ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-24-2008, 10:02 AM   #1
Misery Goat OP
Positating the negative
 
Misery Goat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Paradise Valley, AZ
Oddometer: 74,657
Zumo took a crap in Baja this weekend

so i'm riding along in SoCal getting ready to cross the border and my Zumo 550 loses the satellite. it goes into the "acquiring satellites" mode and finally goes into the routine where it prompts me to answer if i'm indoors, where my location is, the time of day, etc. i answer all of the questions and it goes back to trying to pick up the sat connection.

i was able to connect to a satellite briefly several hours later in San Felipe but then it quit again for good.

my buddy is running the same unit and had no interruption in service.

i've been on hold with Garmin Tech support for 15 minutes and extended service plan ph number has been busy every time i've called.

is this most likely a hardware issue?? i have all other functionality, the unit is only a year and a half old and never dropped.

i haven't updated to the recent Garmin maps but i wouldn't expect this to be the cause.
__________________
"So what you gonna do when the novelty is gone.."-- Joy Division

Same as it ever was


My Wanderlust
Misery Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 10:13 AM   #2
BikePilot
Beastly Adventurer
 
BikePilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Tampa
Oddometer: 11,175
The maps won't be the problem. You might try updating the firmware. Last time I tried to call Garmin I was on hold for an hour and a half, by which time they were closed. I searched around on-line and found that their most recent firmware update (at that time) was crap and causing problems. I went back to the previous version, then in a couple of weeks they came up with an updated version that fixed those bugs (different than your problems). So, I'd try installing the most recent firmware and see what that does for you.

good luck and post up your results.
__________________
'09 Buell XB12XT, TL1000S, H1F, M620, CR250R, KX100, XR650R, Cota 315R

Summer 2009 Ride Report http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...1509c&t=507038
Summer 2008 RR. http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=367703
BikePilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 10:45 AM   #3
Misery Goat OP
Positating the negative
 
Misery Goat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Paradise Valley, AZ
Oddometer: 74,657
apparently my firmware is a bit dated, i'm going to update and see what that does.
__________________
"So what you gonna do when the novelty is gone.."-- Joy Division

Same as it ever was


My Wanderlust
Misery Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 11:31 AM   #4
Misery Goat OP
Positating the negative
 
Misery Goat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Paradise Valley, AZ
Oddometer: 74,657
well after updating all the firm ware and resetting the unit it looks like i have a warranty claim.

i purchased a 3 year warranty through Repair Tech Inc (Abe's of Main's provider).

funny thing is, no matter what time i call the claims line is busy. after a week of frustration i was able to get through using rapid redial at my office.

only to be on hold for 2 hours and 15 minutes.

after taking all my info the agent puts me on hold and disconnects the line.

he has my ph# yet didn't call back.

citibank has a good record of supporting me in the past in these types of situations so i may try that route.

just wanted to share and see if anyone has a positive experience with Repair Tech??

perhaps this is just an out lier?
__________________
"So what you gonna do when the novelty is gone.."-- Joy Division

Same as it ever was


My Wanderlust
Misery Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 04:23 PM   #5
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,343
Call Garmin again and talk nice. They have been known to be pretty helpful even out of warranty.

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 04:55 PM   #6
rkclmbr24
CARNIVOROUS VEGAN
 
rkclmbr24's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: The right winged place to live. UT
Oddometer: 376
If you are still hiting a brick wall with Garmin find out who the rep is for the store you bought it from. Get their name and phone number from the store and contact them directly. They make money on every unit sold in their territory. That person made money off your purchase and should help you out. If you cant find out who it is PM me and I can tell you when I get to my office tommorow.
__________________
"I don't know half of you half as well as I should like, and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve."


WARNING: MOUTH OPERATES FASTER THAN BRAIN!
rkclmbr24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 06:19 PM   #7
* SHAG *
Unstable
 
* SHAG *'s Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2001
Location: Bradford, Pa
Oddometer: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnut
Call Garmin again and talk nice. They have been known to be pretty helpful even out of warranty.

Bruce
Email has worked for me three times. The last time in Sept, I had an answer with the fix for my problem in less than 2 hours. It was a simple registration problem though.
__________________
2013 Yamaha TW200 2k
99-RT- Graphite 50k Gone
01-GS- Mandarin 42k Gone
05-GS- Rock Red 90k
06-GS- Dakar-40k Sold
* SHAG * is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 07:22 PM   #8
ZZR_Ron
Underground
 
ZZR_Ron's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 7,998
I don't have the same unit, but last time I had this problem, I took out the battery for a few minutes, then left the thing facing south,
after hitting the "use from new location" button.

Maybe this is too simple...just trying to be helpful.
__________________
Great minds think alike;small minds seldom differ...
ZZR_Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 03:45 AM   #9
PhilSpace
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,117
Did the reset include removing the battery?

I won't waste my money on extended warranties anymore, I have never had a good experience with the third party shit.
__________________

PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 10:04 AM   #10
Misery Goat OP
Positating the negative
 
Misery Goat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Paradise Valley, AZ
Oddometer: 74,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSpace
Did the reset include removing the battery?

I won't waste my money on extended warranties anymore, I have never had a good experience with the third party shit.
no, i suppose i should try that just to exhaust all possible remedies.

thanks.
__________________
"So what you gonna do when the novelty is gone.."-- Joy Division

Same as it ever was


My Wanderlust
Misery Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 10:21 AM   #11
fotobo
KTM rider
 
fotobo's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Coweta, Ok
Oddometer: 1,588
Hey MG, This is Jerry from OK that hauled you to Vegas when you broke your ankle. Guess it healed up ok? Did you do B to V this year?

Hope you get the GPS sorted out.
__________________
"I don't want a pickle, I just wanna ride on my motorsickle" (Arlo Guthrie)
fotobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 10:57 AM   #12
007brian
shaken not stirred
 
007brian's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Bonney Lake
Oddometer: 543
remove battery hook up to computer power up unit and then download newest firmware update then disconnect from computer and reinstall battery. That is what I was told by garmin to fix little glitches and it did fix my problem which was similar to yours. Hope this helps.
007brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 06:33 PM   #13
Misery Goat OP
Positating the negative
 
Misery Goat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Paradise Valley, AZ
Oddometer: 74,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by fotobo
Hey MG, This is Jerry from OK that hauled you to Vegas when you broke your ankle. Guess it healed up ok? Did you do B to V this year?

Hope you get the GPS sorted out.
Hey Jerry!

yeah, a couple pins and the ankle was good to go, i had surgery in December ans was riding in Death Valley in January.

we were in Baja this year so had to pass on LA-B-V.

give my regards to the other Js.
__________________
"So what you gonna do when the novelty is gone.."-- Joy Division

Same as it ever was


My Wanderlust
Misery Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 07:37 PM   #14
Misery Goat OP
Positating the negative
 
Misery Goat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Paradise Valley, AZ
Oddometer: 74,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by 007brian
remove battery hook up to computer power up unit and then download newest firmware update then disconnect from computer and reinstall battery. That is what I was told by garmin to fix little glitches and it did fix my problem which was similar to yours. Hope this helps.
battery removal did the trick.

thank you sir.
__________________
"So what you gonna do when the novelty is gone.."-- Joy Division

Same as it ever was


My Wanderlust
Misery Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 09:05 PM   #15
PhilSpace
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,117
Glad it did the trick.
__________________

PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014