ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-06-2010, 10:41 PM   #5671
GreyDawggg
Adventure seeker
 
GreyDawggg's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Oddometer: 464
Just read that thread thanks tseta.. Still don't understand half of it. I have a bst without the tps.. Am I going to screw my bike up or notice any dramatic differences??
GreyDawggg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 02:11 AM   #5672
Low594
Adventuring Creep
 
Low594's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Oddometer: 1,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreyDawggg
Could someone tell me what this connection on the carb is:



My bike has the SAS removed but this is a photo I got off an inmates bst.. The bst I got hasn't got the black connection and plug on the carby???

cheers
That is the Throttle Position Sensor, yes it will run without it as many do, but it gives the ignition system a batch of info to help choose a timing position for the spark. Not sure if it is used for detuning the bike for smog. I ended up putting an '05 carb on my '99 specifically for the TPS, that way my aftermarket computer has better info to run it on!
Low594 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 06:55 AM   #5673
GreyDawggg
Adventure seeker
 
GreyDawggg's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Oddometer: 464
Cheers for the heads up Low!! My bike never had the tpc since I bought it so the new carby will have to go without it.. Hopefully my float is set right(tried to get it parallel) time will tell.. Other than having to wait a few more weeks for a choke/cold start piston because the carby that was "in perfect working condition) had it missing out the side. Should get the carby in and ride the bike this weekend finally.. Guess I shouldn't count my chickens before they hatch.
GreyDawggg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 03:57 AM   #5674
Aussie Steve
Beastly Adventurer
 
Aussie Steve's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Maitland
Oddometer: 1,389
Fork guards again.

Have just put the long travel guts in my WP48 forks, the 85sx fork guards are now too short.

Anyone got any leads on a longer set of fork guards? I saw a post saying husqvarna ones were the go but cant find any more info?????
Aussie Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 07:56 AM   #5675
veetwo _tls
RENOVATIO:
 
veetwo _tls's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: FNQLD innisfail/SOUTH OZ murray bridge
Oddometer: 1,827
Question Fcr Cable Routing ?

need a little help please.

i've installed my FCR carby on the 640ADV.
how did you guys that have the FCR route your cables. from the bars to the carb ?

looks like i'll have to shift my wiring to the left side of the bike also as it's very close to the cable attachment on the carb.
__________________
Sent from my HTC ONE X - Using Rooted S-OFF , Open Home 6 & Buuf icon pack
http://forum.xda-developers.com/ BUILD YOUR OWN PHONE
CHEERS: brett
MY07 950 SER
veetwo _tls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 08:29 AM   #5676
LukasM
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: On a RTW ride - currently Central Asia
Oddometer: 5,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by veetwo _tls
need a little help please.

i've installed my FCR carby on the 640ADV.
how did you guys that have the FCR route your cables. from the bars to the carb ?

looks like i'll have to shift my wiring to the left side of the bike also as it's very close to the cable attachment on the carb.
I can't answer your question but I hope you don't mind if I tag along since it's on topic: What does it take to install a FCR from an EXC on a LC4? Do you just need different carb boots or is some special adapter required?

Cheers,
Lukas
__________________
Currently going RTW on a KTM 690 Rally, trip blog: https://www.facebook.com/AroundTheWorldWithLukasM

Tracker: https://share.delorme.com/LukasMatzinger
LukasM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 08:47 AM   #5677
Tseta
Lost
 
Tseta's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Finland
Oddometer: 669
I remember Creeper doing a thread about the FCR conversion. With a little searching, I found this. Sadly, it seems that the pictures are gone.

-T
Tseta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:12 AM   #5678
veetwo _tls
RENOVATIO:
 
veetwo _tls's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: FNQLD innisfail/SOUTH OZ murray bridge
Oddometer: 1,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tseta
I remember Creeper doing a thread about the FCR conversion. With a little searching, I found this. Sadly, it seems that the pictures are gone.

-T
thanks for that answered my Q's & thoughts
__________________
Sent from my HTC ONE X - Using Rooted S-OFF , Open Home 6 & Buuf icon pack
http://forum.xda-developers.com/ BUILD YOUR OWN PHONE
CHEERS: brett
MY07 950 SER
veetwo _tls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:27 AM   #5679
LukasM
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: On a RTW ride - currently Central Asia
Oddometer: 5,381
Great link indeed, thanks Tseta!
__________________
Currently going RTW on a KTM 690 Rally, trip blog: https://www.facebook.com/AroundTheWorldWithLukasM

Tracker: https://share.delorme.com/LukasMatzinger
LukasM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 11:08 AM   #5680
legion
Wait Til Friday
 
legion's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Alaska
Oddometer: 12,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tseta
I remember Creeper doing a thread about the FCR conversion. With a little searching, I found this. Sadly, it seems that the pictures are gone.

-T
Sadly, it appears Creep is, too. Looks like he bailed a couple months ago. Left a msg on his profile that says 'gone, gone, gone...'
legion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 11:24 AM   #5681
B-Rod
RubberNecker
 
B-Rod's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Alberta
Oddometer: 1,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by LukasM
I can't answer your question but I hope you don't mind if I tag along since it's on topic: What does it take to install a FCR from an EXC on a LC4? Do you just need different carb boots or is some special adapter required?

Cheers,
Lukas
It seems that maybe someone should step up and write it again. It would be useful information to those that may be considering doing it. If it isn't too much trouble, I'd be curious to install an FCR.
__________________
Save $5 on Smugmug by using this code. LW9ZIPzdRGzaI
B-Rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 11:56 AM   #5682
LukasM
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: On a RTW ride - currently Central Asia
Oddometer: 5,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Rod
It seems that maybe someone should step up and write it again. It would be useful information to those that may be considering doing it. If it isn't too much trouble, I'd be curious to install an FCR.
Are you volunteering?

Sounds like the SXC cables and air boots are important for a good fit, and maybe having the later header to clear the AP pump - though I'm not sure if that's only true for the newest 07/08+ carbs (which are easily recognized because they have a non-removable intake bell).
__________________
Currently going RTW on a KTM 690 Rally, trip blog: https://www.facebook.com/AroundTheWorldWithLukasM

Tracker: https://share.delorme.com/LukasMatzinger
LukasM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 12:14 PM   #5683
B-Rod
RubberNecker
 
B-Rod's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Alberta
Oddometer: 1,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by LukasM
Are you volunteering?
Pffft! Me? Not at this time. I've saving my pennies for a second orange bike. We'll see how that goes, but who knows. I depends how long the winter is Why don't you do it? You probably have ten FCR's just kickin' around in your spare parts. . . . or you could send me one. That would motivate me.
__________________
Save $5 on Smugmug by using this code. LW9ZIPzdRGzaI
B-Rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 12:43 PM   #5684
wallache
Gnarly Adventurer
 
wallache's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: PHX, AZ
Oddometer: 378
I put a FCR39 from an '08 450 EXC on my '02 640a. Stock cables wouldn't fit, so used SXC cables. Stock intake boots fit better than the SXC ones I ordered. The exhaust header had to changed out to '03+ to clear the AP. Pretty easy, but the complete header was pricy.
wallache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 04:34 PM   #5685
mcgovski
Adventurer
 
mcgovski's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: durango, co
Oddometer: 82
clutch cover

I am looking for a clutch cover for a 2002 640 adventure if anyone has one they want to get rid of........

thanks
mcgovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014