ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2012, 04:27 AM   #14881
jules083
Beastly Adventurer
 
jules083's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Richmond, Ohio
Oddometer: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostsaffa View Post
Jules I am not sure about the laws where you are but for a cheap and reliable rear fender light solution that incorporates a brake light and is a bolt on item, I would not look past this:

http://www.wheelingcyclesupply.com/shop/36/24/64.shtml

Here is write up I did on another page:



These guys also do a range of LED indicators. You can mount indicators on a small flat sided part of the rear fender just before it meets each side cover. Mine have been there for a while and they are still good (just watch out you don't kick them when mounting the bike)
Looks good to me, thanks. I forgot about that company. Laws here are relaxed, I've had 'show lights' that don't work for most of this summer.

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2
__________________
COBDR and UTBDR on my klx250:

http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1003485
jules083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 10:31 AM   #14882
crypto666
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: The best trails in Nevada
Oddometer: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by medisyn View Post
Looks like my strator is too crap to keep the battery charged. It keeps killing that lead acid battery I got from this thread. Is it normal for the headlight (baja designs) to be running off DC power?

The headlight turns on (when the battery is not flat) when the bike is off with the headlight switch on. So what is the best option? Rewind myself? Buy one from Baja Designs/Ricky? From what it looks like, I have the stock strator.

I also saw somebody mention a more efficient blinker, something about the BD one being thermal or something. One thing is when my battery dies, the blinkers stop working...

How many watts is that light?

Rewinding if you have the time and skill. It isn't hard, but use good wire (gobrushless.com). Buying one isn't much more money.
Also know that the stator doesn't put out full power until around 1800 RPM, so if you are riding slow stuff big lights can still kill a battery with a big stator.

For my next bike I was thinking of just going with all LED thinking I could use the stock stator, but some dude at a bike shop said that led lights ruin batteries, claiming the draw is too much. I don't think the guy had a clue what he was talking about. watts are watts.
crypto666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 10:41 AM   #14883
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 149
Ok since my Baja Designs kit is somehow running off the stock stator (sigh) I ordered a 200w ricky stator. Is there anything else I should buy to make the install go smoothly? Anything else critical to keep stuff from melting?
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:21 PM   #14884
RalphyDo
Banned
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by medisyn View Post
Ok since my Baja Designs kit is somehow running off the stock stator (sigh) I ordered a 200w ricky stator. Is there anything else I should buy to make the install go smoothly? Anything else critical to keep stuff from melting?

You are running a battery right? If so, get the Ricky's Stator Reg/Rec too.
RalphyDo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 12:32 PM   #14885
crypto666
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: The best trails in Nevada
Oddometer: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by RalphyDo View Post
You are running a battery right? If so, get the Ricky's Stator Reg/Rec too.

+1 on the 250W? (maybe its 200W) one. It is way heavier duty than the trailtech units, which I have destroyed simply by looking at them too long. The only draw back of this unit is that it can hard on batteries if you run the battery low because it does not regulate the charge current. Which is why I prefer LIFePo4 batteries.

Are you combining both coils for an all DC system? I prefer to run my halogen off of AC, and everything else DC for redundancy. If I lose my DC I still have lights. If I lose my AC, I still have lights. I have yet to lose either except for losing the use of the HID when a battery cell went bad.

Oh, and to avoid melt downs, I put a self-resetting circuit breaker on my DC. Its is just like one of those standard plastic fuses we see in cars, but its a breaker instead so You don't have to pull your seat to replace it.

crypto666 screwed with this post 10-15-2012 at 12:58 PM
crypto666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:50 PM   #14886
RalphyDo
Banned
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by crypto666 View Post
+1 on the 250W? (maybe its 200W) one. It is way heavier duty than the trailtech units, which I have destroyed simply by looking at them too long. The only draw back of this unit is that it can hard on batteries if you run the battery low because it does not regulate the charge current. Which is why I prefer LIFePo4 batteries.

Are you combining both coils for an all DC system? I prefer to run my halogen off of AC, and everything else DC for redundancy. If I lose my DC I still have lights. If I lose my AC, I still have lights. I have yet to lose either except for losing the use of the HID when a battery cell went bad.

Oh, and to avoid melt downs, I put a self-resetting circuit breaker on my DC. Its is just like one of those standard plastic fuses we see in cars, but its a breaker instead so You don't have to pull your seat to replace it.


Yes, it is the 250W RS reg/rec. On my bike, I run straight DC for everything as my headlights are HID.
RalphyDo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 03:26 PM   #14887
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 149
My whole system is currently DC, (my headlight turns on when the bike is off, from battery power.) The issue I am having is my battery always dies because the stock stator cannot power the BD DS kit. Which way should I go? If I run AC to the headlight will that work with the BD DS light? If so will I have to buy any more parts? Is it easier to just get that DC reg with my setup and just run it off the whole 200w setup?

If I run all DC can I pop a HID bulb into the BD DS headlight?

medisyn screwed with this post 10-15-2012 at 03:34 PM
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 03:30 PM   #14888
RZRob
Beastly Adventurer
 
RZRob's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Oddometer: 1,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by medisyn View Post
My whole system is currently DC, (my headlight turns on when the bike is off, from battery power.) The issue I am having is my battery always dies because the stock stator cannot power the BD DS kit. Which way should I go? If I run AC to the headlight will that work with the BD DS light? If so will I have to buy any more parts? Is it easier to just get that DC reg with my setup and just run it off the whole 200w setup?
That was my same experience with the BD kit. It's because it only uses an 8-pack of AA batteries. Anything more than a flashlight goes dead in 30 seconds. That's why I went and added an AGM battery. I made this handy-dandy tray for the battery to sit behind the cylinder and below and to the left of the carb. Battery was under $20 at Batteries Plus.



RZ Rob
RZRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 03:49 PM   #14889
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by RZRob View Post
That was my same experience with the BD kit. It's because it only uses an 8-pack of AA batteries. Anything more than a flashlight goes dead in 30 seconds. That's why I went and added an AGM battery. I made this handy-dandy tray for the battery to sit behind the cylinder and below and to the left of the carb. Battery was under $20 at Batteries Plus.



RZ Rob
I already have a slightly better lead-acid battery. It kills it after an hour or so of use. The issue is the stock stator cannot keep up. So I looked up the price of the DC reg, 50 bones. I think I will hold off on it unless its REALLY needed.
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 03:58 PM   #14890
RalphyDo
Banned
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by medisyn View Post
I already have a slightly better lead-acid battery. It kills it after an hour or so of use. The issue is the stock stator cannot keep up. So I looked up the price of the DC reg, 50 bones. I think I will hold off on it unless its REALLY needed.

If you are running more then about 150W, you need the HD reg/rec.
RalphyDo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 05:21 PM   #14891
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by RalphyDo View Post
If you are running more then about 150W, you need the HD reg/rec.
Its possible I am not understanding really want I need. Here is what I was thinking is possible. Anybody please feel free to let me know I am being a dumbass!

The ricky stator has two 100w AC outputs correct? This is what I imagined how it should be hooked up:

Current system is all DC:

One 100w ac output goes to a re-wired headlight running AC power only. Unsure how this goes with Baja Designs dual sport kit kill/headlight/bright headlight switch.

The other goes to the Baja Designs stock DC rectifier/regulator to power the turn signals, tail lights and battery + misc DC stuff.

This seems to be what most people are doing right? Or do I just hook up both 100w outputs and order that 250w dc rec/reg?
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 05:53 PM   #14892
RalphyDo
Banned
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by medisyn View Post
Its possible I am not understanding really want I need. Here is what I was thinking is possible. Anybody please feel free to let me know I am being a dumbass!

The ricky stator has two 100w AC outputs correct? This is what I imagined how it should be hooked up:

Current system is all DC:

One 100w ac output goes to a re-wired headlight running AC power only. Unsure how this goes with Baja Designs dual sport kit kill/headlight/bright headlight switch.

The other goes to the Baja Designs stock DC rectifier/regulator to power the turn signals, tail lights and battery + misc DC stuff.

This seems to be what most people are doing right? Or do I just hook up both 100w outputs and order that 250w dc rec/reg?

I see what you are up to. That will work, you do need to regulate the AC side aswell. I thought you were trying to run full DC without the AC headlight. You'll be all set!!
RalphyDo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 05:58 PM   #14893
medisyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: San jose ca
Oddometer: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by RalphyDo View Post
I see what you are up to. That will work, you do need to regulate the AC side aswell. I thought you were trying to run full DC without the AC headlight. You'll be all set!!
The bike comes stock with a AC regulator? I don't fully remember what is under the seat of my bike. If so will it work or need an upgrade? I shot ricky stator an email too just to clarify for me.

Also post oil change I am having an issue with the filter cover leaking on the bottom. I am using a new gasket. Do you guys put any rtv or anything in there to keep the gasket in place? I figure it must of moved when I tightened it down.
medisyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 06:17 PM   #14894
tijuana
Farkling Around
 
tijuana's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Baja & Southern California
Oddometer: 205
subscribed to this. I have a Ricky stator dual output stator and a B.Designs dual sport kit. I just installed a Squadron from B.D. and need to sort it out.
__________________
2000 XR650R Dualsport
www.bajastarz.com
http://www.bikebandit.com Need parts or gear? Call me at 1-888-339-3888 ext 343
tijuana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 07:18 PM   #14895
RalphyDo
Banned
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by medisyn View Post
The bike comes stock with a AC regulator? I don't fully remember what is under the seat of my bike. If so will it work or need an upgrade? I shot ricky stator an email too just to clarify for me.

Also post oil change I am having an issue with the filter cover leaking on the bottom. I am using a new gasket. Do you guys put any rtv or anything in there to keep the gasket in place? I figure it must of moved when I tightened it down.


Yes, the bike has an AC reg stock. You need to regulate both the C leg and the DC leg.


When installing the cover, just make sure the seal is in the groove. No rtv needed.
RalphyDo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015