ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Hacks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2015, 03:27 PM   #1
Prmurat OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Prmurat's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 950
Surprise!

Funny how being relatively new to the world of sidecar (3 years), I am trying to suppress my feelings/trust in favor of people/company which are supposed "to know"!
I ordered some time ago a raked triple trees set for my Vmax; not many people are doing this and out of the 2 making it one did not want to send a pic for fear of copy-write (!!) and the second one,Custom Triple Trees, send me pics and the assurance that "everything" will mount as stock. After ordering, waiting for the usual delay, I finally received what I think are the ugliest trees ever made (but I knew it!) and after procrastinating I installed them... Guess what: no way to install the handlebar risers which hold the headlight, turn signals etc.
At $850 I am mad and now waiting for their answer! I know it is my fault: I did not have a good feeling from the start and I should have listen to it!! Guess my Vmax will be hard to turn!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Prmurat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 04:10 PM   #2
Johann
commuterus tankslapperus
 
Johann's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Portugal
Oddometer: 513
Can you post a picture of the top yoke (triple tree). There are many ways of fitting bar risers, I´ve seen a few fitted by simply drilling four holes on the top yoke, secured by nuts and washers from underneath. If there is no flat surface some machining or welding might be involved but I´m finding it hard to understand how it is impossible.
Johann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 05:23 PM   #3
Prmurat OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Prmurat's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 950
Thanks for your idea... Went to check and I'll be scared to make more holes in the tree.... Thinking of having a small block machined to raise the risers (!) if only I knew how to take the bolts off to change them!
This how it is now



Triple tree and how the ensemble raisers/speedo has to go on it.

I am sure these trees are made for multiple Yamaha and I was a fool to believe they were not a project in themselves!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Prmurat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 05:37 PM   #4
Johann
commuterus tankslapperus
 
Johann's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Portugal
Oddometer: 513
Another option would be to get bar risers that use single bolt fixing that fits the existing hole rather than getting the existing hole drilled out.

Something like.........

http://www.demon-tweeks.co.uk/motorc...andlebar-riser

You would still need to make a bracket up for the clocks.

For the money you paid I understand why you expect them to work. Hopefully you will get a positive response from the sellers. Good luck.
Johann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 05:39 PM   #5
Poacher Bob
Persona non grata
 
Poacher Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: White Mts. NH
Oddometer: 2,312
I'm sending those pics to my cousin in China, and he'll whip up some of those in no time. Fuck copy rights...
Poacher Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 05:40 PM   #6
davebig
Another Angry Hun !
 
davebig's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Oddometer: 3,519
I'm not that surprised the aftermarket business has allot of that, if you send it back with the riser could they make it fit ?
__________________
Patience: A minor form of despair disguised as a virture.
Ambrose Bierce
davebig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 06:22 PM   #7
Prmurat OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Prmurat's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 950
Quote:
Originally Posted by davebig View Post
I'm not that surprised the aftermarket business has allot of that, if you send it back with the riser could they make it fit ?
I will wait for an answer till mid next week before going drastic!!!
Prmurat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 06:28 PM   #8
FR700
Heckler™©®
 
FR700's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Oddometer: 7,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prmurat View Post
if only I knew how to take the bolts off to change them!


It's a bloody stud for goodness sake. They unscrew.

Double nut the bottom ( I'ma guess you don't own a stud remover ) and have at it.
__________________
I'm diagonally parked in a parallel universe.
FR700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 07:13 PM   #9
bluestar
misfit
 
bluestar's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2014
Location: N.E. Louisiana
Oddometer: 1,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by FR700 View Post
It's a bloody stud for goodness sake. They unscrew.
Maybe, maybe not. On some Yamaha risers, that is not a removable stud. It's cast into the riser.
__________________
2008 Yamaha Road Star
2008 Kawasaki KLR 650
2014 Triumph Tiger 800 XC
Two lane blacktop isn't a highway, it's an attitude.
bluestar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 07:33 PM   #10
FR700
Heckler™©®
 
FR700's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Oddometer: 7,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluestar View Post
Maybe, maybe not. On some Yamaha risers, that is not a removable stud. It's cast into the riser.

That may well be the case in some instances.

google pic' of v-max risers from the bottom.


__________________
I'm diagonally parked in a parallel universe.
FR700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 05:49 AM   #11
Wolfgang55
Beastly Adventurer
 
Wolfgang55's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Next to Rio Bravo
Oddometer: 3,447
Is it just the photo of the studs or do they appear to flare outward a bit ?

Maybe I'm sitting to close to the screen
Wolfgang55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 10:04 AM   #12
Prmurat OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Prmurat's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 950
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluestar View Post
Maybe, maybe not. On some Yamaha risers, that is not a removable stud. It's cast into the riser.

On my they are cast into the risers: there is even a leak of alloy all around one...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Prmurat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 09:37 AM   #13
jaydmc
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Oddometer: 1,038
We tried to use a set of tree's once from Custom Triple tree's. They were for a GL1100, Most tree's are machined in 3D, Custom tree's made theirs 2D out of plate with bolt on parts to make them into 3D. The bolt on parts did not use lock washers or even Locktite. It took 6 extra hours to install the tree's as we kept having to take them off and over to our milling machine to fix problems with them. In the end I could have build tree's from scratch in not much more time. I complained, the agreed to give me a partial refund for which they took about 6 months to do so giving me tiny payments on it. Did not make me feel like the company was on sound financial grounds nor that they under stood basic engineering. Further they told me that they are not using CNC equipment rather some kind of tracer, CNC is so relatively cheap and easy to use it makes me wonder why they would not use it for triple tree's.
Jay G
DMC sidecars
www.dmcsidecars.com
866-638-1793
jaydmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 07:22 PM   #14
norton(kel)
vintage
 
norton(kel)'s Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: berthoud,colo.
Oddometer: 1,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydmc View Post
We tried to use a set of tree's once from Custom Triple tree's. They were for a GL1100, Most tree's are machined in 3D, Custom tree's made theirs 2D out of plate with bolt on parts to make them into 3D. The bolt on parts did not use lock washers or even Locktite. It took 6 extra hours to install the tree's as we kept having to take them off and over to our milling machine to fix problems with them. In the end I could have build tree's from scratch in not much more time. I complained, the agreed to give me a partial refund for which they took about 6 months to do so giving me tiny payments on it. Did not make me feel like the company was on sound financial grounds nor that they under stood basic engineering. Further they told me that they are not using CNC equipment rather some kind of tracer, CNC is so relatively cheap and easy to use it makes me wonder why they would not use it for triple tree's.
Jay G
DMC sidecars
www.dmcsidecars.com
866-638-1793
Kind of like trying to install parts made by DMC eh?
norton(kel) is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 07:43 PM   #15
davebig
Another Angry Hun !
 
davebig's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Oddometer: 3,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by norton(kel) View Post
Kind of like trying to install parts made by DMC eh?
They don't like it when I do that sort of thing Jim ! Apparently there's a warning someplace says no Satire,Irony or Skepticism
__________________
Patience: A minor form of despair disguised as a virture.
Ambrose Bierce
davebig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015