ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-25-2004, 02:14 PM   #136
Arch
Incurable Gearhead
 
Arch's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Katy, TX
Oddometer: 11,705
They tossed in a cig lighter power/speaker cable for my troubles.
__________________
Arch
Arch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 01:27 PM   #137
robdogg
turnip truck driver
 
robdogg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: wren-tonne, WA
Oddometer: 1,700
I just heard from a Garmin dealer that Garmin is going to be severly slowing down production of the 276c for the remainder of the summer; quite odd since it seems the unit is all the rage; at least in the M/C community - consequently dealers will likely have a limited supply of them over the next couple of months

Furthermore, regarding mounts; Touratech has just relased a prototype of the 276c mount but I was told it has some issues so it may be a few more weeks before it's ready for mass release.

As for Ram; they are also being somewhat slow in releasing the cradles made for the 276c; I tried several dealers and they were out; except for one - http://www.cyclegadgets.com/Products...sp?prod=GPS176 - who has just a couple left
__________________
"ride hard, live righteously"
John 5:24

CMA Fast Lane Forums

robdogg screwed with this post 07-30-2004 at 03:13 PM
robdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 03:17 PM   #138
robdogg
turnip truck driver
 
robdogg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: wren-tonne, WA
Oddometer: 1,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnieM
I do not think that bending the pins is an issue but the plug is certainly very tight. It is also difficult to get a good grip on it with the aerial and cradle immediately next to it.
I had the same problem with the external antenna mount on the 2610; I had to use pliers to unplug it
__________________
"ride hard, live righteously"
John 5:24

CMA Fast Lane Forums
robdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 03:37 PM   #139
Gerg OP
Cupcake
 
Gerg's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Left Coast
Oddometer: 8,214
Update:

Used the unit on my 2+ week trip to Spokane and Ouray. 4,300+ miles and it worked flawlessly. The find function was GREAT. The more I use this thing the better I like it

Touratech USA had the new mount (prototype) at Spokane. Very nice
It'll be a few more weeks before it becomes available. It's mount is much more like the Garmin V mount than the 176. MUCH MUCH smaller and just as robust. The one on display was the MGV type. I'll be buying one when they become available. Sorry, I didn't take a picture

Gerg
__________________
Greg
OFFICIAL WARPED BEER MEISTER

BOOF 160, AMA, RA, MOA, HOG
Live life like you stole it!
Your $5 off SMUGMUG Coupon is
hESgLtqESqM1Q

Gerg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 03:41 PM   #140
traveltoad
Aaron S
 
traveltoad's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: San Fernando Valley
Oddometer: 6,565
Gerg,

Sorry if you covered this earlier... I don't feel like re-reading the whole thread... where did you get your 276c?

THX
traveltoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 04:17 PM   #141
kirkmoon
Making up for lost youth
 
kirkmoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 8,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by traveltoad
Gerg,

Sorry if you covered this earlier... I don't feel like re-reading the whole thread... where did you get your 276c?

THX
These folks have good prices and service.I got mine from them and was a happy customer.
__________________
Kirk Mn
kirkmoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 04:29 PM   #142
Sam Buca
a.k.a. Daniel
 
Sam Buca's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Oddometer: 2,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerg
Update:

Used the unit on my 2+ week trip to Spokane and Ouray. 4,300+ miles and it worked flawlessly. The find function was GREAT. The more I use this thing the better I like it

Touratech USA had the new mount (prototype) at Spokane. Very nice
It'll be a few more weeks before it becomes available. It's mount is much more like the Garmin V mount than the 176. MUCH MUCH smaller and just as robust. The one on display was the MGV type. I'll be buying one when they become available. Sorry, I didn't take a picture

Gerg
There is a picture available on the Touratech web site of the prototype model. Claimed price is $165 for a lockable unit.
Sam Buca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 04:30 PM   #143
Sam Buca
a.k.a. Daniel
 
Sam Buca's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Oddometer: 2,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirkmoon
These folks have good prices and service.I got mine from them and was a happy customer.
Agree. GSPDiscount.com has the best prices with good service.
Sam Buca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 06:04 PM   #144
BurnieM
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by newmanr19
As for Ram; they are also being somewhat slow in releasing the cradles made for the 276c; I tried several dealers and they were out; except for one - http://www.cyclegadgets.com/Products...sp?prod=GPS176 - who has just a couple left
Do you need the RAM cradle ?
I am using the Garmin cradle (that comes with the included marine mount) on a RAM 2 1/2 inch ball base with no problems. I did the same thing on my 176 as well with no issues.
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 08:55 PM   #145
robdogg
turnip truck driver
 
robdogg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: wren-tonne, WA
Oddometer: 1,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnieM
Do you need the RAM cradle ?
I am using the Garmin cradle (that comes with the included marine mount) on a RAM 2 1/2 inch ball base with no problems. I did the same thing on my 176 as well with no issues.
hmm, well I guess I should have done a little more research. I don't actually have the unit yet. I was going from experience in that all my previous five GPS units required some type of cradle in order to work with the Ram mounts.. at least it was fairly inexpensive; maybe I can use it on my other bike or keep it in one of my vehicles
__________________
"ride hard, live righteously"
John 5:24

CMA Fast Lane Forums
robdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 08:58 PM   #146
robdogg
turnip truck driver
 
robdogg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: wren-tonne, WA
Oddometer: 1,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by traveltoad
Gerg,

Sorry if you covered this earlier... I don't feel like re-reading the whole thread... where did you get your 276c?

THX
http://www.gpsdiscount.com

cheapest dealer by far - at least on this particular unit
__________________
"ride hard, live righteously"
John 5:24

CMA Fast Lane Forums
robdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 11:06 PM   #147
Wings
marmaduked
 
Wings's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Oddometer: 14,071
I got mine from GPS Discount as well, ordered it on Friday and got it delivered on Monday. I ordered the car kit with it, and it was shipped with the City Select version 5.0. Ordered the Version 6.0 right away, got it a few days ago and had absolutely no hassle getting the free unlock upgrade. I went with the GadgetGuy mount (sorry I missed you Sunday morning Gerg!), looks just like in the pics BigHorn posted. Thanks again for all your help guys-talk about a cool gadget! Super easy to use too, no need to read manuals
Wings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 11:08 PM   #148
BurnieM
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
Where are the pics ?
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 11:17 PM   #149
Wings
marmaduked
 
Wings's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Oddometer: 14,071
I think about page 4 of this thread.
Wings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 11:19 PM   #150
BurnieM
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
No, I mean of yours, mounted, with some Ouray background :)
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014