ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2013, 05:25 PM   #33586
alansz400
Studly Adventurer
 
alansz400's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Loudonville ohio
Oddometer: 924
Does anyone know what the brown wire that goes into the ign. switch is for? The dealer that rewireded my heated grips after my wreck used that brown wire to power them and I dont like it. I had a hot wire going to the battery with a fuse. The dealer has my heated grips and my 12 volt power port both wired into that brown wire with no fuse. I am going to rewire it just wanting to know what the brown wire is for?
alansz400 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 06:05 PM   #33587
riverman
Life is great !
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Oddometer: 178
[QUOTE=Rapid Dog;20870626]...speakin' of pegs, there's a guy in Europe that makes custom pegs to order
if you're interested go here: http://wr250rforum.forumotion.com/t8...egs-for-wr250r

I had him make a set I designed that I wanted an inch rearward and 1/2" lower because I always felt I was too far forward on the lil WR.




I ordered a set from the same guy. Great service, pegs fit to a T and still fold up like OEM. Reused the spring from OEM. Took a bit less than two weeks to get them from Republic of Czech to Canada. Cost for me was less than your $100 limit.
__________________
Rory aka "Riverman"

'11 WR250R
'13 Tiger 800XC
riverman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:37 PM   #33588
Scott_PDX
Leisure Engineer
 
Scott_PDX's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Portland...the newer one on the left side.
Oddometer: 3,328
Tank Panniers

Anybody with the bigger IMS tank run Tank Panniers? Looking to see if there are any clever ways to mount them without being in the way too much. It's unclear to me if there is an attachment point for that tank.
__________________
2014 KTM 690R, 2009 KLR650, 2004 KTM 450 EXC, 2000 R1150GS

My MotovLog (Youtube Videos): http://www.youtube.com/user/scottb572/videos

Where Am I via SPOT (Code SCT): http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=719703
Scott_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:48 PM   #33589
UtahFox
Gnarly Adventurer
 
UtahFox's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Oddometer: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_PDX View Post
Anybody with the bigger IMS tank run Tank Panniers? Looking to see if there are any clever ways to mount them without being in the way too much. It's unclear to me if there is an attachment point for that tank.
Which tank? The IMS 3 gallon doesn't change the geometry other than it gets an inch or two taller. The same plastics the bike comes with fit for instance.
UtahFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:23 PM   #33590
sodapop
Caffeinated
 
sodapop's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Central Texas
Oddometer: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by SchizzMan View Post
Just got this '09 home yesterday. Needs the engine mods and possibly regearing. Ran good down the highway home.
I did only the flapper mod and set CO at +2. The bike is noticeably snappier. I liked that so much I'm considering a pipe and programmer.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
__________________
Robb
2008 Yamaha WR250R

Gone: 2007 Honda VFR800A, 2006 Suzuki SV650S, 2002 KTM 125SX, 1994 Yamaha YZF750R, 1992 Honda CBR600R, 1991 Suzuki GSXR750R, 1989 Yamaha FZR600R, 1983 Honda CR80R, 1982 Honda XR80R, 1979 Yamaha GT80

sodapop screwed with this post 03-05-2013 at 09:33 PM
sodapop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:47 PM   #33591
Scott_PDX
Leisure Engineer
 
Scott_PDX's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Portland...the newer one on the left side.
Oddometer: 3,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by UtahFox View Post
Which tank? The IMS 3 gallon doesn't change the geometry other than it gets an inch or two taller. The same plastics the bike comes with fit for instance.
Yeah, I meant the 4.75gal one. It looks "smoother" - not sure if that's a problem adding tank panniers to that tank or not. Tired of hauling a Rotopax with my 3.1 gallon tank on longer rides.
__________________
2014 KTM 690R, 2009 KLR650, 2004 KTM 450 EXC, 2000 R1150GS

My MotovLog (Youtube Videos): http://www.youtube.com/user/scottb572/videos

Where Am I via SPOT (Code SCT): http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=719703
Scott_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 07:01 AM   #33592
Rapid Dog
bikes, booze, broads...
 
Rapid Dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Strangel Living West of Hell
Oddometer: 9,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_PDX View Post
Anybody with the bigger IMS tank run Tank Panniers? Looking to see if there are any clever ways to mount them without being in the way too much. It's unclear to me if there is an attachment point for that tank.
I've used my Aerostch panniers with my 3 gal tank no problemo.
I put the straps forward and aft of the tank filler cap and use the bungies where they'll best work.
Gotta pick here somewhere...

Here' tis:


__________________
'91 R100GSPD Derelict Deux , '81 R100RS Rattlecandy Red/'06 950 ADV Orangeboom/91 R100GSPD Derelict etc.


Rapid Dog screwed with this post 03-06-2013 at 07:07 AM
Rapid Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 08:25 AM   #33593
simmons1
Beastly Adventurer
 
simmons1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Out Riding
Oddometer: 1,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_PDX View Post
Yeah, I meant the 4.75gal one. It looks "smoother" - not sure if that's a problem adding tank panniers to that tank or not. Tired of hauling a Rotopax with my 3.1 gallon tank on longer rides.
I have done this for easy rides. Pushes knees out when sitting, but doesn't tend to bother me standing up:



I wouldn't use this on technical trails/single track.
__________________
Goldwing, Super Tenere, WR250R, ST1300, KLR, GS1000s, GT750, H2 750, H1 500
simmons1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 08:47 AM   #33594
Rapid Dog
bikes, booze, broads...
 
Rapid Dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Strangel Living West of Hell
Oddometer: 9,483
...you couls also use a Giant Loop Buckin' Roll

__________________
'91 R100GSPD Derelict Deux , '81 R100RS Rattlecandy Red/'06 950 ADV Orangeboom/91 R100GSPD Derelict etc.

Rapid Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 09:06 AM   #33595
jon_l
Beastly Adventurer
 
jon_l's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Collingwood, Ontario
Oddometer: 3,205
That looks sweet!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid Dog View Post
...you couls also use a Giant Loop Buckin' Roll

I guess one could also use the Wolfman Rolie as a tank pannier.

__________________
CBF1000 & PCX150
jon_l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 09:53 AM   #33596
Rapid Dog
bikes, booze, broads...
 
Rapid Dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Strangel Living West of Hell
Oddometer: 9,483
...one thing about the Buckin' Roll, there's not a great amount of room in the side pockets. Probably squeeze an MSR bottle in there. They're kinda hard to get gain access due to the hefty design and small space.

Not near the space and access you'll have with some Aeostich panniers.
__________________
'91 R100GSPD Derelict Deux , '81 R100RS Rattlecandy Red/'06 950 ADV Orangeboom/91 R100GSPD Derelict etc.

Rapid Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 10:33 AM   #33597
pfy50
Professional nOOb
 
pfy50's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Oneida, Tenn.
Oddometer: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by alansz400 View Post
Does anyone know what the brown wire that goes into the ign. switch is for? The dealer that rewireded my heated grips after my wreck used that brown wire to power them and I dont like it. I had a hot wire going to the battery with a fuse. The dealer has my heated grips and my 12 volt power port both wired into that brown wire with no fuse. I am going to rewire it just wanting to know what the brown wire is for?
He was probably looking to connect to a switched line. The brown line runs to your #55(in fuse panel) 10amp fused power line. It also connects to the starter relay,license plate light,front and rear brake switches, horn. How much power does your heated grip pull?
IMHO heated items should go thru a relay and switch of their own and not pull load off of any primary circuits for safety. At the very least take the power port off the same line as the heated grips which should have their own 5amp line.
ps. some useful info on the Hot grips faq pg.
http://www.hotgrips.com/faq.php#14

__________________
My Odyssey: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=566875
2013 TEX XC,2011 WR250R,2004 KAWA Concours,1994 BMW K1100RS
May the Lord bless you and keep you in all the Dark places you must travel

pfy50 screwed with this post 03-06-2013 at 10:48 AM
pfy50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 10:52 AM   #33598
skierd
Wannabe Far-Rider
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Oddometer: 2,938
I've run my heated grips off of the headlight circuit (a 15A fuse) for years, never had an issue with my lights or grips. Same way BigDog does his.
__________________
"We wish your trail a long one" - Darlene "Sid" Dowd ~ Never run out of traction, ideas, and real estate at the same time.
2008 Yamaha WR250X
Eastern TAT 8/2009 ~MD-Key West-Oklahoma 4/2011~Maryland to Alaska 3/2012
skierd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 01:55 PM   #33599
alansz400
Studly Adventurer
 
alansz400's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Loudonville ohio
Oddometer: 924
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfy50 View Post
He was probably looking to connect to a switched line. The brown line runs to your #55(in fuse panel) 10amp fused power line. It also connects to the starter relay,license plate light,front and rear brake switches, horn. How much power does your heated grip pull?
IMHO heated items should go thru a relay and switch of their own and not pull load off of any primary circuits for safety. At the very least take the power port off the same line as the heated grips which should have their own 5amp line.
ps. some useful info on the Hot grips faq pg.
http://www.hotgrips.com/faq.php#14
Thanks. I rewired it today with a fused wire to the battery. I was going to use a relay but didnt have one. Still upsets me that the dealer would cut into my factory wiring. I guess thats why I dont take my bike to the dealer unless some one else is paying the bill.
alansz400 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 07:22 PM   #33600
pfy50
Professional nOOb
 
pfy50's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Oneida, Tenn.
Oddometer: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by skierd View Post
I've run my heated grips off of the headlight circuit (a 15A fuse) for years, never had an issue with my lights or grips. Same way BigDog does his.
Skierd,

What ever works, it's just a little safer on a lighter loaded circuit as long as the wiring is the same guage.
__________________
My Odyssey: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=566875
2013 TEX XC,2011 WR250R,2004 KAWA Concours,1994 BMW K1100RS
May the Lord bless you and keep you in all the Dark places you must travel

pfy50 screwed with this post 03-06-2013 at 07:34 PM
pfy50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015