ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-18-2006, 05:39 PM   #1
space OP
a.k.a. Jake
 
space's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Pasadena, CA
Oddometer: 2,563
Question Autocom hiss?

I'm using an Active 7 Smart system. It has a constant, quiet hiss. I can't hear it when I'm rolling down the highway, but it's still a minor nuisance, especially given that the Autocom gear ain't cheap. Anyone else experience this? My worry is that I may have screwed it up by running loud music through the unit. When I first got it I didn't know how much the music is amplified, so I plugged my iPod in at a normal volume level and momentarily blasted the hell out of the speakers. (It's not the speakers themselves, though -- I hear the hiss both with Autocom's speakers and with earphones.)

You thoughts?
space is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 06:11 PM   #2
space OP
a.k.a. Jake
 
space's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Pasadena, CA
Oddometer: 2,563
Also, here's a pic of the adapter cable I hacked together so I can plug headphones into the Autocom. Yeah, I know Autocom sells a similar adapter, but it's $50! Riiiight. $5 in parts from Radioshack and some leftover phone line, and it works like a charm. (Except for that damn hiss, but I hear that regardless of whether I'm using my adapter.)




space is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 07:06 PM   #3
rick danger
Off the wagon
 
rick danger's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Oneonta, NY
Oddometer: 4,869
Audio cables have shielded wires. The braided ground that goes over the outside. Did you compromise this with your homemade dealy? I did that once with a cable for my home theater sub woofer and got a bad hiss. Had to get the proper shielded cable and all was well. Ok I just noticed you say you get the hiss even without the homemade thing, but it still sounds like a ground problem. Are all the connections clean and dry? No cuts or damage.
__________________
'08Husky TE 610 '07 R12GSA '07 KTM 950sm '92 GOLD WING '77 HUSKY 390 CR '72 Honda xl 250 '71 Honda sl 125 '79 HUSKY390cr '75 Can Am 250 MX-2 '70 Honda CT 70
'05 R12GS.....R.I.P. (rest in pieces)


rick danger screwed with this post 03-18-2006 at 07:15 PM
rick danger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 07:10 PM   #4
dlearl476
Two-bit Throttle Bum
 
dlearl476's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Upstate Manhattan
Oddometer: 22,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by rick danger
Audio cables have shielded wires. The braided ground that goes over the outside. Did you compromise this with your homemade dealy?
Probably. There is possibly a "gain structure" issue as well. Try changing the output/input levels of the separate gear and see if it goes away. Sounds like you've got the playback (iPod) level to low and the Autocom level turned up too loud to compensate. Also, sometimes the reason those "Special" adapters are so much is that they aren't simple wires. Might have some level matching transformers in there that you're now operating without.
__________________
"When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace" - Jimi Hendrix

Politics is the gentle art of getting votes from the poor and campaign funds from the rich by promising to protect each from the other. -- Oscar Ameringer
dlearl476 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 08:39 PM   #5
Bender
I can pass this guy.
 
Bender's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Cypress, Texas.
Oddometer: 31,242
Mine hisses too, brand new, straight outa the box.
__________________
Bender™
Bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 09:08 PM   #6
beezil
what would Jack Bauer do?
 
beezil's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Ohio
Oddometer: 38
I also have a slight hiss. Doesn't bother me. It's a lot worse when I plug my Ipod in without a GLI.

NOTE:

I do use an electric ave. amp, for volume control, and a lineout device for the ipod (not sure of the name?); rather than using the headphone jack.
beezil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 09:18 PM   #7
space OP
a.k.a. Jake
 
space's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Pasadena, CA
Oddometer: 2,563
Thanks for the responses. I hear the hiss even when I've got nothing at all plugged into the autocom (not even a mic) and I'm using their speakers. I didn't take apart any of the Autocom cables, so all the shielding there should be intact. Sounds like I might just have to live with it.
space is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 09:25 PM   #8
monkeyman
Gnarly Adventurer
 
monkeyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, CO
Oddometer: 374
I looked into making an adaptor cable like yours. I was told that the ground for each ear is not shared inside the unit - IIRC I stuck an ohmmeter across them and they were not the same. You've obviously connected the the two grounds (inside your jack) and made them shared, whould could be Bad. Have you damaged your unit? Dunno. Is that the cause of your hiss? Dunno. But, I spent the 50 bucks and no hiss.
monkeyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 09:31 PM   #9
Just_Sean
herewegoagain
 
Just_Sean's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: NOT Brooklyn
Oddometer: 14,504


http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062214
Just_Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 08:36 AM   #10
Threeflys
Eternal newbie
 
Threeflys's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: San Diego,CA
Oddometer: 102
Any audio system must be grounded extremly well, barring that I have a very slight hiss that I hear on my AutoCom when I have nothing plugged into it. I don't really hear it when I'm playing music.
Chris
Threeflys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 10:19 AM   #11
Bender
I can pass this guy.
 
Bender's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Cypress, Texas.
Oddometer: 31,242
I wired mine directly to the aux fusebox which is straight to the battery. My autocom hisses the minute I plug it in, engine running or not. The Ipod easily overcomes the hiss so it isn't really an issue for me. No alternator whine at all.
__________________
Bender™
Bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 02:11 PM   #12
space OP
a.k.a. Jake
 
space's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Pasadena, CA
Oddometer: 2,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bender
I wired mine directly to the aux fusebox which is straight to the battery. My autocom hisses the minute I plug it in, engine running or not. The Ipod easily overcomes the hiss so it isn't really an issue for me. No alternator whine at all.
I'm hearing the hiss when I'm just connected to an auto battery sitting in my room, so no power noise issues. Odd that some people experience hiss and others don't.
space is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 05:09 PM   #13
markgsnw
WTF?
 
markgsnw's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon US
Oddometer: 3,529
how much hiss? I mean, it's a motorcycle intercom, not an MC602
.
.
.





__________________
http://vasaphoto.wordpress.com/

2011 Moto Guzzi Norge 8V GT

markgsnw screwed with this post 03-20-2006 at 07:49 AM
markgsnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 05:31 PM   #14
space OP
a.k.a. Jake
 
space's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Pasadena, CA
Oddometer: 2,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by markgsnw
how much hiss? I mean, it's an motorcycle intercom, not this a MC602
OK, OK, point well taken. I'll stop my griping.

Hmm ... but now you've got me wondering if I can fit one of those MC602 units in my topcase. You know, to go with the 24-bit DAT player and Etymotic earphones.
space is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 07:48 AM   #15
markgsnw
WTF?
 
markgsnw's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon US
Oddometer: 3,529
I want to see how you're going to power it
__________________
http://vasaphoto.wordpress.com/

2011 Moto Guzzi Norge 8V GT
markgsnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014