User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-20-2008, 05:25 PM   #1
johnnyc14 OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 205
Honda CL450 resto

Well, I have a couple of weeks off and decided to get at my CL450 resto project. I've been collecting parts for 2 years now and I think I have 90% of what I need. Here's some pics.

Frame bead blasted and painted with epoxy paint

Engine on the Stand, note the oily left exhaust port

Cylinders are pretty worn out but I have o/s pistons and rings.

Crank and trans are like new.

Lots of spooge in the sump, taking these parts to work for cleaning in the Storm King.

Big pile of parts

I hope to be riding this in the spring
johnnyc14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 05:44 PM   #2
CZRIDER
Adventurer

Oddometer: 21
Nice!!! Love those old Hondas!!!!
CZRIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 10:38 PM   #3
MNellis
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 127
That looks great just the way it is. After I'm done with my '68 CL350 I'd like to pick up a CL 450 as well.

Nice bike.
MNellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 03:57 AM   #4
johnnyc14 OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Thanks guys, the biggest reason I took it apart was the sick engine, low compression on the left cylinder. Then I got the bug and decided to go through the whole bike.
Old 12-21-2008, 09:21 PM   #5
Doug Matson
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,704
I remember test riding the first 450 that came into So Cal when I was in high school. It was a CB and thought it was huge compared to my CB160, it was. The CL was so much nicer looking, CB tank was ugly! Nice bike.
93' XR 200
72' SL 100
67' Triumph Bonneville
70' CB 350
65' CB 160
Doug Matson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 08:47 AM   #6
AlfromMI
Long distance nut

Oddometer: 126