of the sky. I was in the middle of the desert. It apparently was tracking for about 4 tracks then quit. Now it don't see and GPS satellites. I guess I'll be calling Customer Service tomorrow.
James Adams is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014