ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-21-2011, 06:39 PM   #526
Michelangelo
2 wheel rider...anytime..
 
Michelangelo's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Rocky Mountain West
Oddometer: 1,636
Ok so I'm not smoking crack. I thought I had read there is some way one can switch through various hidden FI maps by doing the ignition ON, twist the throttle....etc...etc.. And that sounds like what you have done.

Can you explain more about this procedure and what exactly it does and choices of these settings? Seems like you said you got it to go to Advanced setting? What exactly is that?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Brown Dog View Post
Im still running Stock Mapping as it came from KTM.

I am running it on setting # 2 [Advanced].

I turned the switch on & let the gauges do the sweep : [2008 model]
Slowly opened throttle to wide Open then slowly back to idle :
Then turned the switch off [no 15min idle deal]
It goes dead every once in a while at real low rpm's, but Runs Great
__________________
ALL MOTO ADVENTURE,LLC.
Utah Offroad-Adventure Motorcycle Tours.
https://www.facebook.com/UtahAdventureMotorcycleTours
Michelangelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 02:26 AM   #527
milosbgd
X
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Oddometer: 57
Very nice , how many DB killers you receive in package?,,,how is the sound, loud, Deep loud
Please u have realy clean tail, could you share info how did you install the turn signals on back tail.

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by trailtrick View Post
Did you have a part number for the euro taillight ,o were i can get 1 ,thanks javier
milosbgd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 08:31 AM   #528
Michelangelo
2 wheel rider...anytime..
 
Michelangelo's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Rocky Mountain West
Oddometer: 1,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryman View Post
Mike: I think he is just talking about running on map #2 (advanced). There are several maps which can be selected by turning the selector switch under the seat. I think #1 is for economy #0 is for poor fuel. I really don't think there is any secret maps accessed by a combination of throttle blips. I think the turn key on, open and close throttle resets the TPS.

Get off the crack pipe!

So then how do I determine which map I'm on now?
__________________
ALL MOTO ADVENTURE,LLC.
Utah Offroad-Adventure Motorcycle Tours.
https://www.facebook.com/UtahAdventureMotorcycleTours
Michelangelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 08:44 AM   #529
Barman
Way Offline
 
Barman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Oddometer: 1,166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michelangelo View Post
So then how do I determine which map I'm on now?
Have you messed with the selector since you bought it? If not it should be on #3 from the factory.

Page 85 in the service manual covers the Map-Select switch.
__________________
I am at one with my duality.
Barman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 09:46 AM   #530
milosbgd
X
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Oddometer: 57
Hi,
Could some body explai me why it says 3 modes or 3 maps when it comes with 10-12 clicks.

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barman View Post
Have you messed with the selector since you bought it? If not it should be on #3 from the factory.

Page 85 in the service manual covers the Map-Select switch.
milosbgd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:27 PM   #531
Brown Dog
North Georgia Dual Sportr
 
Brown Dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Calhoun, GA. USA
Oddometer: 1,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michelangelo View Post
Ok so I'm not smoking crack. I thought I had read there is some way one can switch through various hidden FI maps by doing the ignition ON, twist the throttle....etc...etc.. And that sounds like what you have done.

Can you explain more about this procedure and what exactly it does and choices of these settings? Seems like you said you got it to go to Advanced setting? What exactly is that?
#2 setting under the seat is advanced meaning better throttle response etc... (#3 is stock) 4 & above does nothing #1 may be for low grade fuel ... Forgive me as I'm going off my memory

My wide open throttle with switch on, back to idle then switch off =
ONLY syncs / calibrates the TPS if I remember correctly
Brown Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 08:55 AM   #532
engineerjoe
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Shippensburg, PA
Oddometer: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brown Dog View Post
#2 setting under the seat is advanced meaning better throttle response etc... (#3 is stock) 4 & above does nothing #1 may be for low grade fuel ... Forgive me as I'm going off my memory

My wide open throttle with switch on, back to idle then switch off =
ONLY syncs / calibrates the TPS if I remember correctly
0 is bad fuel
1 is "soft" aka DRZ400 mode
2 is Advanced aka "jerk-o-rama"
3-9 is "standard"

I'm using a hybrid between maps 1 and 2 right now for smooth up to 1/2 throttle then whack hold on!
engineerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 01:20 PM   #533
snohobo
Supermoto hippy
 
snohobo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: somewhere in south america
Oddometer: 426
Wonder if #1 would increase my fuel mileage? On a six month trip and could probably use a hand
__________________
Ride Reports:

Supermoto Around Death Valley - In Progress

Supermoto Around South America - Terminado
snohobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 01:38 PM   #534
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by snohobo View Post
Wonder if #1 would increase my fuel mileage? On a six month trip and could probably use a hand

nope. Ran #1 by accident once because i forgot I had set it to 1 for some nasty rocky riding. Saw no improvement in mileage over the other settings.
__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 05:48 AM   #535
payser
Gnarly Adventurer
 
payser's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: The Mediterranean As It Once Was
Oddometer: 128
here it is..
Attached Images
 
__________________
crowbar...helps more than words
KTM 950SE,KTM690 Ex2,xt660zx2,KLX250,DRZ400

X challenge


payser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 08:13 AM   #536
Gros Buck
Beef = Packed Vegetables
 
Gros Buck's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Oddometer: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by snohobo View Post
Wonder if #1 would increase my fuel mileage? On a six month trip and could probably use a hand
Between 1 and what ? Between 1 and 3, the difference is almost nothing. Between 2 and any other ones, its around 30%. With a full tank, and the switch at position 1, I do 240 km. "Easy-rider" driving style. I will do no more then 180 km with the switch at position 2.

Paul Jr 8
__________________
KTM690r 2011
Gros Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 12:11 PM   #537
El Ponkin
Bloodrunner
 
El Ponkin's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 1,902
Calling it a map select switch is a bit misleading, it only messes with the ignition timing, if you wish to change the fuel scheduling then that has to be done at the dealer or via an aftermarket device like tuneboy i.e. changing the fuel mapping because of an aftermarket exhaust or different airfilter set up.
__________________
Don't Tempt Fate Taunt It, Right Here Right N0W
----------------------
KTM 690R 2011

http://www.jet-metal.com
El Ponkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 01:26 AM   #538
StevenD
Hmmmm, dirt!
 
StevenD's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Holland, Amserdammed
Oddometer: 1,111
Wrong wrong wrong.


It switches between fuel map, ignition map LO map AND EPT map.

however the EPT map is the only one that you really notice.
__________________
999 LC8 Rat-Rally custom - 500 EXC - XR666R '85
StevenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 08:55 PM   #539
snohobo
Supermoto hippy
 
snohobo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: somewhere in south america
Oddometer: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gros Buck View Post
Between 1 and what?
Paul Jr 8
I'm assuming most people ride with #2 which is what mine is set up for. Ill give 1 and 3 a try and see what happens to my mileage.

I assume throttle response will go down
__________________
Ride Reports:

Supermoto Around Death Valley - In Progress

Supermoto Around South America - Terminado
snohobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 03:17 PM   #540
milosbgd
X
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Oddometer: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by trailtrick View Post
Did you have a part number for the euro taillight ,o were i can get 1 ,thanks javier
Hi, could you tell me how did you fit rear turn signals? Did you drill a hole?
Thanks!
milosbgd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014