ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2013, 06:56 PM   #37321
ryguy83
Adventurer
 
ryguy83's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Holmdel,NJ
Oddometer: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by japako View Post
I saw it on my dealers order page. If it is going happen, it should be in September, I think.
Canada and the EU show them. Maybe we'll get a 450 or 600???
Bahahahah.good one


-ry
__________________
Current: Hopefully something Orange really soon

Previous: '00 ninja250r, '03 sv650s, '05 cbr600rr, '09 klx250s, '09 wr250x
ryguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 07:52 PM   #37322
AZ TOM
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Prescott AZ
Oddometer: 3,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by ba_ View Post
Thanks Ba.

Also has anyone replaced just the plastic fan? Don't need the whole motor, it's good just need the fan??
AZ TOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 08:24 PM   #37323
Buzzbomber
Not Dr. Who...
 
Buzzbomber's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Betwixt Heaven and Hell
Oddometer: 1,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by chabon View Post
All this talk about speedometer/odometer inaccuracy and no mention of the measurement mode of the multifunction display? I use a 12 O'clock labs to adjust my MPH but the odometer is still incorrect.

Has anyone tried the measurement mode for a more accurate odometer? Here is what it says in the manual. I just came across this and didn't know it existed.

From the manual:

"The distance-compensation tripmeter is a feature
intended to provide a more accurate
tripmeter reading for enduro riding. Calibrating
this meter in accordance with the distances
specified on the enduro course map will help familiarize
the rider with the course. In addition,
calibrating the meter may also be necessary
when using tire, wheel, chain sprocket sizes,
etc. other than specified."
It does not adjust the rate of accumulation of mileage, rather just the number displayed. In other words, if you find it is off by .1 miles after two miles and adjust it, it will be off .1 miles again after traveling another two miles. It is meant for matching roll chart mileage.
Buzzbomber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 08:39 PM   #37324
chabon
Gnarly Adventurer
 
chabon's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Carpinteria, CA
Oddometer: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzzbomber View Post
It does not adjust the rate of accumulation of mileage, rather just the number displayed. In other words, if you find it is off by .1 miles after two miles and adjust it, it will be off .1 miles again after traveling another two miles. It is meant for matching roll chart mileage.
Not very useful to me then. Thanks for the explanation.
__________________
Copper Canyon Mexico or Will I Come Back Alive?
Baja Team 6
Barracas Del Cobre
Chabón - F650 Funduro - WR250X
chabon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 09:57 PM   #37325
woofer2609
Studly Adventurer
 
woofer2609's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Extreme Pacific SouthWest (of Canada)
Oddometer: 692
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZ TOM View Post
Thanks Ba.

Also has anyone replaced just the plastic fan? Don't need the whole motor, it's good just need the fan??
Might be just as cheap to use a fan designed for a computer that is of similar size. I have friends who have used computer fans and found them to be fairly reliable.
woofer2609 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 10:08 PM   #37326
BarKnee
Adventurer
 
BarKnee's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Oddometer: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW-K View Post
Does anyone make an oversized rear brake pedal or replacement pedal?
I looked around but couldn't find one, so made one up.

BarKnee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 10:34 PM   #37327
AZ TOM
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Prescott AZ
Oddometer: 3,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by woofer2609 View Post
Might be just as cheap to use a fan designed for a computer that is of similar size. I have friends who have used computer fans and found them to be fairly reliable.
Thanks will check that out. Also are there any other complete fans that will fit/work?
AZ TOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 10:43 PM   #37328
TrailDust&SaddleLthr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
TrailDust&SaddleLthr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Southern Idaho, along the Oregon Trail
Oddometer: 194
BEST Tail Rack... IMHO... + Screen too...

Quote:
Originally Posted by RACINGTHESUN View Post
I pretty much know what I plan on purchasing for the WR with the exception of the tail rack. Does anybody know who makes a pretty wide tail rack for the WR? I don't particularly care for the ones that are just as wide as the fender. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Hi! Been away from here for a few weeks and had to catch up.... If you have not yet made up your mind or found the right tail rack for you, THIS ONE should fit the bill...

http://wr250rforum.forumotion.com/t6640-new-billet-cargo-rack-available

Send Jared a PM... he is the NICEST guy and his work is OUTSTANDING! I waited almost 5 years to find the right rack... and Jared was the RIGHT man for the job... handmade and TOP quality.

Drop him a line!

For a Screen.... look for this one out of Australia... also... BEST one on the market for me... and owner is the NICEST person to deal with as well...

http://www.screensforbikes.com/shop/yamaha/wr-250-r-08-12-2/

Also worth the almost 5 years to get it... had to wait till it was designed and produced... well worth the wait... works awesome, easy to install, perfect size and very efficient... what a difference it makes when at higher speeds!

Good luck with your farkling! :)
TrailDust&SaddleLthr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 10:52 PM   #37329
TrailDust&SaddleLthr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
TrailDust&SaddleLthr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Southern Idaho, along the Oregon Trail
Oddometer: 194
Jared's Tail Rack IS Compatible with Wolfman's Rack...

Quote:
Originally Posted by RACINGTHESUN View Post
I saw that one earlier, and I wonder if it can be mounted along with the Wolfman side racks? Looks like they share some of the same areas to place bolts/screws

Here is your answer in pics... scroll down the page a bit...

http://wr250rforum.forumotion.com/t6640p180-new-billet-cargo-rack-available


P.S.: I have NO affiliation with either Jared or Screen for Bikes, just a MOST satisfied customer with their FINE products... NOT made in china... and NOT available at damn walmart!!!... Thanks for small favors! :))

TrailDust&SaddleLthr screwed with this post 08-18-2013 at 11:00 PM
TrailDust&SaddleLthr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 08:35 AM   #37330
johninlv
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Las Vegas NV, Marysville WA
Oddometer: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrailDust&SaddleLthr View Post
Here is your answer in pics... scroll down the page a bit...

http://wr250rforum.forumotion.com/t6640p180-new-billet-cargo-rack-available


P.S.: I have NO affiliation with either Jared or Screen for Bikes, just a MOST satisfied customer with their FINE products... NOT made in china... and NOT available at damn walmart!!!... Thanks for small favors! :))
These guys make racks for the wr250r in three sizes.

http://www.automotivemachine.com/ind...d=51&Itemid=56

I have the middle size and it works with my Wolfman rack. Plenty of room even for the large rack.
__________________
2004 Yamaha xt225, 2008 Wr250R Works in Progress
johninlv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 08:43 AM   #37331
Caucasian
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: So Cal
Oddometer: 28
Bars

So I bent my butter bars, which didn't take long. First lay down, a stupid spill where the bike slid out on an off camber corner with loose dirt.

So now I'm looking for new bars, any opinions?

I'd like to know what bar and mounts I can change to for the most rise with the stock cables and controls. Is there a significant difference in going with fat bars?

I saw Rick Ramsey put the Pro Taper SE CR high bend handlebar on then the Easton EXP woods. I couldn't tell if he had to modify anything. Also, does Easton still make the Pro Taper bars.

Sorry in advance if this has been discussed here before.

Thanks
Caucasian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 10:13 AM   #37332
ramz
Professional Trail Rider
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salida, CO
Oddometer: 1,979
Quote:
I saw Rick Ramsey put the Pro Taper SE CR high bend handlebar on then the Easton EXP woods. I couldn't tell if he had to modify anything. Also, does Easton still make the Pro Taper bars.
The Pro Taper SE are 7/8" bars, so no modifications necessary. Remove everything from stock bars, remove stock bars, install Pro Tapers, install controls, ride.

I did cut about 3/4" off each end and I did install new grips and handguards, all of which required fiddling with.

The Pro Tapers are available from Rocky Mountain for about $63.


The Easton EXP is no longer made and you'll have a hard time finding them. MotoSport had some clearance sales late last year and I bought 5 sets in different bends. Two woods bend sets went with the WRR when I sold it and the others are sitting on my KTM Freeride 350 farkle pile, waiting for KTM to release the bike in the US...

ramz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 12:13 PM   #37333
rhollamby
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: 80831
Oddometer: 298
rear brake pedal

I need to lower my rear brake pedal. It seems I just adjust the two nuts on the master cylinder, then adjust the sensor for the brake light....but how do I know that I'm not slightly engaging the rear brake?

Thanks!
rhollamby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 12:43 PM   #37334
woofer2609
Studly Adventurer
 
woofer2609's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Extreme Pacific SouthWest (of Canada)
Oddometer: 692
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhollamby View Post
I need to lower my rear brake pedal. It seems I just adjust the two nuts on the master cylinder, then adjust the sensor for the brake light....but how do I know that I'm not slightly engaging the rear brake?

Thanks!
I'd elevate the rear end off ground and spin the wheel before and after adjustments, both should have relatively the same drag . Minute drag is normal.
woofer2609 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 12:53 PM   #37335
cjbiker
Nobody's Robot
 
cjbiker's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Southern Maine
Oddometer: 2,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhollamby View Post
I need to lower my rear brake pedal. It seems I just adjust the two nuts on the master cylinder, then adjust the sensor for the brake light....but how do I know that I'm not slightly engaging the rear brake?

Thanks!
Adjusting the brake lever position does not change the free play of the pedal (which is fixed).
cjbiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014