ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-05-2010, 02:27 AM   #1426
dirtsurfer
Challenged Adventurer
 
dirtsurfer's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: between the bings
Oddometer: 1,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colebatch
I...
For starters it should "usually" be about 14 .... my volt reading is about 14.4 ish when riding without much load on the system. If I load it up by turning on lights and crap it goes down to 13.5 ish......
I charged the BNW battery overnight last night and the bike started instantly when I hit the button, with headlight brighter than usual.

I checked it again tonight 14.1 when i first turned it on , started it and it was 13.2 with motor running

I have a multimeter , will that tell me if the bike is not charging the battery at the correct rate.

According to my reprom

Maximum output rating of alternator - Voltage 14 V -- 280 W

Maximum output current of alternator - at engine rpm 6000 min-1 = 20 A


I have to get on top of this before my outback trip
__________________
Tappet cover grinder
Avoid the Gavel, travel by gravel

dirtsurfer screwed with this post 07-05-2010 at 02:50 AM
dirtsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 02:37 AM   #1427
Lankbrown
No Pain No Gain
 
Lankbrown's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Melbourne,OZ
Oddometer: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtsurfer
It looks like I'm going to have to replace my battery. I have heard people refer to the odyssey battery but I don't know why. Are they better? in what way?

My bike would not start after a few hours continuous riding yesterday. I couldnt even get the startermotor to crank the engine. I trailered it home and charged the battery overnight an it started no problem this morning
G'day from OZ. I changed my battery to a YUASA YTZ10S 7 months ago and it has been great. Done nearly 10,000 k's and starts really easy every time. Price is about $80AUS. I also chose to recently put a headlight switch into the low beam circuit to take some of the strain off the electrical system especially when the cooling fan is operating. Cheers
Lankbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 01:07 PM   #1428
jonb
Montana Adventurer
 
jonb's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Montana backcountry
Oddometer: 284
My X won't idle! Need some advice.

The bike had been sitting for a couple months. It started right up. I drove it to work. I went out at lunch and came up to the first traffic light and it stalled. First time ever. I pulled into the next gas station and put some new fuel in without adding anything else and it didn't help. Still won't idle for more than a second and it smells a little stinky and there might be a little more of a sputtering exhaust note on decelleration, not a true backfire. Runs fine at 70mph.
Should I add some "Heat" additive? Is there a fuse that runs this part of the operation? I don't remember there being one. Got any ideas for me? Is there a air line that i need to reconnect that works with the idle circuitry?
Thanks.
__________________
JB
jonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 07:14 AM   #1429
jonb
Montana Adventurer
 
jonb's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Montana backcountry
Oddometer: 284
I treated the gas

and I added clean fuel. I added SeaFoam and some Heat. Every time the bike returns to idle it stalls. I am going to run this tank of gas through and if its still runs like this I will move to my next theory. Sure hope its this simple or it could be a big pain in my backside.
__________________
JB
jonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 08:49 AM   #1430
jonb
Montana Adventurer
 
jonb's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Montana backcountry
Oddometer: 284
Rebooting the ECU

Seems like it might be a good idea to do a reset. Whats the best way to accomplish this? Can i disco the battery and reconnect it and will that reset the codes for me? Is there a formal reset process that can be accomplished at home in the garage without being subjected to the dealership? Thought i would give it a try.
Thanks.
__________________
JB
jonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 09:08 AM   #1431
bigdon
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 2,422
Got rid of Air Shock

Guys I had Rick @ http://motocd.com/ get me an Ohlins shock for the X. He set it up for my weight and height and did it with a discount price. It is awesome. I highly recommend this mod !
__________________
ADV Relay Rider 08 (The Texas Connection)
Ride Pooie Ride

Don't stop riding until you get to the crash , you might save it!
bigdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 06:39 PM   #1432
Trailace
Dumb Ass
 
Trailace's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Houston, Tx
Oddometer: 1,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonb
The bike had been sitting for a couple months. It started right up. I drove it to work. I went out at lunch and came up to the first traffic light and it stalled. First time ever. I pulled into the next gas station and put some new fuel in without adding anything else and it didn't help. Still won't idle for more than a second and it smells a little stinky and there might be a little more of a sputtering exhaust note on decelleration, not a true backfire. Runs fine at 70mph.
Should I add some "Heat" additive? Is there a fuse that runs this part of the operation? I don't remember there being one. Got any ideas for me? Is there a air line that i need to reconnect that works with the idle circuitry?
Thanks.
Does your bike still have the charcoal canister or was it removed? If it's was removed maybe your plug came off located near the throttle body. This will cause the bike not to idle and is a real quick fix.
__________________
Trailace
MotoCampers.com
Shouldn't You Be Riding/Camping?
2007 G650X Challenge
2002 R1150GS ADV
Iron Butt # 7362
Trailace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 06:54 PM   #1433
dirtsurfer
Challenged Adventurer
 
dirtsurfer's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: between the bings
Oddometer: 1,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonb
Seems like it might be a good idea to do a reset. Whats the best way to accomplish this? Can i disco the battery and reconnect it and will that reset the codes for me? .....
This seems to reset everthin' but I am not sure about CPU codes
__________________
Tappet cover grinder
Avoid the Gavel, travel by gravel
dirtsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 07:00 PM   #1434
mxchamp
Registered Lurker
 
mxchamp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: The corn state,11 curves in 318 miles (Iafalls IA)
Oddometer: 1,394
Question Clutch cable

Been on the MAX BMW website looking for a new clutch cable to use as a spare if needed.

Will any other cable work for our bike?

I have searched with no luck.

Thanks
__________________
Ride safe!!!!
2001 KTM 640 Adventure R
2014 KTM 690 Enduro

Encouraging Serious Horseplay!
mxchamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 07:36 PM   #1435
olyflyer
Beastly Adventurer
 
olyflyer's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Oddometer: 1,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxchamp
Been on the MAX BMW website looking for a new clutch cable to use as a spare if needed.

Will any other cable work for our bike?

I have searched with no luck.

Thanks
It's under 'Steering' on the fiche, not sure if any others fit it





#Part NumberDescriptionlbQtyEach
0132737696788ACCELERATOR CABLE - L=890MM0.26 1 $33.49[IMG]CartView.aspx?PartNumber=32737696788&qty=1 &description=ACCELERATOR+CABLE+-+L%3d890MM&weight=0.26[/IMG]
0332737696787CLUTCH CABLE0.37 1 $36.65[IMG]CartView.aspx?PartNumber=32737696787&qty=1 &description=CLUTCH+CABLE&weight=0.37[/IMG]
0534327707996GUMMIMANSCHETTE
__________________
Oly
---------
'Certainly, travel is more than the seeing of sights; it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of living.' Miriam Beard
olyflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 09:41 AM   #1436
bigdon
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 2,422
I need a new chain.
It is a 520 is it not?
How many links for stock sprockets?
Thanks Guys.
__________________
ADV Relay Rider 08 (The Texas Connection)
Ride Pooie Ride

Don't stop riding until you get to the crash , you might save it!
bigdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 06:46 PM   #1437
mxchamp
Registered Lurker
 
mxchamp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: The corn state,11 curves in 318 miles (Iafalls IA)
Oddometer: 1,394
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by olyflyer
It's under 'Steering' on the fiche, not sure if any others fit it





#Part NumberDescriptionlbQtyEach
0132737696788ACCELERATOR CABLE - L=890MM0.26 1 $33.49[IMG]CartView.aspx?PartNumber=32737696788&qty=1 &description=ACCELERATOR+CABLE+-+L%3d890MM&weight=0.26[/IMG]
0332737696787CLUTCH CABLE0.37 1 $36.65[IMG]CartView.aspx?PartNumber=32737696787&qty=1 &description=CLUTCH+CABLE&weight=0.37[/IMG]
0534327707996GUMMIMANSCHETTE
Thanks Oly!
__________________
Ride safe!!!!
2001 KTM 640 Adventure R
2014 KTM 690 Enduro

Encouraging Serious Horseplay!
mxchamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 09:53 PM   #1438
Mtrain
free range
 
Mtrain's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Oddometer: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdon
I need a new chain.
It is a 520 is it not?
How many links for stock sprockets?
Thanks Guys.
Yeah 520 chain and I think its 112 links for standard 15/47 combo count the links on your old chain if you still have it and its the same set up.
Mtrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 06:19 AM   #1439
Hill Billy
Part-time Adventurer
 
Hill Billy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Mundaring,Western Australia
Oddometer: 1,053
Timing chain noise

My Xc has developed what sounds like a timing chain noise when cranking and when it first starts up. the noise disappears as soon as the oil pressure comes up. The bike only has 10,000 k's on it.
Is this a common complaint.
Any ideas or advice appreciated.
Hill Billy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 06:47 AM   #1440
toofast4uu
adventurer
 
toofast4uu's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Oddometer: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxchamp
Been on the MAX BMW website looking for a new clutch cable to use as a spare if needed.

Will any other cable work for our bike?

I have searched with no luck.

Thanks
Motion Pro just shipped me a couple cables I had made for my X_Challenge. But please note that I had them made to fit japanese (or any aftermarket) clutch perch. (The cable "bung" on the perch side of the stock BMW cable is too large to fit into any other perches.)

Call motion pro, and they should be able to help you.

I can post the part# at some point over the weekend.
__________________
toofast4uu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014