User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-14-2009, 07:37 AM   #1
GSCowboy OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 55
Just Retired And Planning Trip please help

I am retiring and my last day is 1/16/09. I am 52 years old and have been blessed in many more ways than I deserve. I have a 06 1200GS and have the desire to spend at least about 6 weeks traveling the US. I live in central Texas. I will plan to start in late spring to afford the best weather. I want to see the most beautiful places in the country. I have take many 3 to 7 day trips and have experienced a few 1000+ mile days so I have some knowledge of seat time and fatigue.

Please help with ideas of route to take starting from central Texas and going west first.
GSCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 07:50 AM   #2
Crusier Dude
pavement inspecter

Oddometer: 300
Hi GSCowboy.

Hello Cowboy,

I am 55 and FORCED into early retirement. Not a bad thing but trying to get used to it. (hahahaha)

I live in Boise Idaho and we have allot of great riding and sight seeing any direction out of Boise.

Why don't you stay in touch as see if you make it this way. I ride a 2005 Suzuki V Strom as a dual sport and a Yamaha Stratoliner for a road bike.

PM me if and when you think you might get out west. There is another guy from Texas that I have chatted with that is coming out West this summer. He isn't sure if he is coming all the way to Boise but I let him know he has a room and shower and I cook a pretty good BBQ meal. Also have a garage to keep the bikes in and most tools. Live really close to the BMW and KTM dealer here in Boise.

Hope to see you out this way if your plans work out.

Can't post any pictures now but I have posted several of both my bikes in the past when the server would allow it.

Les in Boise.
Crusier Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 08:09 AM   #3
tricepilot
El Gran Payaso

Oddometer: 8,211
Congratulations on your retirement