ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2011, 03:27 PM   #2206
neduro OP
Addict
 
neduro's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Oddometer: 11,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fulano View Post
... then to the bottom of the bike to the atmosphere.
FWIW, I'm not a fan of any program that has an open pipe to inside my motor, positive pressure or no.

I don't see the problem with the stock routing. Get rid of the buggered EXC carb venting, but the crank/ head vent that goes to the carb, is not a liability IMO, even after having bikes upside down and backwards in every possible crashing configuration. The potential exists to get some negligable amount of oil into the carb, but the reality hasn't presented itself to me yet.



BTW, been meaning to do a good update for the thread on my Dakar build and 450s in general... but no time now. So, the short version is... I love the 450. After years of 530, the 450 is smoother, easier to ride fast, has more boost than the 400, but makes it easy to keep the chassis settled in the same way.

Good thing too, because I've got 4 450 engines now (3 for dakar and one bike I'm leaving together to ride)
__________________
Doubletake Mirrors- Folding D/S mirror that is both useful and indestructible.

Dual Sport Riding Techniques DVDs: Clear instructional DVDs to improve off-road skills.
neduro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 05:26 PM   #2207
jesusgatos
fishing with dynamite
 
jesusgatos's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: on the road
Oddometer: 2,384
I've been told that I can use something like a drain bolt for a KTM 200/300 to plug the carb vent? Can anybody verify this, or provide a part number?

EDIT: Dirt Rider magazine lists part number 0910100003, which is described as PLUG DIN0910-M 10X1.

jesusgatos screwed with this post 10-06-2011 at 11:02 PM
jesusgatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 05:38 PM   #2208
jesusgatos
fishing with dynamite
 
jesusgatos's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: on the road
Oddometer: 2,384
Also wondering about the electrical side of things. Looking into lighting upgrades, most likely a Baja Designs 8" racelight. Will a rewound stator power a 100W halogen headlight? and grip-heaters? and GPS? If I decide to switch over to DC and go HID, how's that end up looking? Just wondering where people are mounting the regulator/rectifiers and how they're wired-up, etc. Have a brand new Ricky Stator reg/rec unit, but have been reading a little bit about the MOSFET regulator/rectifiers, wondering whether we can use those on these bikes.

By the way, if you have an EXC and want to simplify your wiring harness (eliminating the turn signals, keyed ignition, etc.), a complete XC-W wiring harness only costs $50. I have an XC-W, but was looking at my brother's EXC and seems like a plug-and-play deal.
jesusgatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 05:53 PM   #2209
jesusgatos
fishing with dynamite
 
jesusgatos's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: on the road
Oddometer: 2,384
Just called Baja Designs and their rewound stators are only putting out 130W (peak output), which they told me is only enough to run a 55W light. Trailtech claims their high-output stator puts out 100W (idle). Anybody know what that translates to at peak? Ricky Stator also lists their stators at 100W, but they don't specify whether that's at peak or at idle.
jesusgatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 12:09 PM   #2210
jesusgatos
fishing with dynamite
 
jesusgatos's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: on the road
Oddometer: 2,384
Just ordered a 3.4G Acerbis tank, and am wondering if anybody has any experience with these rear saddle tanks.
jesusgatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 12:53 PM   #2211
Country Doc
Wanderer
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: somwhere north of Kingston, Ontario
Oddometer: 2,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesusgatos View Post
Just called Baja Designs and their rewound stators are only putting out 130W (peak output), which they told me is only enough to run a 55W light. Trailtech claims their high-output stator puts out 100W (idle). Anybody know what that translates to at peak? Ricky Stator also lists their stators at 100W, but they don't specify whether that's at peak or at idle.
My trailtech stator can run at least 90 watts of HID ( 2x 30W front lights and a 30W helmet light) and a GPS with no appreciable drain on the battery. I have no idea what the actual numbers are but it works well.

dc
Country Doc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 02:08 PM   #2212
jesusgatos
fishing with dynamite
 
jesusgatos's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: on the road
Oddometer: 2,384
Thanks for the good word on that Country Doc.
jesusgatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 03:17 PM   #2213
c.vestal
Rally On
 
c.vestal's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: COS
Oddometer: 4,876
Earlier posts in this thread, drew my attention to a "nice looking" skid plate for purchase on ebay.
I do not suggest trying this one if you are actually using off road. Here is why:
- this is from riding trails in my normal rotation and my normal "spirited" usage, not a crash.
- it does not offer rock protection on the right side cases.
I think the photos say the rest. No before pictures.
Edit: I did have on a 6 gal. Acerbis tank. I have had that tank on with other skids that were not that soft and did not grab rocks like this one did.



c.vestal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 03:19 PM   #2214
c.vestal
Rally On
 
c.vestal's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: COS
Oddometer: 4,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Country Doc View Post
My trailtech stator can run at least 90 watts of HID ( 2x 30W front lights and a 30W helmet light) and a GPS with no appreciable drain on the battery. I have no idea what the actual numbers are but it works well.

dc
1+ on the trailtech. I used it to fire up a BD 6" Prerunner HID and a 20W Led. No issues at all.
c.vestal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 03:42 PM   #2215
piercalif
Biciveloce
 
piercalif's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: San Diego North County Beach Area
Oddometer: 411
Not good

Is hard to tell when you buy something on line, what you are going to get. I got the same skid plate and I felt more secure with the stock plastic one. It looked very nice in the pictures but offers very little protection to the sides of the engine, so far so good I guess I haven't hit it too hard like you...



Quote:
Originally Posted by c.vestal View Post
Earlier posts in this thread, drew my attention to a "nice looking" skid plate for purchase on ebay.
I do not suggest trying this one if you are actually using off road. Here is why:
- this is from riding trails in my normal rotation and my normal "spirited" usage, not a crash.
- it does not offer rock protection on the right side cases.
I think the photos say the rest. No before pictures.
Edit: I did have on a 6 gal. Acerbis tank. I have had that tank on with other skids that were not that soft and did not grab rocks like this one did.



__________________
Piero

Carlsbad
piercalif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 01:14 AM   #2216
mxbundy
Studly Adventurer
 
mxbundy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Hemet Ca.
Oddometer: 897
Rear brake fade?

Anyone else having this issue?
Doesn't take much for mine to loose the rear brake completely!
Have bleed it, repeatedly!

Bundy
__________________
The 80`s..........ah yes...back in the days when men looked like women, women dressed like whores and the music F@#KING ROCKED!

Check out http://seatconcepts.com/ , your ass will appreciate it!
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=621311
mxbundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 06:07 AM   #2217
Billy.B.F.
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Billy.B.F.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Down Under
Oddometer: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by oinky1982 View Post
Yes, you're right but aroune 55 and 85 it does the same problem

No kidding
You running a big rear tyre?

On a neutral throttle at (relatively) high speeds a loose chain can float and get caught on the left edge of the tyre causing a lot of slap that feels like bad vibration.

Never seems to happen trail riding.

If this is the case, you'll have some wear on your edge blocks.
__________________
"Rally racing makes heroin addiction seem like a vague craving for something salty!"

(Apologies to Peter Egan)

The appropriate number of cylinders for any motorcycle is two.
Billy.B.F. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 08:00 AM   #2218
neduro OP
Addict
 
neduro's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Oddometer: 11,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxbundy View Post
Anyone else having this issue?
Doesn't take much for mine to loose the rear brake completely!
Have bleed it, repeatedly!

Bundy
If you have some miles, it's not uncommon for the master cylinder to develop a leak. If you hold steady pressure on the lever at rest, will it eventually drop through the travel?

Otherwise, good fluid- AP racing is the best I've found. I've never been able to boil it.
__________________
Doubletake Mirrors- Folding D/S mirror that is both useful and indestructible.

Dual Sport Riding Techniques DVDs: Clear instructional DVDs to improve off-road skills.
neduro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 08:34 PM   #2219
whozaberg
Gnarly Adventurer
 
whozaberg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 168
08 530 running rich

This is crazy. Got a wideband sensor to tune a mates bike. It runns 11.0:1 at idle and I cannot get it any leaner. Don't know the needle as it has no I.D but Iam down to a 160 main from a 172 and a 38 pilot!!

With 1/2 a turn out on the fuel screw and 2nd clip position from the top I can get around the mid 13:1 mark at idle, but as soon as I come off idle it drops to low 11's.

Forgive me if I am wrong, but shouldn't idle and cruise be around 14:1? Power runs result in a fairly good range of 12.8-13.0:1 but the problem is if he stalls it when it's hot there is no way he can start it. Too Rich.

Valves are good, if anything a little loose. Float level is good also. This is crap guy's. By the way I fiitted a new EMN needle to get a base setting but it was WAAAAYYY too rich.

Is there a rare manufacturing problem I am missing with the carb?? Any suggestions would be great.
whozaberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 09:02 PM   #2220
Deseret Rider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Deseret Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: East Central Utah (Deseret)
Oddometer: 248
Running rich at idle

Let's talk about this-----and invite others to join ----I have something to learn here too. '

I have always believed that the mixture at Idle is pretty much controlled by your pilot jet----the main jet, needle and needle jet are not yet involved because the throttle is closed----right? So if you are running rich at idle I would think you would select a smaller pilot jet? What number pilot are you running?
Then---as you open the throttle and come off idle ----up to about 3/4 throttle-----the mixture is determined by the needle jet and the position of the needle within it (assuming here that the main jet is sufficiently large so as not to impede gas flow). The transition off the pilot mixture as you first open the throttle is also affected by the throttle cutaway----but this transition is fairly narrow and probably not going to enter into this discussion.

What is your target mixture?----15:1 ?

I'm not grasping the hot start issue though-----and am wondering if there isn't more involved there than simple mixture ratio?
Deseret Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015