ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2013, 09:28 PM   #18256
brayjay
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: British Columbia
Oddometer: 244
xr650r swingarm install help!!

HI, I have just finished greasing my rear shock linkage and swing arm bearings and when I reinstalled the swing arm, its as if the frame has expanded or the swing arm has shrunk!! The dust cap on the right side before I took it apart was tight to the frame,and after reinstall there is now a quarter inch gap between the dust cap and frame. This is with preload nut and pivot bolt torqued to spec. Any one have any thoughts as to why? Any help would be appreciated.

brayjay screwed with this post 10-01-2013 at 10:00 PM
brayjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 10:12 PM   #18257
Trl Rdr
Big Red Bird
 
Trl Rdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Lincoln, NE - The Tax me state
Oddometer: 2,062
Did you screw in the hollow bolt before torquing the nut that the swingarm bolt goes through?

Are all the dust caps in place?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
__________________
2 XR650r(s) 2001 & 2002 Plated
GL18HPM9 Titanium (Gold Wing)
CRF230F for the tight shit!
Baja Mexico Trail Ride Report
Big Bend Ranch Drive and Ride Report
Trl Rdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 07:38 AM   #18258
brayjay
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: British Columbia
Oddometer: 244
yes I followed the procedure from the manual. Both dust caps are on swing arm, install swing arm,insert pivot bolt from left side to line it all up, then I screwed in the preload adjuster in until it touched the dust cap and torqued to 9ftlbs. Then torqued lock nut to 45ftbls. pilled out pivot bolt re inserted from right side an torqued to 80ftlbs. The thing that is strange is the preload adjustment nut has to thread through the frame until I can see it come through the frame and then it touches the dust cap so once everything is all tightened up instead of the dust cap up tight against the frame like it was before I took it apart, now there is about a quarter inch gap between cap and the frame. im pretty shure im not missing anything. Someone else on another forum had the exact same problem but out of 20 replies no one had an answer. Ill try and get some pictures up.
brayjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:07 AM   #18259
Trl Rdr
Big Red Bird
 
Trl Rdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Lincoln, NE - The Tax me state
Oddometer: 2,062
I can look at my 2 XRR's and see what the gap is. I don't think it changed much when I put in new bearings and seals this spring in one bike.

Maybe something was out of position before disassembly.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
__________________
2 XR650r(s) 2001 & 2002 Plated
GL18HPM9 Titanium (Gold Wing)
CRF230F for the tight shit!
Baja Mexico Trail Ride Report
Big Bend Ranch Drive and Ride Report
Trl Rdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:12 AM   #18260
stevh0
Super Retard.
 
stevh0's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Cape Town, ZA
Oddometer: 1,469
Busy installing a trailtech vapor on my XRR. Any idea where I can get live power from?
__________________
08 990SM, YZ250WR,
Ex 950S, 1150GS, XR650R, 950SE, 950ADV, SM610, FS570, 300 TXT Pro, WR450, Africa Twin(s)
stevh0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:21 AM   #18261
brayjay
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: British Columbia
Oddometer: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trl Rdr View Post
I can look at my 2 XRR's and see what the gap is. I don't think it changed much when I put in new bearings and seals this spring in one bike.

Maybe something was out of position before disassembly.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
That would be great. Any pics I found on the net showed both dust caps tight to the frame like mine was. I wonder if the frame relaxes after the first time the pivot bolt is removed.

brayjay screwed with this post 10-02-2013 at 10:55 AM
brayjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 11:06 AM   #18262
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by brayjay View Post

That would be great. Any pics I found on the net showed both dust caps tight to the frame like mine was. I wonder if the frame relaxes after the first time the pivot bolt is removed.
I am going to put my swingarm back on in the next day or two. I will snap a picture if I notice any gap. If it does indeed flex, mine will too because its been sitting with the swingarm off for a week.
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 11:24 AM   #18263
brayjay
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: British Columbia
Oddometer: 244
Thanks. If you left click on my user name and then click on find more posts from brayjay, the second one down has a picture of the swingarm, LOL, Im still trying to figure out how to import it to this thread. I was born in the wrong century I guess.

brayjay screwed with this post 10-02-2013 at 11:32 AM
brayjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 12:35 PM   #18264
mitchn06
Studly Adventurer
 
mitchn06's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: SoDak
Oddometer: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevh0 View Post
Busy installing a trailtech vapor on my XRR. Any idea where I can get live power from?
Not trying to be rude, but can you run a line from the battery, I recall this working the best from previous posts.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
__________________
2000 Honda XR650R (Sold) LINK
2014.5 Kawasaki KLR650 NE
mitchn06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 01:10 PM   #18265
AustinJake
TE450-KLE-FXDWG
 
AustinJake's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 3,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by brayjay View Post
HI, I have just finished greasing my rear shock linkage and swing arm bearings and when I reinstalled the swing arm, its as if the frame has expanded or the swing arm has shrunk!! The dust cap on the right side before I took it apart was tight to the frame,and after reinstall there is now a quarter inch gap between the dust cap and frame. This is with preload nut and pivot bolt torqued to spec. Any one have any thoughts as to why? Any help would be appreciated.
Here's Brayjay's 2 pics of the gap in his swingarm reinstall




__________________
____________________________________
Get fit. Stay safe. Enjoy life. Learn something to help someone in need.
AustinJake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 01:16 PM   #18266
Trl Rdr
Big Red Bird
 
Trl Rdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Lincoln, NE - The Tax me state
Oddometer: 2,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchn06 View Post
Not trying to be rude, but can you run a line from the battery, I recall this working the best from previous posts.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
All USA models do not have a battery and are AC. If you have a DC system and a cap or a battery system with a switch I would go there.


Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
__________________
2 XR650r(s) 2001 & 2002 Plated
GL18HPM9 Titanium (Gold Wing)
CRF230F for the tight shit!
Baja Mexico Trail Ride Report
Big Bend Ranch Drive and Ride Report
Trl Rdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 01:46 PM   #18267
brayjay
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: British Columbia
Oddometer: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJake View Post
Here's Brayjay's 2 pics of the gap in his swingarm reinstall




Thank you.
brayjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 02:19 PM   #18268
mitchn06
Studly Adventurer
 
mitchn06's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: SoDak
Oddometer: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trl Rdr View Post
All USA models do not have a battery and are AC. If you have a DC system and a cap or a battery system with a switch I would go there.


Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
yes, i did not see that you were from the Africas, you will most likely have a capacitor mounted to somewhere behind the headlight i think. even then, you will only have DC while the bike is running.
__________________
2000 Honda XR650R (Sold) LINK
2014.5 Kawasaki KLR650 NE
mitchn06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 03:09 PM   #18269
Trl Rdr
Big Red Bird
 
Trl Rdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Lincoln, NE - The Tax me state
Oddometer: 2,062
I checked the swingarm space on my 2 bikes and they have a very small gap, almost snug.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
__________________
2 XR650r(s) 2001 & 2002 Plated
GL18HPM9 Titanium (Gold Wing)
CRF230F for the tight shit!
Baja Mexico Trail Ride Report
Big Bend Ranch Drive and Ride Report
Trl Rdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 03:14 PM   #18270
Cpt. Ron
Advrider #128
 
Cpt. Ron's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Oddometer: 3,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trl Rdr View Post
I checked the swingarm space on my 2 bikes and they have a very small gap, almost snug.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
When snug, mine has the space equivalent to one of the smaller L-shaped allen wrenches I have (2.5-4 mm, can't remember for sure). I use these to measure the gap to make sure it's centered in the frame.
__________________
Cpt. Ron

"I don't know what you do, but I know what I do, and I don't do that." --Uncle Doug, R.I.P.
"Without the possibility of death, adventure is not possible"--Reinhold Messner
Cpt. Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015