ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-22-2008, 08:44 PM   #1
TexasMule OP
Float away ya fairy...
 
TexasMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: North of BIG D
Oddometer: 3,856
BMW Zumo "can't unlock maps" error

Mulewife has been having fits with her BMW Zumo that came with her K12GT.

She keeps getting an error message "can't unlock maps" on her Zumo.

We're getting ready to go to Canada, and she's trying to upload some routes and the GPS keeps coming back with the above error message.

All the maps are already downloaded, so it's frustrating when she gets this message.

Anybody got any ideas as to this error message?

I think I'll keep my 276C for a while longer.
__________________
TMule
You can buy everything, but more time...
______________________________________________
-to my mind alloy triumph tanks rank near titties in their inherent attractiveness -Mutt
TexasMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 08:53 PM   #2
JR356
Beastly Adventurer
 
JR356's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Way out West
Oddometer: 3,563
Have heard from other posts here,that in this situation,you need to reload the maps.

JR356
JR356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 09:07 PM   #3
TexasMule OP
Float away ya fairy...
 
TexasMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: North of BIG D
Oddometer: 3,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by JR356
Have heard from other posts here,that in this situation,you need to reload the maps.

JR356
She just re-loaded the maps, got the same error message.

Will try re-loading again.
__________________
TMule
You can buy everything, but more time...
______________________________________________
-to my mind alloy triumph tanks rank near titties in their inherent attractiveness -Mutt
TexasMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 12:38 AM   #4
pckopp
Aged Adventurer
 
pckopp's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasMule
Will try re-loading again.
Do you have the same version of City Nav on your PC as your Zumo? Maybe you upgraded one and not the other? Just a quess.

That's an odd message since the pre-loaded maps in the Zumo are already unlocked.
__________________
Phil in Seattle, WA
pckopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 03:36 AM   #5
OleGrumpy
TFM/ODS Proficient
 
OleGrumpy's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Mountains of Virginia
Oddometer: 11,386
Same Issue with Zumo 450

I just bought a new zumo 450 and right from the box I got "can't unlock maps." I found that I can upload routes but not maps.

I think I'll drop back to my old 2610!
__________________
Come Revolution, proletarians (how you say, "Joe Sixpack?") not having anything to worry.
Ah, but Ruling Elite, is being different question, altogether.
OleGrumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 06:50 AM   #6
pckopp
Aged Adventurer
 
pckopp's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by OleGrumpy
I just bought a new zumo 450 and right from the box I got "can't unlock maps." I found that I can upload routes but not maps.
What maps are you trying to upload? The Zumo models all come with City Nav pre-loaded. You don't need to upload maps.

Confused.
__________________
Phil in Seattle, WA
pckopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 11:42 AM   #7
xlcr
Stop being a dick, dick.
 
xlcr's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SoCal
Oddometer: 4,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasMule
Mulewife has been having fits with her BMW Zumo that came with her K12GT.

She keeps getting an error message "can't unlock maps" on her Zumo.

We're getting ready to go to Canada, and she's trying to upload some routes and the GPS keeps coming back with the above error message.

All the maps are already downloaded, so it's frustrating when she gets this message.

Anybody got any ideas as to this error message?

I think I'll keep my 276C for a while longer.
Is she saving the routes to an SD card and then inserting the card in the Zumo? If your PC writes map segments to an SD card and those segments are unlocked for only your 276, the Zumo will deny access to those segments when it reads the card. If you write directly to the Zumo, MS should warn you that the segments will be unuseable and ask for confirmation before it sends the maps.

You should be able to deselect maps when you "Send to GPS".
xlcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 12:50 PM   #8
TexasMule OP
Float away ya fairy...
 
TexasMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: North of BIG D
Oddometer: 3,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by xlcr
Is she saving the routes to an SD card and then inserting the card in the Zumo? If your PC writes map segments to an SD card and those segments are unlocked for only your 276, the Zumo will deny access to those segments when it reads the card. If you write directly to the Zumo, MS should warn you that the segments will be unuseable and ask for confirmation before it sends the maps.

You should be able to deselect maps when you "Send to GPS".
I think she was saving the routes to the SD card. I removed the maps from the SD card, and she just sent the routes and waypoints, but she still gets the same message.

She's going to call Garmin and get to the bottom of this (he says hopefully).
__________________
TMule
You can buy everything, but more time...
______________________________________________
-to my mind alloy triumph tanks rank near titties in their inherent attractiveness -Mutt
TexasMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 12:59 PM   #9
walrond
Earth Wanderer
 
walrond's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Leander, TX - R1150GS
Oddometer: 1,063
Did your Zumo come with a City Select Nav DVD? If so did you install that DVD on your computer? I suspect that the maps on your PC are not associated with your Zumo and you will be unable to use information derived from the mapsets that are on your PC until you do.
__________________
Save $5 when you open a SmugMug account. Use the following coupon: 7ztkgApOHBurY
walrond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 02:56 PM   #10
xlcr
Stop being a dick, dick.
 
xlcr's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SoCal
Oddometer: 4,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasMule
I think she was saving the routes to the SD card. I removed the maps from the SD card, and she just sent the routes and waypoints, but she still gets the same message.

She's going to call Garmin and get to the bottom of this (he says hopefully).

Does she get the message when there's no SD card in the Zumo? There may be a wayward map segment on the internal flash drive.
xlcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 03:33 AM   #11
BurnieM
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
Connect your zumo to your pc

Go to the garmin folder

Delete gmapsupp.img only!

Disconnect and let the zumo restart
.
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 08:04 AM   #12
TexasMule OP
Float away ya fairy...
 
TexasMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: North of BIG D
Oddometer: 3,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnieM
Connect your zumo to your pc

Go to the garmin folder

Delete gmapsupp.img only!

Disconnect and let the zumo restart
.
I deleted that file off her SD card, but still didn't fix the "can't unlock maps" error message.

We'll try it with the Zumo connected to the PC.
__________________
TMule
You can buy everything, but more time...
______________________________________________
-to my mind alloy triumph tanks rank near titties in their inherent attractiveness -Mutt
TexasMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 09:41 AM   #13
TexasMule OP
Float away ya fairy...
 
TexasMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: North of BIG D
Oddometer: 3,856
As MuleWife just e-mailed me...

THAT IS A WINNER!

Fixed the problem.

Thanks.
__________________
TMule
You can buy everything, but more time...
______________________________________________
-to my mind alloy triumph tanks rank near titties in their inherent attractiveness -Mutt
TexasMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 12:57 AM   #14
BurnieM
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
Problem was when you copied some waypoints or routes across to the zumo you inadvertantly had a map segment selected and the map box ticked and you copied over a map that was not unlocked for your zumo.

gmapsupp.img is the map file that MapSource on the PC creates when it copies maps.
The preloaded factory map file has a different name

Cheers,
Burnie M
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 07:51 AM   #15
TexasMule OP
Float away ya fairy...
 
TexasMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: North of BIG D
Oddometer: 3,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnieM
Problem was when you copied some waypoints or routes across to the zumo you inadvertantly had a map segment selected and the map box ticked and you copied over a map that was not unlocked for your zumo.

gmapsupp.img is the map file that MapSource on the PC creates when it copies maps.
The preloaded factory map file has a different name

Cheers,
Burnie M
Excellent explanation mate.

Thanks again.
__________________
TMule
You can buy everything, but more time...
______________________________________________
-to my mind alloy triumph tanks rank near titties in their inherent attractiveness -Mutt
TexasMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014