ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2012, 02:56 PM   #7471
skibum69
slave to gravity
 
skibum69's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: New Melbourne, Newfoundland
Oddometer: 5,153
dunno, just putting a 660 cam into mine, I think it just slides in. Not bothering with any other 660 bits, there are already too many more parts to replace
__________________
Beerthief
skibumsoirée2009 skibumsoiré2010
Riff Raff 2015, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009
RIP ITsteve, ride in peace my friend
save $5 on a new smugmug account, use this coupon7frrnSRiTt9Fk
skibum69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 05:37 PM   #7472
jon6.0
Studly Adventurer
 
jon6.0's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Phoenix
Oddometer: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by skibum69 View Post
dunno, just putting a 660 cam into mine, I think it just slides in. Not bothering with any other 660 bits, there are already too many more parts to replace
How much difference does that cam make?
__________________
2013 KTM 690 Duke w/ performance cam, airbox, and Akrapovic full system. 300lbs and 74.5rwhp

2011 KTM 250XC with lots of protection stuff for when I bounce it down a hill.
jon6.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 06:08 PM   #7473
skibum69
slave to gravity
 
skibum69's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: New Melbourne, Newfoundland
Oddometer: 5,153
not sure, if I recall it was wrk2surf who said he'd been running one for awhile and that it made a decent difference in top end but not so much in low and mid. Not sure exactly how he was comparing to stock but I'll find out zoo. Hoping to start reassembly of the whole machine tomorrow. Don't hold your breath it's my first time in this deep
__________________
Beerthief
skibumsoirée2009 skibumsoiré2010
Riff Raff 2015, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009
RIP ITsteve, ride in peace my friend
save $5 on a new smugmug account, use this coupon7frrnSRiTt9Fk
skibum69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 06:11 PM   #7474
enduro0125
Sticks and Stones™..
 
enduro0125's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Orchard Park,NY
Oddometer: 13,228
__________________
AMA 487807A
enduro0125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 04:09 AM   #7475
skibum69
slave to gravity
 
skibum69's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: New Melbourne, Newfoundland
Oddometer: 5,153
I see you peeking out there....I'll try to take a photo or two of what I'm in for
__________________
Beerthief
skibumsoirée2009 skibumsoiré2010
Riff Raff 2015, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009
RIP ITsteve, ride in peace my friend
save $5 on a new smugmug account, use this coupon7frrnSRiTt9Fk
skibum69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 09:02 AM   #7476
Baja Dad
Beastly Adventurer
 
Baja Dad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Norco California
Oddometer: 1,856
This weekend is prep time
Waiting for my rally cam to arrive in time to install it
And off the Baja with the 640's for a little Pre-run and action
New LED lights installed
New tires installed
New brake pads install
Fresh oil change
New filters all around
Looking forward to putting in 800 miles!!
I'll post some pics while were down in Baja
__________________
2014 support: GPR,IMS Aurora Rally Kriega, Raiden LS2,100Goggles,SIDI,Seat Concepts, Rally Raid Products UK,Precision Concepts, MX1West,Dunlop
Baja Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 06:36 PM   #7477
gunnerbuck
Island Hopper
 
gunnerbuck's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: N.V.I, B.C.
Oddometer: 3,895
Some of the different camshaft profiles also may require a different CDI to get the most out of it... I did a bit of research on this as I purchased a complete 640 Supermoto top end and was wondering if that cam profile would work with my 03 CDI... The 03 has a one year only CDI as it was the first HI Flo spec engine and also had a one year only CDI... On the 05 to 07 Adventures the Cam profile was changed and they also changed the CDI to map the spark for that cam..

In my research I found that there was only one Cam listed for the 03 as to where the 05 and up have a 660 SMC cam listed in addition to the stock OEM unit... The 05 and up also have 4 different CDIs listed...

The actual 660 rally has 1 specific cam profile to work with 1 specific CDI...

Now I wonder how much change in the spark map there is between the different model CDIs? I also wonder if running a different cam profile than what your CDI is mapped for can have consequences? Anyone actually have there engine blow up shortly after changing cam profiles without changing CDI?
gunnerbuck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 07:08 PM   #7478
B-Rod
RubberNecker
 
B-Rod's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Alberta
Oddometer: 1,894
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnerbuck View Post
Now I wonder how much change in the spark map there is between the different model CDIs? I also wonder if running a different cam profile than what your CDI is mapped for can have consequences? Anyone actually have there engine blow up shortly after changing cam profiles without changing CDI?
Beta rode his 640 all the way around the world with a 660 cam in it. I don't recall him saying he changed the cdi.
__________________
Save $5 on Smugmug by using this code. LW9ZIPzdRGzaI
B-Rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 07:36 PM   #7479
gunnerbuck
Island Hopper
 
gunnerbuck's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: N.V.I, B.C.
Oddometer: 3,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Rod View Post
Beta rode his 640 all the way around the world with a 660 cam in it. I don't recall him saying he changed the cdi.
I wonder if that was the 660 Rally Cam or a 660 SMC Cam?

I'm curious as to whether I should try this 640 SM cam on a spare engine project I am about to start... It seems to me that the SM cam would produce a less desirable power characteristic than the Adventure cam as it would likely take away from the bottom end to add to the top... I have an FCR 37 to try on this project as well which should help with the bottom end grunt while at the same time not hurting fuel economy ... I notice on the 660 Rally they run an FCR 39 and not the 41 like one would expect on a full blown race bike...
gunnerbuck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 07:49 PM   #7480
jon6.0
Studly Adventurer
 
jon6.0's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Phoenix
Oddometer: 546
The smaller carb, I would think, would generate a better hit for low to mid rpms. I know I shift mine about 7k. I don't see the need to spin it higher.
__________________
2013 KTM 690 Duke w/ performance cam, airbox, and Akrapovic full system. 300lbs and 74.5rwhp

2011 KTM 250XC with lots of protection stuff for when I bounce it down a hill.
jon6.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 08:10 PM   #7481
johnno950
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Oddometer: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnerbuck View Post
I wonder if that was the 660 Rally Cam or a 660 SMC Cam?

I'm curious as to whether I should try this 640 SM cam on a spare engine project I am about to start... It seems to me that the SM cam would produce a less desirable power characteristic than the Adventure cam as it would likely take away from the bottom end to add to the top... I have an FCR 37 to try on this project as well which should help with the bottom end grunt while at the same time not hurting fuel economy ... I notice on the 660 Rally they run an FCR 39 and not the 41 like one would expect on a full blown race bike...
Fairly torquey engine the 660s,39mm carb,free flowing exhaust,airbox.Some of the factory bikes got larger cc (105mmx80mm,or 82mm stroke)it would be interesting to see what size carb is run on these bikes.
johnno950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 06:25 AM   #7482
skibum69
slave to gravity
 
skibum69's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: New Melbourne, Newfoundland
Oddometer: 5,153
some of this conversation is getting a little over my head so I'll just ask the basic moron question: does anyone see a problem with just swapping to the 660 cam? Does anyone think I should investigate things like carbs, CDI's et any further as I get the motor back together?

Actually my mechanic did most of the rebuild already thinking I need the bike for CroMag, at least until he noticed I needed a few more starter clutch pieces, sigh. We'll see if they show up before I'm back on a plane on Thursday?
__________________
Beerthief
skibumsoirée2009 skibumsoiré2010
Riff Raff 2015, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009
RIP ITsteve, ride in peace my friend
save $5 on a new smugmug account, use this coupon7frrnSRiTt9Fk
skibum69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 02:51 AM   #7483
Reckless Relic
Adventurer
 
Reckless Relic's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Oddometer: 39
Can the Cam

Quote:
Originally Posted by skibum69 View Post
some of this conversation is getting a little over my head so I'll just ask the basic moron question: does anyone see a problem with just swapping to the 660 cam? Does anyone think I should investigate things like carbs, CDI's et any further as I get the motor back together?

Actually my mechanic did most of the rebuild already thinking I need the bike for CroMag, at least until he noticed I needed a few more starter clutch pieces, sigh. We'll see if they show up before I'm back on a plane on Thursday?
Hi, my experience has been that while the 660 cam may give a little more at the top end it has little or now benefit at low or mid range.
My bike has the 102mm bore but hasn't had the long stroke fitted so it comes up as a 640 it is fitted with the 39mm Keihen and the 660 rally cam all on standard CDI mapping it was set like that by its previous for racing owner and ran in that state until its rebuild.
Unfortunately the bike and i went for a swim which finally ended up in a engine rebuild a part of which was to finely fix a problem with the auto decomp, when i priced the a replacement 660 cam I fell off my chair so I went the standard option the result being very little difference unless your at WOT settings where it does drop off earlier.
Unless your racing which I'm not i don't see any advantage in changing the cam the 39mm carb and the removal of all that anti pollution crap that's a different story.
__________________
Cheers
RR
Reckless Relic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 03:33 AM   #7484
Low594
Adventuring Creep
 
Low594's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Oddometer: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by skibum69 View Post
some of this conversation is getting a little over my head so I'll just ask the basic moron question: does anyone see a problem with just swapping to the 660 cam? Does anyone think I should investigate things like carbs, CDI's et any further as I get the motor back together?

Actually my mechanic did most of the rebuild already thinking I need the bike for CroMag, at least until he noticed I needed a few more starter clutch pieces, sigh. We'll see if they show up before I'm back on a plane on Thursday?
Another option all together. You could pull the cdi and coil and get a replacement for them. I did this, but ended up going back to cdi, cause I lacked the time and funds to do the dyno runs to get the ignition maps set. I went thru MotoLab with an Ignatech unit. The things I don't like about it is my factory tach doesn't work, but its been on the fritz and you loose the standalone ignition/alt ability. But you gain the ability to upload different premade maps in less than a minute with a laptop! When I go back to running it, I plan to have 3 maps, standard all around, super-economy for multiday travel and balls to the wall offroad power!
Low594 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 04:24 AM   #7485
skibum69
slave to gravity
 
skibum69's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: New Melbourne, Newfoundland
Oddometer: 5,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Low594 View Post
Another option all together. You could pull the cdi and coil and get a replacement for them. I did this, but ended up going back to cdi, cause I lacked the time and funds to do the dyno runs to get the ignition maps set. I went thru MotoLab with an Ignatech unit. The things I don't like about it is my factory tach doesn't work, but its been on the fritz and you loose the standalone ignition/alt ability. But you gain the ability to upload different premade maps in less than a minute with a laptop! When I go back to running it, I plan to have 3 maps, standard all around, super-economy for multiday travel and balls to the wall offroad power!
when I have a little more time I'll probably get into this conversation with you via PM. cheers
__________________
Beerthief
skibumsoirée2009 skibumsoiré2010
Riff Raff 2015, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009
RIP ITsteve, ride in peace my friend
save $5 on a new smugmug account, use this coupon7frrnSRiTt9Fk
skibum69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014