![]() |
01-02-2013, 07:34 AM
|
#19501 |
|
Studly Adventurer
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Richmond,VA
Oddometer: 568
|
Sweet looking Eldorado!! Wish I had room for another bike in my garage.
__________________
Greg '07 BMW R1200 GSA,'62 Ducati 200 Elite SS,'61 BMW R50/2,'05 Honda CRF 230F/Baha Kit "Those who hammer their guns into plows will plow for those who do not..." - Thomas Jefferson |
|
|
01-02-2013, 08:33 AM
|
#19502 |
|
Major Medical
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Maricrapa AZ
Oddometer: 3,192
|
Settle down Francis
we all know Craigslist is loaded with scammers...your right, all those ads appear to be just that.My bad for posting it....nuked for your reading pleasure but I can't remove the quotes...
__________________
Mike Reinheitsgebot '07 990ADV '08 530EXCR '04 XR650L Bonsai Elephant - "Life without a 990 is no life at all!" |
|
|
01-02-2013, 08:51 AM
|
#19503 | |
|
squirrel
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: South/central Va
Oddometer: 1,127
|
Quote:
we all know you're just trying to corner all the sweet deals for yourself. |
|
|
|
01-02-2013, 09:02 AM
|
#19504 |
|
Gnarly Adventurer
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Spotsylvania, VA
Oddometer: 371
|
Well I just set up a bogus email account and sent a message to the seller / Scam Artist. If it is for real, it will be parked in my garage.
__________________
Kurt Nordstrom Spotsylvania, VA |
|
|
01-02-2013, 10:18 AM
|
#19505 | |
|
Beastly Adventurer
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: North Chesterfield, VA
Oddometer: 7,673
|
Quote:
I'm sure some are scams, but how can you know for sure? Yeah, I know the old adage that if it seems too good........ but until you at least inquire, how can you tell? My CL South Bend lathe ad seemed to be too good to be true, but it turned out to be a legit ad and it is now sitting in my garage. Inquiring minds want to know. ![]() .
__________________
GB Young Services, LLC Garage Project: http://gbyoung2.smugmug.com/Family/G...11686385_YA8pi |
|
|
|
01-02-2013, 10:29 AM
|
#19506 |
|
Beastly Adventurer
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: North Chesterfield, VA
Oddometer: 7,673
|
Please ignore the sarcasm - that was a serious question.
.
__________________
GB Young Services, LLC Garage Project: http://gbyoung2.smugmug.com/Family/G...11686385_YA8pi |
|
|
01-02-2013, 10:55 AM
|
#19507 |
|
Skid plate tester
Joined: May 2008
Location: Near Richmond VA
Oddometer: 1,457
|
I agree with Guy. When Burtonrider was looking at his WR, lots of people told him it was a scam. People sell stuff cheap for a number of reasons. Other people try to look like they are selling stuff cheap for a number of other reasons.
My suggestion is, get a free email account that you only use for talking to craigslist people. If they turn out to be full of it, then they are full of it. If it is a legitimate deal, then buy it if you want it.
__________________
2009 Wee-Strom, 2008 WR250R |
|
|
01-02-2013, 11:04 AM
|
#19508 |
|
Addicited to ALL bikes!
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Chester,VA. Growing on me or getting used to it?
Oddometer: 1,714
|
LOL!
![]() Historically, scammers do a few things to give themselves away. 1. They post ads with stupid catchy exclamation points and other punctuation marks i.e. "^^^**2012 Honda GoldWing{}{}$3200 MINT!. Why they do this, I don't know. Maybe they think it catches attention. Tag Auto/Cycle does this too and they drive me nuts as well. 2. The prices are always absurdly low so that some poor sucker sitting at his desk fires off an urgent e-mail stating that HE wants to buy it ASAP! 3. For some reason, they love to list things at $2495, $2999 and $4495, again, I have no clue why. 4. They rarely list a city after the title. 5. They don't take the time to list more than one picture as it takes away from posting other BS phishing ads. 6. They NEVER have a phone number 7. Frequently, the English is horrible or odd...i.e. "Honda Goldwing, ride good like new and very beautiful" WTF, can you imagine any of us posting an ad stating this!? 8. The pictures will often contain an e-mail so that they can get you to e-mail them off of CL. See example: http://richmond.craigslist.org/mcd/3510466328.html 9. For fun, you can play with them, they will send you a e-mail about being sent to London for 12 weeks and that their bike is in a warehouse in Knoxville, TN, they can have their carrier deliver it to you, with a 72 return guarantee pending your inspection, oh, and they currently have no phone, no land line, they will tell you how urgent this is, send a deposit, etc... The sad thing is that people still fall for it, if they put out 500 ads in a day all over the US and 30 respond, they might get 3 or 4 to send a $500 deposit. $2000 a day is A LOT of money in Russia! Most are no longer in Kenya. 10. The same bike can frequently be found for sale hundreds of miles away. People who only scan the Richmond CL would never know this but if you use something like searchtempest.com when looking for a specific bike, you would encounter it more often. Like Jeremy said, set up a fake e-mail and have fun! Buyer beware!
__________________
Me: BMW F800GS/DRZ-400S, Gabriel: KTM 50 Senior Adventure! |
|
|
01-02-2013, 11:38 AM
|
#19509 | |
|
Skid plate tester
Joined: May 2008
Location: Near Richmond VA
Oddometer: 1,457
|
Quote:
![]() Oh and the example craigslist add is funny. I had an image from one that was the best add for an old 80s GM car ever. If I can find it I will post it up.{}{{}}^^^## I also suspect the odd characters are to help confuse automated spam filtering.
__________________
2009 Wee-Strom, 2008 WR250R |
|
|
|
01-02-2013, 02:55 PM
|
#19510 |
|
Studly Adventurer
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Richmond,VA
Oddometer: 568
|
Is anyone going to the MOTORCYCLE SHOW this Friday? I may be able to go but have patients until 2:00.
__________________
Greg '07 BMW R1200 GSA,'62 Ducati 200 Elite SS,'61 BMW R50/2,'05 Honda CRF 230F/Baha Kit "Those who hammer their guns into plows will plow for those who do not..." - Thomas Jefferson |
|
|
01-02-2013, 03:26 PM
|
#19511 |
|
Super Lurker
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Eastern, VA
Oddometer: 1,954
|
So I understand Friday is not crowded but are all the exhibits set up? I always went on Saturday and after a few hours it is packed.
__________________
![]() Wee Stommin along. ![]() W/ABS |
|
|
01-02-2013, 04:19 PM
|
#19512 |
|
Skid plate tester
Joined: May 2008
Location: Near Richmond VA
Oddometer: 1,457
|
I'm out. Realized I'm not excited to go. Hopefully I'll be going to pick up a new dog.
__________________
2009 Wee-Strom, 2008 WR250R |
|
|
01-02-2013, 05:46 PM
|
#19513 |
|
Bring Me Meat!
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: HIGWORLD.com
Oddometer: 656
|
I'm heading up Saturday. Can't get Friday off.
__________________
Rick Higgins - '92 Concours (Buzz Box) - '96 BMW R1100GS (Max) "I’m lost. I’ve gone to look for myself. If I should return before I get back, please ask me to wait." |
|
|
01-02-2013, 05:52 PM
|
#19514 | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Addicited to ALL bikes!
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Chester,VA. Growing on me or getting used to it?
Oddometer: 1,714
|
Quote:
Friday:
Saturday:
Sunday (kids get in FREE with paying adult)
__________________
Me: BMW F800GS/DRZ-400S, Gabriel: KTM 50 Senior Adventure! |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
01-02-2013, 07:36 PM
|
#19515 |
|
Adventurer
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Shortpump, Va.
Oddometer: 25
|
Ktm on Craig's list
|
|
|
![]() |
| Share |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|