ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 08-18-2008, 10:10 AM   #1
Xeraux OP
Archvillain
 
Xeraux's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Oddometer: 30,892
Garmin GPSMap 478 Question or Two...

I'm looking at a Garmin GPSMap 478 to take the place of my StreetPilot 2820.

I've decided that I ride in the rain and whatnot so much that I really want (need?) the Nexrad radar overlay you can get with the GXM-30 antenna.

My questions are...

1) Do I need the "motorcycle power / audio" cable?


Or just the included "power / data" cable?



2) I've been using the OEM BMW Nav III mount. It's the Garmin "motorcycle mounting bracket" for the 2820.


...with a BMW kit that mounts to the screws that hold your handlebars down on top of your triple (similar to the Touratech bracket shown below). I think it's the same mount for the BMW Nav II/III/Zumo.

The 478 doesn't have a "motorcycle mounting bracket" like the StreetPilots and the Zumo, so I'll probably have to get the Touratech mount.

Would this:


and this:

http://touratech-usa.com/shop/media2...4BDAlrp19E36E7

Be the right answer to get it securely mounted in the same place?

3) Data Cards

The 478 comes preloaded with City Navigator NT and Marine Detail maps. I've never used anything other than CN NT on my 2820 so I'm not worried about adding additional maps. However, are the waypoints and routes stored internally or on data cards? Do I need one?

If I do need a data card, are the data cards proprietary or can I use a Sandisk 2GB SD card (I know it's not an SD card, but I'm using this as an example) I picked up at Costco for US$35.00?
__________________
Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.

If, after I depart this vale, you ever remember me and have thought to please my ghost, forgive some sinner and wink your eye at some homely girl.
Xeraux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 10:36 AM   #2
DangerMoney
Loud Helmets Save Lives
 
DangerMoney's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Escondido, CA, USA, Earth, Milky Way, Local Group
Oddometer: 1,452
I run my 478/GXM-30 with the included "power / data" cable. The 478 has a standard size audio-out jack. You can always make your own audio cable if you want to hear the voice guidance in the future.

Waypoints/routes/et al are stored internally.

TVNAV has refurbished 478s available for $690.00 US. I've made several purchases from them including my 478.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie2wheels
Even so I wouldn't sit there like a shag on a rock, waiting to be punched up the arse into next week by the next negligent drongo who happens to come along.
DangerMoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 10:45 AM   #3
Xeraux OP
Archvillain
 
Xeraux's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Oddometer: 30,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMoney
I run my 478/GXM-30 with the included "power / data" cable. The 478 has a standard size audio-out jack. You can always make your own audio cable if you want to hear the voice guidance in the future.

Waypoints/routes/et al are stored internally.

TVNAV has refurbished 478s available for $690.00 US. I've made several purchases from them including my 478.
That's who I'm getting it from. They're out of stock on the refurbs at the moment.

I just asked about the "power / audio" cable because it has a 3.5mm jack that can be placed in a more convenient location than the little 3.5mm jack on the back of the unit. I may skip this one.

So you're saying that if I don't plan on loading any additional maps, I don't need a data card?

How do you have yours mounted?
__________________
Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.

If, after I depart this vale, you ever remember me and have thought to please my ghost, forgive some sinner and wink your eye at some homely girl.
Xeraux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 11:14 AM   #4
DangerMoney
Loud Helmets Save Lives
 
DangerMoney's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Escondido, CA, USA, Earth, Milky Way, Local Group
Oddometer: 1,452
My understanding is new maps can only be loaded via data cards. I know from personal experience waypoints/routes/tracks are stored internally and can be loaded/retrieved directly to/from the unit's internal memory using your PC via USB interface. IOW, if you're not loading new maps, you don't need a data card.

Here's my setup:





__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie2wheels
Even so I wouldn't sit there like a shag on a rock, waiting to be punched up the arse into next week by the next negligent drongo who happens to come along.
DangerMoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 11:31 AM   #5
Xeraux OP
Archvillain
 
Xeraux's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Oddometer: 30,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMoney
My understanding is new maps can only be loaded via data cards. I know from personal experience waypoints/routes/tracks are stored internally and can be loaded/retrieved directly to/from the unit's internal memory using your PC via USB interface. IOW, if you're not loading new maps, you don't need a data card.

Here's my setup:

I'm not loading maps, so that clears up the data card question.

The pictures are helpful!

Is that the automotive or marine cradle/mount/bracket/thingy you've got attached to the RAM mount? I'm pretty sure that mount would work with my existing BMW set up. It has that same four bolt pattern that's on the 2820's "motorcycle mounting bracket" that attaches to the BMW mount.

You've never had any trouble with that coming unlocked or anything, have you?
__________________
Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.

If, after I depart this vale, you ever remember me and have thought to please my ghost, forgive some sinner and wink your eye at some homely girl.
Xeraux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 11:45 AM   #6
DangerMoney
Loud Helmets Save Lives
 
DangerMoney's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Escondido, CA, USA, Earth, Milky Way, Local Group
Oddometer: 1,452
It's the "GPS276/376/378/478 Cradle ($9.50) ". I got it from Cycle Gadgets.com. See http://www.cyclegadgets.com/Products/RAM/ram.asp?prod=RAM-GPS176

It's never come loose but after riding the first few miles or over rough terrain I always tighten it to make sure it's plenty snug.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie2wheels
Even so I wouldn't sit there like a shag on a rock, waiting to be punched up the arse into next week by the next negligent drongo who happens to come along.
DangerMoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 12:14 PM   #7
Xeraux OP
Archvillain
 
Xeraux's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Oddometer: 30,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMoney
It's the "GPS276/376/378/478 Cradle ($9.50) ". I got it from Cycle Gadgets.com. See http://www.cyclegadgets.com/Products/RAM/ram.asp?prod=RAM-GPS176

It's never come loose but after riding the first few miles or over rough terrain I always tighten it to make sure it's plenty snug.
Thank you!!

Cyclegadgets is good people and practically local to me!
__________________
Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.

If, after I depart this vale, you ever remember me and have thought to please my ghost, forgive some sinner and wink your eye at some homely girl.
Xeraux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 09:36 PM   #8
SRFade
FeHorse Rider
 
SRFade's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Evergreen, CO
Oddometer: 53
Touratech Mount

All good advice but you might want to consider the Touratech locking cradle. I had the standard RAM setup for my 478 but couldn't really get comfortable with the lack of "five finger" security. The vibration isolation and very positive "bump proof" hold placed on the GPS by the TT mount is comforting as well as the locking feature. It is a little oversized when on a RAM mount so I have moved it to a new crossbar, left side. You will love the 478 and the TT mount should let you keep it from becoming a casualty.
__________________
“You can ignore reality, but you can’t ignore the consequences of ignoring reality.” Ayn Rand
2008 1200GS "Babe" (Sold)
2010 G450X (Sold)
2013 690 Enduro R
SRFade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 04:05 AM   #9
Bad-Tat
800 XC
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Cumming, Ga
Oddometer: 125
The Tourtech mount is the way to go for ultimate shock protection and locking ability. I have that mount on two bikes for my 276. Rams are great for adjustability but there is nothing locking about them.
__________________
Bill

1995 XR 650L, Tiger 800 XC, 72 Triumph T100R, 86 SRX 6, 05 FLSTSCI, 13 Vespa 300, 08 Versys, 14 Grom
Bad-Tat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 01:58 PM   #10
Xeraux OP
Archvillain
 
Xeraux's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Oddometer: 30,892
Taking this a different direction...

Who here has the XM Weather on their 478?

Anyone?
__________________
Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.

If, after I depart this vale, you ever remember me and have thought to please my ghost, forgive some sinner and wink your eye at some homely girl.
Xeraux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 03:09 PM   #11
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeraux
Taking this a different direction...

Who here has the XM Weather on their 478?

Anyone?
...... Raising hand slowly...... I do..... Why?
__________________
SW

The Weather in my Backyard
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 07:55 AM   #12
Xeraux OP
Archvillain
 
Xeraux's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Oddometer: 30,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W
...... Raising hand slowly...... I do..... Why?
Do you like it / find it useful?

I'm giving up the NavTraffic service (marginally useful) on the 2820 to replace it with XM WX in order to get the hi-res nexrad radar and surface weather maps. I get caught in the rain so much that being able to see what's coming or when I'll get out from under it might provide some peace of mind.
__________________
Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.

If, after I depart this vale, you ever remember me and have thought to please my ghost, forgive some sinner and wink your eye at some homely girl.
Xeraux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 08:23 AM   #13
Jeff@TheQuadShop
TAT survivor
 
Jeff@TheQuadShop's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Crestwood, Kentucky
Oddometer: 4,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeraux
Taking this a different direction...

Who here has the XM Weather on their 478?

Anyone?
I have the Fishermans package and it works great!
__________________
1998 RMX 250 singletrack bike
1999 DR350SEX Dual Sport bike
1996 XR600R adventure bike
KY state Vet A offroad champion
TAT, KAT and TWVT survivor
Jeff@TheQuadShop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 08:31 AM   #14
Xeraux OP
Archvillain
 
Xeraux's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Oddometer: 30,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@TheQuadShop
I have the Fishermans package and it works great!
I got the "Sailor" package because I didn't think I needed buoy data.

Oh, the "Sailor" package also gives you wind speed and direction.
__________________
Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.

If, after I depart this vale, you ever remember me and have thought to please my ghost, forgive some sinner and wink your eye at some homely girl.
Xeraux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 08:44 AM   #15
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeraux
Do you like it / find it useful?

I'm giving up the NavTraffic service (marginally useful) on the 2820 to replace it with XM WX in order to get the hi-res nexrad radar and surface weather maps. I get caught in the rain so much that being able to see what's coming or when I'll get out from under it might provide some peace of mind.
Tough question to answer if economics is considered. I've got the Mariner package for now (+expensive) because it's the only way to get decent Canadian coverage. XM Canada does not have a weather package period. Once the riding season is over I'll probably downgrade the service to the basic level just to maintain it over the winter. The savings on the XM radio costs vrs. the same Can. coverage will pay for it.

On my latest cross countries trip it was very useful and did wonders for spousal comfort on the two up multi-bike portion of the trip. We were able to identify and then wait out a couple of really bad storm cells in the Colorado Rockies. Being able to watch the cells move over and then away from your route is very helpful. The frontal system maps are a useful planning tool if camping, but really don't give you any more information than TV weather that you can get in a motel room. One of the most overlooked features is the local forecast. If following a programmed route, the unit will give you the local conditions/forecast for the closest city, the next reporting weather station on your route or your next waypoint, and your destination. Weather warnings by county are a nice idea but I've haven't seen one yet so I can't comment on how useful they really are.

In the US, the mid level package gives you all the tools you should need on a bike. As it is I've got over half of the Mariner package features set to "off" because they're marine based. Now, if you've also got a boat.... If you're really persuasive, you can sometimes get a 3 month trial of the deluxe package for a reduced price if you use the "I can't decide which one is best for me and I don't have much money" routine. The base (Skywatcher IIRC) package might do as well, I can't remember all of the details from the XM site. HTH
__________________
SW

The Weather in my Backyard
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014