ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2013, 11:24 AM   #18271
brayjay
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: British Columbia
Oddometer: 152
Thanks. If you left click on my user name and then click on find more posts from brayjay, the second one down has a picture of the swingarm, LOL, Im still trying to figure out how to import it to this thread. I was born in the wrong century I guess.

brayjay screwed with this post 10-02-2013 at 11:32 AM
brayjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 12:35 PM   #18272
mitchn06
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mitchn06's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: SoDak
Oddometer: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevh0 View Post
Busy installing a trailtech vapor on my XRR. Any idea where I can get live power from?
Not trying to be rude, but can you run a line from the battery, I recall this working the best from previous posts.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
__________________
2000 Honda XR650R (Under the Knife) LINK
mitchn06 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 01:10 PM   #18273
AustinJake
TE450-KLE-FXDWG
 
AustinJake's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 3,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by brayjay View Post
HI, I have just finished greasing my rear shock linkage and swing arm bearings and when I reinstalled the swing arm, its as if the frame has expanded or the swing arm has shrunk!! The dust cap on the right side before I took it apart was tight to the frame,and after reinstall there is now a quarter inch gap between the dust cap and frame. This is with preload nut and pivot bolt torqued to spec. Any one have any thoughts as to why? Any help would be appreciated.
Here's Brayjay's 2 pics of the gap in his swingarm reinstall




__________________
____________________________________
Get fit. Stay safe. Enjoy life. Learn something to help someone in need.
AustinJake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 01:16 PM   #18274
Trl Rdr
Big Red Bird
 
Trl Rdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Lincoln, NE - The Tax me state
Oddometer: 2,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchn06 View Post
Not trying to be rude, but can you run a line from the battery, I recall this working the best from previous posts.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
All USA models do not have a battery and are AC. If you have a DC system and a cap or a battery system with a switch I would go there.


Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
__________________
2 XR650r(s) 2001 & 2002 Plated
GL18HPM9 Titanium (Gold Wing)
CRF230F for the tight shit!
Baja Mexico Trail Ride Report
Big Bend Ranch Drive and Ride Report
Trl Rdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 01:46 PM   #18275
brayjay
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: British Columbia
Oddometer: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJake View Post
Here's Brayjay's 2 pics of the gap in his swingarm reinstall




Thank you.
brayjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 02:19 PM   #18276
mitchn06
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mitchn06's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: SoDak
Oddometer: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trl Rdr View Post
All USA models do not have a battery and are AC. If you have a DC system and a cap or a battery system with a switch I would go there.


Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
yes, i did not see that you were from the Africas, you will most likely have a capacitor mounted to somewhere behind the headlight i think. even then, you will only have DC while the bike is running.
__________________
2000 Honda XR650R (Under the Knife) LINK
mitchn06 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 03:09 PM   #18277
Trl Rdr
Big Red Bird
 
Trl Rdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Lincoln, NE - The Tax me state
Oddometer: 2,027
I checked the swingarm space on my 2 bikes and they have a very small gap, almost snug.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
__________________
2 XR650r(s) 2001 & 2002 Plated
GL18HPM9 Titanium (Gold Wing)
CRF230F for the tight shit!
Baja Mexico Trail Ride Report
Big Bend Ranch Drive and Ride Report
Trl Rdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 03:14 PM   #18278
Cpt. Ron
Advrider #128
 
Cpt. Ron's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Oddometer: 2,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trl Rdr View Post
I checked the swingarm space on my 2 bikes and they have a very small gap, almost snug.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
When snug, mine has the space equivalent to one of the smaller L-shaped allen wrenches I have (2.5-4 mm, can't remember for sure). I use these to measure the gap to make sure it's centered in the frame.
__________________
Cpt. Ron

"I don't know what you do, but I know what I do, and I don't do that." --Uncle Doug, R.I.P.
"Without the possibility of death, adventure is not possible"--Reinhold Messner
Cpt. Ron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 03:17 PM   #18279
brayjay
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: British Columbia
Oddometer: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trl Rdr View Post
I checked the swingarm space on my 2 bikes and they have a very small gap, almost snug.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
Hmmm any idea what has gone wrong? Doesn't make sense. I wonder if I could wreck anything by riding it this way. Since im not missing any parts, the only other thing I can think of is the frame sprung back a bit.
brayjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:18 AM   #18280
jm-2008
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jm-2008's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: South Eastern Australia
Oddometer: 476
Vapour power

[QUOTE=stevh0;22461829]Busy installing a trailtech vapor on my XRR. Any idea where I can get live power from?

Think the Vapor is happy with either AC or DC
If the SA XR's are like the Oz versions you can pick up DC if that's your preference from the DC supply that runs the indicators

Pm me an email and I will send you some pics of my setup
Regards
JM-2008
jm-2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 12:19 PM   #18281
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 143
Speaking of the trailtech vapor, what is a good way to mount it? I have had mine sitting in the garage unused for a while.
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 01:39 PM   #18282
SwellsRides
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SwellsRides's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Oddometer: 133
Vapor

Quote:
Originally Posted by medisyn View Post
Speaking of the trailtech vapor, what is a good way to mount it? I have had mine sitting in the garage unused for a while.
I just used straight flat Aluminum stock about 4" long right off the bar clamp and it works great, and looks clean.

Swells
__________________
2000 XR650R SM
1996 VFR750
XR400 SM (Sold in Thailand)
Royal Enfield Bullet (Sold in Sri Lanka)
"When in Doubt, Punch it out!"
SwellsRides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 09:31 AM   #18283
bigkuri
Studly Adventurer
 
bigkuri's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: London, but am a Kiwi
Oddometer: 671
Found something to plug this hole:




With this:






Getting closer....
__________________
---------- Current Bikes: 2008 KTM SE 950 R & 2006 Honda XR650R ------------
http://www.xr650rforum.com/t1940-my-...up-big-red-dog
http://www.950superenduro.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=630
bigkuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 06:24 PM   #18284
Bench Racer
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: BEND Oregon
Oddometer: 80
Sup with the mileage?

My BRP gets horrible mileage for some reason. On a ride with another BRP, at fill up I took one more gallon than the other bike. We started at the same place full of gas and rode the same speed. How is this possible? I think the float must be out of wack. Could the carb some how be dumping gas straight into the motor and not burning it off? It seems like fuel is being wasted by something from the floats. Last ride out, the float was sticking and pissed the whole time bringing this bad mileage and float situation to mind.
Since then, I cleaned the carb and adjusted the float to 16/17mm like the manual says. Will this help? The original reading was 19mm.
I know the XRR doesn't get great mileage but mine is horrible.

Help please.
Bench Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 08:17 PM   #18285
jm-2008
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jm-2008's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: South Eastern Australia
Oddometer: 476
Mileage and float levels

[QUOTE=Bench Racer;22502880]My BRP gets horrible mileage for some reason. On a ride with another BRP, at fill up I took one more gallon than the other bike. We started at the same place full of gas and rode the same speed. How is this possible? I think the float must be out of wack. Could the carb some how be dumping gas straight into the motor and not burning it off? It seems like fuel is being wasted by something from the floats. Last ride out, the float was sticking and pissed the whole time bringing this bad mileage and float situation to mind.
Since then, I cleaned the carb and adjusted the float to 16/17mm like the manual says. Will this help? The original reading was 19mm.
I know the XRR doesn't get great mileage but mine is horrible.

Help please


BR,
If its the stocker I'd go back to 19mm
16/17 seems too high and it will likely leak out the overflow when on the side stand.
Certain my stock carb was set to 19 and it ran just fine, search the thread for info as it has come up a number of times.
Think OEM spec is 18 but at that level mine would leak out when on the side stand, 19 fixed the problem.

Of course riding style, gearing, altitude (especially if the bike is lying horizontal) will all affect mileage but it should not vary that much on a stock carby - pumpers are another story!
JM-2008
jm-2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014