ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2011, 07:34 PM   #6061
skibum69
slave to gravity
 
skibum69's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: New Melbourne, Newfoundland
Oddometer: 5,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by VxZeroKnots View Post
It will probably vibrate more than the DR, it will be faster and more nimble, and it will take more patience to work on. That being said the joy of riding it overcomes the effort of working on it.

A lot of people get hung up on 640 maintenance but none of it is anything patience, time, and the correct tools can't fix. If you are ever having a rough time with something, stop, step back and think about what you are doing wrong.

The bike has no problems a little patience and thought can't solve.
and there's a solid crew of compatriots here to help you out!
__________________
Beerthief
skibumsoirée2009 skibumsoiré2010
Riff Raff 2015, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009
RIP ITsteve, ride in peace my friend
save $5 on a new smugmug account, use this coupon7frrnSRiTt9Fk
skibum69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 12:47 AM   #6062
Low594
Adventuring Creep
 
Low594's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Oddometer: 1,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by erdsh View Post
Hello,
I have some problems with the 2001 ADV computer, the IMO, again.
now, as I start driving it shows speeds which are rediculesly wrong. My avarege speed now is around 450 to 520 kph...
every time I turn on the bike, the odometer shows something elese. the bike was around 48K km and then it went up to around 80K and then 0 (zero) and again around 100K.
the clock shows different time every time I turn on the bike.
where should I start?
I took the computer appart once and fixed a loose connector, and it worked fine for a year or so. But now it looks something different.
help anyone.
Thanks.
I've had that as well. I have gone in excess of 500 mph, if you trust the imo! Mine goes away if I pull the battery cable overnight! Im planning for a trailtech vapor in the future!
Low594 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 01:11 PM   #6063
erdsh
KTM 640 Adventure
 
erdsh's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: GY
Oddometer: 104
IMO problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Low594 View Post
I've had that as well. I have gone in excess of 500 mph, if you trust the imo! Mine goes away if I pull the battery cable overnight! Im planning for a trailtech vapor in the future!
At the moment the IMO is one big joke.
do you mean to reset the machine?
I tested the sensor and it is looking good.
If I take the battery cable away, it start running on the backup battery, will it reset? maybe I should relpace the inner battery.
__________________
TT600S
XTZ660Tenere
Cagiva Elefant 750
TT600R
KTM300EXC
CR125
YZ125
and many other...
erdsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 09:25 AM   #6064
erdsh
KTM 640 Adventure
 
erdsh's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: GY
Oddometer: 104
Ktm imo

Quote:
Originally Posted by erdsh View Post
At the moment the IMO is one big joke.
do you mean to reset the machine?
I tested the sensor and it is looking good.
If I take the battery cable away, it start running on the backup battery, will it reset? maybe I should relpace the inner battery.
I've had enough with the KTM IMO.
I was thinking of getting Trail Tech Vapor.
Any experience?
__________________
TT600S
XTZ660Tenere
Cagiva Elefant 750
TT600R
KTM300EXC
CR125
YZ125
and many other...
erdsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 01:23 PM   #6065
Low594
Adventuring Creep
 
Low594's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Oddometer: 1,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by erdsh View Post
At the moment the IMO is one big joke.
do you mean to reset the machine?
I tested the sensor and it is looking good.
If I take the battery cable away, it start running on the backup battery, will it reset? maybe I should relpace the inner battery.
On mine, I had to open it up and resolder a wire. Then it worked normally for a while, I checked the battery and it was within 10% of the listed voltage. Every once in a while it freaks out, so I pull the battery cable overnight and it usually goes back to normal. I mean to replace it with a TT Vapor, but other things have higher priority.
Low594 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 02:11 AM   #6066
erdsh
KTM 640 Adventure
 
erdsh's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: GY
Oddometer: 104
Adventure IMO

Quote:
Originally Posted by Low594 View Post
On mine, I had to open it up and resolder a wire. Then it worked normally for a while, I checked the battery and it was within 10% of the listed voltage. Every once in a while it freaks out, so I pull the battery cable overnight and it usually goes back to normal. I mean to replace it with a TT Vapor, but other things have higher priority.
Thanks for the tip.
I'll open the IMO and check the wiring as well as the battery.

I have another problem, the fuel pump stoped working.
I've found it when I got stuck in the midle of the night when the engine stalled. There were at least 5 liters of fuel and the engine could not start. only after going, by foot, to the near gas station and refueld from a bottle, the engine started.
The last time a had this problem, I took the fuel pump appart and found out that the screws holding the fuel pump together were not tighten enought and after reassembling the fuel pump it worked fine.
Can any of you tell me where I can purchase a rebuild kit for this pump?
Thank you.
__________________
TT600S
XTZ660Tenere
Cagiva Elefant 750
TT600R
KTM300EXC
CR125
YZ125
and many other...
erdsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 02:39 AM   #6067
veetwo _tls
RENOVATIO:
 
veetwo _tls's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: FNQLD innisfail/SOUTH OZ murray bridge
Oddometer: 1,831
Quote:
Originally Posted by erdsh View Post
Can any of you tell me where I can purchase a rebuild kit for this pump?
Thank you.

ebay have plenty
pm sent
__________________
Sent from my HTC ONE X - Using Rooted S-OFF , Open Home 6 & Buuf icon pack
http://forum.xda-developers.com/ BUILD YOUR OWN PHONE
CHEERS: brett
MY07 950 SER
veetwo _tls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 07:56 AM   #6068
DobroDog
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Morgan Hill CA
Oddometer: 47
Question Risers and cables

Would like to add some 2" risers to make standing more comfortable. A search of the forum indicated I may need to purchase longer cables. Anyone had success rerouting the cables?

Can anyone suggest a source for longer cables?

Thanks
Tim
DobroDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 08:03 AM   #6069
Low594
Adventuring Creep
 
Low594's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Oddometer: 1,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by DobroDog View Post
Would like to add some 2" risers to make standing more comfortable. A search of the forum indicated I may need to purchase longer cables. Anyone had success rerouting the cables?

Thanks
Tim
I've been meaning to look into this as well. My enricher cable is already short with taller bars and the throttle and decomp are close. I'm planning on changing my scotts mount to a Stenhouse submount, soon.

Btw, you should see about riding up to SJ/Campbell area on Thurs for the Bay Area Meet Up!
Low594 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 09:19 AM   #6070
overlandr
Dystopist
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney
Oddometer: 5,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Low594 View Post
I've been meaning to look into this as well. My enricher cable is already short with taller bars and the throttle and decomp are close. I'm planning on changing my scotts mount to a Stenhouse submount, soon.

Btw, you should see about riding up to SJ/Campbell area on Thurs for the Bay Area Meet Up!
I recall stenhouse's site indicated something like 30mm rise being the upper limit on all std cables.
overlandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 05:09 PM   #6071
dnrobertson
Big Bike, Slow Rider
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Frankston, Australia
Oddometer: 781
I have the Stenhouse under bar mount and the Rox risers.

Buy the decomp cable from an earlier 640 (I think the number is: 58302094200 (2001)).

Choke cable can be rerouted to behind the handle bar mounts.

Spin the throttle 180 degrees so the cables exit from the bottom.

Take the tank off and reroute the cables to optimise the positions of them.

Done over 5000kms with this configuration and no problems.

David.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DobroDog View Post
Would like to add some 2" risers to make standing more comfortable. A search of the forum indicated I may need to purchase longer cables. Anyone had success rerouting the cables?

Can anyone suggest a source for longer cables?

Thanks
Tim
__________________
David

2005 KTM 640A
2008 Wee-Strom
dnrobertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 06:19 PM   #6072
G-Funk
That ... Umm ..... "Dude"
 
G-Funk's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Pacific Northwest
Oddometer: 5,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnrobertson View Post
I have the Stenhouse under bar mount and the Rox risers.

Buy the decomp cable from an earlier 640 (I think the number is: 58302094200 (2001)).

Choke cable can be rerouted to behind the handle bar mounts.

Spin the throttle 180 degrees so the cables exit from the bottom.

Take the tank off and reroute the cables to optimise the positions of them.

Done over 5000kms with this configuration and no problems.

David.
Thanks for that info! Even though you were replying to another poster, I'm in the process of doing the same thing - adding 2" Rox Risers, plus a bunch of other stuff ....

So thanks again ......

G.
__________________
03 Caponord

"The Funness out-weighs the Dumbness ....." - Mr. Jetmoto
G-Funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 06:56 PM   #6073
Low594
Adventuring Creep
 
Low594's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Oddometer: 1,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnrobertson View Post
I have the Stenhouse under bar mount and the Rox risers.

Buy the decomp cable from an earlier 640 (I think the number is: 58302094200 (2001)).

Choke cable can be rerouted to behind the handle bar mounts.

Spin the throttle 180 degrees so the cables exit from the bottom.

Take the tank off and reroute the cables to optimise the positions of them.

Done over 5000kms with this configuration and no problems.

David.
Good tips, but unfortunately they wont work for me as they have already been done. Also on the earlier bikes the throttle housing position is not adjustable as the switch housing and throttle house are 1 unit (throttle cables exit from underside from the factory)
Low594 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 07:36 PM   #6074
DobroDog
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Morgan Hill CA
Oddometer: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Low594 View Post
I've been meaning to look into this as well. My enricher cable is already short with taller bars and the throttle and decomp are close. I'm planning on changing my scotts mount to a Stenhouse submount, soon.

Btw, you should see about riding up to SJ/Campbell area on Thurs for the Bay Area Meet Up!
Thanks for the invite Low, tell me more!!
DobroDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 07:41 PM   #6075
DobroDog
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Morgan Hill CA
Oddometer: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnrobertson View Post
I have the Stenhouse under bar mount and the Rox risers.

Buy the decomp cable from an earlier 640 (I think the number is: 58302094200 (2001)).

Choke cable can be rerouted to behind the handle bar mounts.

Spin the throttle 180 degrees so the cables exit from the bottom.

Take the tank off and reroute the cables to optimise the positions of them.

Done over 5000kms with this configuration and no problems.

David.
Thanks David, my 1999 is already set up with the throttle cables down low and the Decomp cable is the tightest of all of them. Will pull the tank this weekend and see what can be done.
DobroDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014