ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2008, 04:21 PM   #1
pckopp OP
Aged Adventurer
 
pckopp's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 1,199
Use a 276C or 376C as a USB card reader

In updating the maps for an old StreetPilot GPS, I realized you can use a 276 or 376 as a USB card reader. The old StreetPilot only has a serial port and will transfer map data at a very pokey 38K baud. Almost 3 hours for 16M. 128M could take several days!

I put the memory card from the StreetPilot into the 276, connected it via USB to my PC and transferred the maps. Much faster! Since this map data (MetroGuide) isn't locked, I just put the memory card back in the old StreetPilot and the transfer is done. Minutes instead of hours.

This can also be useful if your PC only has USB ports and not the older style serial ports used on older Garmins.

Happy updating!
__________________
Phil in Seattle, WA
pckopp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 05:01 AM   #2
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,748
Great tip, Phil.

Dave


Quote:
Originally Posted by pckopp
In updating the maps for an old StreetPilot GPS, I realized you can use a 276 or 376 as a USB card reader. The old StreetPilot only has a serial port and will transfer map data at a very pokey 38K baud. Almost 3 hours for 16M. 128M could take several days!

I put the memory card from the StreetPilot into the 276, connected it via USB to my PC and transferred the maps. Much faster! Since this map data (MetroGuide) isn't locked, I just put the memory card back in the old StreetPilot and the transfer is done. Minutes instead of hours.

This can also be useful if your PC only has USB ports and not the older style serial ports used on older Garmins.

Happy updating!
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:10 AM   #3
DR-Bee
WTF?
 
DR-Bee's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Oddometer: 130
I can't get my maps to be over written with new maps. I just loads up the memory so they won't fit. So do I need a Garmin card reader to erase and start over? Garmin 276c/512 card. I want to load SW US. Everything connects fine. Can't the 276 serve as a card reader/loader/eraser?
__________________
COHVCO Member
DR-Bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 02:49 AM   #4
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by DR-Bee View Post
I can't get my maps to be over written with new maps. I just loads up the memory so they won't fit. So do I need a Garmin card reader to erase and start over? Garmin 276c/512 card. I want to load SW US. Everything connects fine. Can't the 276 serve as a card reader/loader/eraser?
What exactly do you own? And what are you trying to do?

For a 276 - so long as you have unlocked the maps on your PC, each time you download them to the GPS they overwrite the map data on the card.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 07:53 AM   #5
DR-Bee
WTF?
 
DR-Bee's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Oddometer: 130
Issue resolved. Seems that my Garmin Map Install software needed to be updated. Doh! as Homer would say. Basically it wasn't letting me overwrite my maps that were previously loaded onto my Garmin 512mb card. It was telling me that I didn't have any space to use because the previous maps were still sitting there. It was supposed to erase it automatically and start off fresh. Very frustrating.
__________________
COHVCO Member
DR-Bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014