ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-25-2013, 04:31 PM   #7876
Royal Club
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Royal Club's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by elsalvadorklr View Post
who said anything about a HOTSTART BUTTON? jajajajajja

thats a nice mod, id love to do it to the extra intake boot I have...

Intake boot? Its a feature on my keihin fcr... And as said, I dont use it :)
__________________
Royal Club is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 04:34 PM   #7877
Royal Club
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Royal Club's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 392
Martin, My old engine used to be very very hard to start when hot, kicking it over for ten minutes etc.

What did help for me was the following

turn the fuel to OFF
pull decompressor,
push and HOLD killswitch
FULL throttle open..

Kick it over a couple of times (3~6 times)

open fuel to ON
Kick as you would normally.


edit:

I have a Keihin FCR-MX 40 from a honda CRF450 2003~. Work like a dream.

p.s. I'm half polish myself, but never learned to write in polish :(
__________________
Royal Club is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:15 PM   #7878
elsalvadorklr
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: el salvador
Oddometer: 4,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by Royal Club View Post
Intake boot? Its a feature on my keihin fcr... And as said, I dont use it :)
there is a very cool mod for oem carbs and intake boot mostly where you hook up a hotstart tube, its basically a vent hose with a valve and nipple that is attached to the intake boot rubber...

when you really really flood the bike like in a hard enduro and the engine is REALLY hot:

all you do is open the valve and a fresh burst of cold air is sucked into the intake...this along with the hot start kickthrough method ensures a hot start everytime...
elsalvadorklr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:16 PM   #7879
mcma111
Beastly Adventurer
 
mcma111's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: San Francisco,Ca.
Oddometer: 10,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dracus124 View Post
Hello I have 83' XL600R, pretty much same engine as the XR.

I was riding the bike today and it started to make a loud racheting/bucket of bolts noise, I never heard before. I immediately pulled over and took my helmet off for a listen, as I revved the sound got worse and louder to the point the I thought the engine was about to grenade or something. I shut it off and chill for a few minutes with my buddy. I go to start it about 10 mins later and it fires right up with no noise. I decided to ride it home 40 miles and it doesn't happen again? wtf could that noise of been?

Got oil???
__________________
Steve in SF

BMW's
58 R26
79 R100s
91 R100gs

87 Harley FXRS-SP ~ 06 KTM 625 SMC ~ 72 Honda CB750/915cc ~ 92 XR600/654cc ~ 95 XR650l/675cc ~ 03 CRF450r ~ 05 CRF450x ~ 02 XR650l/675cc ~ 86 YZ490 ~ 93 YZ80 ~ 93 XR650l Project
mcma111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:17 PM   #7880
elsalvadorklr
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: el salvador
Oddometer: 4,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by martin.kryjom View Post
HI
I do not use chock now at all, so if is normal for that carb that means that it is not indication of the overfolat
About kick start procedure, i know it well, i have used that bike a year before i have decided to spent a lot of money on that.

I did not get ANY instrucions, only for start procedure for engine to check oil pump. But without that forum help i would never start that thing.
MINUNI come as it is, no isntruction, just only set of jets.

May be i should buy MIKUNI pumper? WHat do u think?
why are you going to buy a pumper? rejet you have the jets! just takes a little patience and effort

easy
elsalvadorklr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 07:18 PM   #7881
RFVC600R
SAND EATER!
 
RFVC600R's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: 29 Palms, CA
Oddometer: 1,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcma111 View Post
Got oil???
plenty!
__________________
'83 Honda XL600RXR's Only Exhaust, big tube header, 6-Sigma Racing carb kit, 5Gal Acerbis, Ricky Stator

RIDE RED!
WTB: Honda XR650L bottom end
RFVC600R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 06:48 AM   #7882
tjrockit
One day closer...
 
tjrockit's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 1,212
Anyone able to help me with this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjrockit View Post
I'm wanting to get metric measurements from center of hole to center of hole from 1988 to 2000 XR600R gas tank bracket.



I made a custom bracket to fit a Clarke tank to work on an XR250R but need to drill it still and if the OEM bracket has the correct fit, then I'll just buy a pair.

From the custom bracket I made, the measurements are:

1) 7.5 cm
2) 9.5 cm
3) 4.0 cm

Any help would be greatly appreciated. And yes, I already got plenty of drilling advice and have that covered if I decide to go that direction.
__________________
2007 Honda XR650L
Dirt Roads within a 100 mile radius of Austin, TX
*** The views or comments I express on this site and/or on any other site/forum/social media are strictly my own and do not reflect any past, current or future employer and/or any organization. They are solely my own personal opinions.***

tjrockit screwed with this post 04-26-2013 at 07:57 AM
tjrockit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:25 AM   #7883
mcma111
Beastly Adventurer
 
mcma111's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: San Francisco,Ca.
Oddometer: 10,093
[QUOTE=tjrockit;21272477]

Anyone able to help me with this?

/QUOTE]

The mounts from my 1991 XR600 look a bit different. One of the holes is oval/oblong.

1 = 63mm

2 = 62mm

3 = 40/41mm
__________________
Steve in SF

BMW's
58 R26
79 R100s
91 R100gs

87 Harley FXRS-SP ~ 06 KTM 625 SMC ~ 72 Honda CB750/915cc ~ 92 XR600/654cc ~ 95 XR650l/675cc ~ 03 CRF450r ~ 05 CRF450x ~ 02 XR650l/675cc ~ 86 YZ490 ~ 93 YZ80 ~ 93 XR650l Project
mcma111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:59 AM   #7884
tjrockit
One day closer...
 
tjrockit's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcma111 View Post
The mounts from my 1991 XR600 look a bit different. One of the holes is oval/oblong.

1 = 63mm

2 = 62mm

3 = 40/41mm
Steve, you're always the man!!

Thanks, looks like I be fabbing some new ones and not trying to get the OEM brackets to work. Thanks for saving me some headache. !!
__________________
2007 Honda XR650L
Dirt Roads within a 100 mile radius of Austin, TX
*** The views or comments I express on this site and/or on any other site/forum/social media are strictly my own and do not reflect any past, current or future employer and/or any organization. They are solely my own personal opinions.***

tjrockit screwed with this post 04-26-2013 at 08:12 AM
tjrockit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 06:59 PM   #7885
Alaskajeff
Studly Adventurer
 
Alaskajeff's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Palmer, ALASKA
Oddometer: 964
XR's only clutch cable retainer

I LIKE........
Now all I need is the new lengthened 4" (CORRECT) cable from Motion Pro and I'll be good to go




And now for something completely different

__________________
Palmer, ALASKA
1 Tim 6:11-12 "FIGHT the GOOD Fight"
2011 Verys ADV
92 FATBOY (in rebuild status)
Alaskajeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 11:51 PM   #7886
voltz
Rebuilding
 
voltz's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Taree,Mid North Coast Australia
Oddometer: 94
looks great Jeff !
is this fitting to replace a broken mount or an addition to make it stronger ?
does it require the extended cable you are talking about ?

Regards
Geoff

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Geoff

96 XR600 currently undergoing a makeover
voltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 05:42 AM   #7887
Captain115
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Captain115's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Brisbane, Straya
Oddometer: 226
Hi everyone. This is a question pertaining to a shock rebuild/recondition, so am looking at RoostMaster, beechum and Kenno.

After reading from you guys how easy it was, and seeing how quickly Roost tore his shock apart I thought I'd give it a go and at least put some clean oil in there.

So got it all off, took the spring off and disconnected the reservoir and main body (old school '88 shock with a tube between them). Removed circlips from both, but can't get either the reservoir bladder (nothing to grab?) or the shaft in the main shock out? Please see photo.



It says just to tap with a mallet, but I've done that and nothing is happening. Thought I'd double check the procedure before I continue bashing away.

Also check out the oil!



Cheers,

John
Captain115 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 06:51 AM   #7888
mcma111
Beastly Adventurer
 
mcma111's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: San Francisco,Ca.
Oddometer: 10,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain115 View Post


Pry that seal up the shaft and push the center down and you will see a small wire clip (item # 21) that you will have to pry out. That will free up the insides to come out of the body. Same for the reservoir.

__________________
Steve in SF

BMW's
58 R26
79 R100s
91 R100gs

87 Harley FXRS-SP ~ 06 KTM 625 SMC ~ 72 Honda CB750/915cc ~ 92 XR600/654cc ~ 95 XR650l/675cc ~ 03 CRF450r ~ 05 CRF450x ~ 02 XR650l/675cc ~ 86 YZ490 ~ 93 YZ80 ~ 93 XR650l Project
mcma111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 12:05 PM   #7889
mikeames
n00b
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Oddometer: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by voltz View Post
looks great Jeff !
is this fitting to replace a broken mount or an addition to make it stronger ?
does it require the extended cable you are talking about ?
I'm wondering the same thing...
mikeames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 12:10 PM   #7890
Alaskajeff
Studly Adventurer
 
Alaskajeff's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Palmer, ALASKA
Oddometer: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by voltz View Post
looks great Jeff !
is this fitting to replace a broken mount or an addition to make it stronger ?
does it require the extended cable you are talking about ?

Regards
Geoff

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2
Geoff, this mod does not require a longer cable. I have 4 1/2" of rise on my bars so I need a longer cable. You do need to grind off the original mount for this to fit. It's made to be a more secure perch after the OEM one gets worn out or broken.
__________________
Palmer, ALASKA
1 Tim 6:11-12 "FIGHT the GOOD Fight"
2011 Verys ADV
92 FATBOY (in rebuild status)
Alaskajeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014