ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2013, 03:44 AM   #4816
Beardoge
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: By the twin bridges
Oddometer: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Rod View Post
I've ripped stems off tubes and broke the stem off a rim lock on a 530 w/ 25 psi. It is possible.
Whoa... I guess I better get some weights. Damn these bikes are powerful !
Beardoge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:12 AM   #4817
Foot dragger
singletracker
 
Foot dragger's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: chico,just below rag dump(nor-cal)
Oddometer: 12,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtdiver View Post
This is what DDjr and I did.

You really put that aluminum framework on the ft of your bike?Just to hold lights.

Thats different.
__________________
Some bikes around at times
Foot dragger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:26 AM   #4818
B-Rod
RubberNecker
 
B-Rod's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Alberta
Oddometer: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beardoge View Post
Whoa... I guess I better get some weights. Damn these bikes are powerful !

You don't need weights, it was more of a statement inforcing the necessity of rim locks, tire pressure, slipping of tires on the rim and ripping the stems off of tubes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foot dragger View Post
You really put that aluminum framework on the ft of your bike?Just to hold lights.

Thats different.
That's a kind way of putting it.
__________________
Save $5 on Smugmug by using this code. LW9ZIPzdRGzaI
B-Rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 09:20 AM   #4819
Subaru297
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Calgary, AB
Oddometer: 115
I am sure you will get lots of reports either way but I am another person that removed both rim locks when I changed my first set of tires.
~4000kms later with around 20psi and my tubes haven't moved yet. I do leave the valve nuts off as well like Hodakaguy.
My guess is that anything above the high teens for PSI and you don't need rim locks. This does not apply to a tire filled with hundreds of sharp spikes though!

Cheers
Subaru297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 09:35 AM   #4820
B-Rod
RubberNecker
 
B-Rod's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Alberta
Oddometer: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Subaru297 View Post
I am sure you will get lots of reports either way but I am another person that removed both rim locks when I changed my first set of tires.
~4000kms later with around 20psi and my tubes haven't moved yet. I do leave the valve nuts off as well like Hodakaguy.
My guess is that anything above the high teens for PSI and you don't need rim locks. This does not apply to a tire filled with hundreds of sharp spikes though!

Cheers
True. My old 640 didn't have rim locks, but rarely ran pressures below 20. No problem.
__________________
Save $5 on Smugmug by using this code. LW9ZIPzdRGzaI
B-Rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 02:54 PM   #4821
AB13
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Lexington va
Oddometer: 714
lights

I ordered a Baja Squadron kit with dimmer and regulator today AB
__________________
Just joined for the sticker.
AB13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 11:01 AM   #4822
Beardoge
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: By the twin bridges
Oddometer: 363
Can you guys make a suggestion of some good websites to buy parts from. I got sicass and a few others but what i'm really looking for as silly as it sounds is a rack for the back.
Planning on doing some longer trips and am missing the rack on the back for tents and the like.
Beardoge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 01:31 PM   #4823
Joe
Debaser
 
Joe's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beardoge View Post
Can you guys make a suggestion of some good websites to buy parts from. I got sicass and a few others but what i'm really looking for as silly as it sounds is a rack for the back.
Planning on doing some longer trips and am missing the rack on the back for tents and the like.
Try: http://seatconcepts.com/products#!/~...094&id=8231408

I have never tried one but the price seems pretty reasonable.
__________________

Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 01:33 PM   #4824
Foot dragger
singletracker
 
Foot dragger's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: chico,just below rag dump(nor-cal)
Oddometer: 12,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beardoge View Post
Can you guys make a suggestion of some good websites to buy parts from. I got sicass and a few others but what i'm really looking for as silly as it sounds is a rack for the back.
Planning on doing some longer trips and am missing the rack on the back for tents and the like.
A rack always seems like the go-to thing for camping.........but,check out Giant-Loop,Wolfman and maybe others for strap on luggage that requires no rack. Putting a rack on a 530 can be done,it aint cheap and is usually a pain to take off and on.
__________________
Some bikes around at times
Foot dragger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 02:31 PM   #4825
Hodakaguy
NorthWest Adventure Rider
 
Hodakaguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Eastern WA State
Oddometer: 1,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foot dragger View Post
A rack always seems like the go-to thing for camping.........but,check out Giant-Loop,Wolfman and maybe others for strap on luggage that requires no rack. Putting a rack on a 530 can be done,it aint cheap and is usually a pain to take off and on.
Plus 1 on using a Giant Loop for luggage instead of a rack. Keeps your gear nice and secure and allows you to ride like a dirt bike even when fully loaded, nothing shifts or moves. Lots of pics of my 530 loaded for camping in my ride reports.

Hodakaguy
__________________
NV 2012 - In Memory of the Crewmen RR: CLICK HERE
Adventure Is Out There - NV RR: CLICK HERE
Riding Through History - NV RR: CLICK HERE
And Then There Were Four - OR RR: CLICK HERE
My VW Syncro Westy Build Thread: CLICK HERE
Hodakaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 03:20 PM   #4826
AB13
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Lexington va
Oddometer: 714
wolfman

Wolfman Rollie system works great on that bike. AB:-)
__________________
Just joined for the sticker.
AB13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 05:02 PM   #4827
bruceo
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Wetside, Washington
Oddometer: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by hodakaguy View Post
plus 1 on using a giant loop
hodakaguy
+1
__________________
2012 KTM 990 Adventure R
2010 KTM 530 EXC
bruceo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 05:28 PM   #4828
dualindalton
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dualindalton's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: North Ga.- between East and West-
Oddometer: 112
Where's my oil?

When changing my oil today I only recovered 500ml. I recall seeing a post somewhere that suggested there may be some oil "trapped" inside the motor. This is the first oil change I've done on this bike and don't know how long it has been since the last change.
I put 600ml back in but now I'm concerned that I if that lost 100ml wasn't burnt but trapped then I could possibly now have 700ml in the motor.
I have to lean the bike pretty far to the right before I can see the oil drop down to the top of the glass.
My plan is to level the bike and then slowly remove oil until it is at the top of the sight glass.
Any thoughts or suggestions on where the oil went?

dualindalton screwed with this post 09-06-2013 at 05:38 PM
dualindalton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 06:03 PM   #4829
resqd1
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Oddometer: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by dualindalton View Post
When changing my oil today I only recovered 500ml. I recall seeing a post somewhere that suggested there may be some oil "trapped" inside the motor. This is the first oil change I've done on this bike and don't know how long it has been since the last change.
I put 600ml back in but now I'm concerned that I if that lost 100ml wasn't burnt but trapped then I could possibly now have 700ml in the motor.
I have to lean the bike pretty far to the right before I can see the oil drop down to the top of the glass.
My plan is to level the bike and then slowly remove oil until it is at the top of the sight glass.
Any thoughts or suggestions on where the oil went?
intersted to hear on this too, mine was right at the bottom of the site glass and only drained out about 400ml, in the middle of gear swap and water pump fix, based on Hodaka write ups.
resqd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 06:08 PM   #4830
wsmc831
Studly Adventurer
 
wsmc831's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Oddometer: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by resqd1 View Post
intersted to hear on this too, mine was right at the bottom of the site glass and only drained out about 400ml, in the middle of gear swap and water pump fix, based on Hodaka write ups.
I always found this to be a real pita on the 530. the sight glass is nearly worthless. My oil level seemed to vary quite a bit until I got rid of the oem rings/pistons, valve seals and oil pump stuff. I quit worrying about how much came out and just put the same amount in, whatever that was, 600ml or whatever. Miss the torque of the motor, sure don't miss the split oil.
__________________
1290, April delivery
97 TL1000S
2010 690 EnduroR
2013 500 Exc
wsmc831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014