ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2009, 11:54 AM   #1
Jellyrug OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Jellyrug's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Pinehurst NC
Oddometer: 156
276C reliability

Are everyone enjoying their 276C Garmins?

Mine was great, got the auto kit and the lady told me where to ride.

First time I put it on my Husky, using the best Touratech mount, my Husky scared the s^^ out of the lady, she no longer talks.

Since the lady stopped talking, I don't know where to go with my car.

Anyone else having reliability issues?
__________________
08 TE610ie, Hayabusa K9, 10 Harley Superglide, K7 GSXR 600.
Jellyrug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 11:57 AM   #2
nyc_gs
Lurker
 
nyc_gs's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: NYC
Oddometer: 241
All good

I've had mine for 3+ years now and it has taken quite a lot in terms of vibration, etc and I have had no issues.

Are you certain you didn't just turn the voice off in the prefs? You can turn it on and off.

I would double-check that.

-- Jason
nyc_gs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 12:03 PM   #3
Jellyrug OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Jellyrug's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Pinehurst NC
Oddometer: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyc_gs
I've had mine for 3+ years now and it has taken quite a lot in terms of vibration, etc and I have had no issues.

Are you certain you didn't just turn the voice off in the prefs? You can turn it on and off.

I would double-check that.

-- Jason
Thanks Jason, thats reassuring, techie here checked it out, lady just buzzes, tried a different speaker, same thing. Must be the growl of that Husky. She sounded like a bit of a smoker in the beginning, now she just hums. Garmin has an exchange on its way, I should be good.
__________________
08 TE610ie, Hayabusa K9, 10 Harley Superglide, K7 GSXR 600.
Jellyrug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 12:09 PM   #4
Gummee!
That's MR. Toothless
 
Gummee!'s Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: NoVA for now...
Oddometer: 27,680
I turned that annoying bitch off soon after I got my 276c. I couldn't tell you whether she talks or not anymore!

I upgraded to a 512 card finally! and its nice having the southern half of the country on my GPS. Which reminds me! I need to take off the eastern portion and add more in CA and northwards to UT/ID 'just in case.'

M
__________________
I'm a cyclist that rides motos, not a moto rider that rides bicycles.
Gummee! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 12:24 PM   #5
SOLO LOBO
airhead or nothing
 
SOLO LOBO's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Shoreline, WA
Oddometer: 8,567
On a similar note, by 276c seems to have a hard time connecting with satelites... moch more so than my old 176c did... I have used both the stock antenna as well as a remote Glisson that should bring much more db gain (think that's what it is called)

Is there any way to check, reset or do something to the 267c to see if it is working as it should?

Thanks!
__________________
"punkrocks what it's all about" - J. Strummer



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stagehand
your bike is suitably dirty. Well done.
SOLO LOBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 12:30 PM   #6
Jellyrug OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Jellyrug's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Pinehurst NC
Oddometer: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gummee!
I turned that annoying bitch off soon after I got my 276c. I couldn't tell you whether she talks or not anymore!

I upgraded to a 512 card finally! and its nice having the southern half of the country on my GPS. Which reminds me! I need to take off the eastern portion and add more in CA and northwards to UT/ID 'just in case.'

M
Curious, are you using the uncompressed map "City Navigator", or the compressed software "City Navigator NT"?
__________________
08 TE610ie, Hayabusa K9, 10 Harley Superglide, K7 GSXR 600.
Jellyrug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 12:31 PM   #7
Jellyrug OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Jellyrug's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Pinehurst NC
Oddometer: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOLO LOBO
On a similar note, by 276c seems to have a hard time connecting with satelites... moch more so than my old 176c did... I have used both the stock antenna as well as a remote Glisson that should bring much more db gain (think that's what it is called)

Is there any way to check, reset or do something to the 267c to see if it is working as it should?

Thanks!
The antenna must face up to the sky, is this how you have it mounted?
__________________
08 TE610ie, Hayabusa K9, 10 Harley Superglide, K7 GSXR 600.
Jellyrug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 12:36 PM   #8
nyc_gs
Lurker
 
nyc_gs's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: NYC
Oddometer: 241
Batteries

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOLO LOBO
On a similar note, by 276c seems to have a hard time connecting with satelites... moch more so than my old 176c did... I have used both the stock antenna as well as a remote Glisson that should bring much more db gain (think that's what it is called)

Is there any way to check, reset or do something to the 267c to see if it is working as it should?

Thanks!
I have never had this issue, but it is my understanding that if you do have this, you can select the 'Stored w/o Batteries' option when the menu pops up asking if you want to start the simulator. That does a sort of 'reset' and may help you.

-- Jason
nyc_gs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 01:06 PM   #9
SOLO LOBO
airhead or nothing
 
SOLO LOBO's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Shoreline, WA
Oddometer: 8,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jellyrug
The antenna must face up to the sky, is this how you have it mounted?
Always yes on the stock antenna, but I am running this gilsson now... which worked like crazy on my 176c.



http://www.cascadegps.com/store/prod...cat=124&page=1
__________________
"punkrocks what it's all about" - J. Strummer



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stagehand
your bike is suitably dirty. Well done.
SOLO LOBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 01:06 PM   #10
SOLO LOBO
airhead or nothing
 
SOLO LOBO's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Shoreline, WA
Oddometer: 8,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyc_gs
I have never had this issue, but it is my understanding that if you do have this, you can select the 'Stored w/o Batteries' option when the menu pops up asking if you want to start the simulator. That does a sort of 'reset' and may help you.

-- Jason
Thanks Jason, I will give that a shot tonight!
__________________
"punkrocks what it's all about" - J. Strummer



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stagehand
your bike is suitably dirty. Well done.
SOLO LOBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 01:17 PM   #11
jdaniele
Studly Adventurer
 
jdaniele's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Now residing in Queens
Oddometer: 949
Love my 276c been through a bit still works fine.

Check out this link for some 276c secrets.

http://home.online.no/~sigurdhu/GPSm...C_commands.htm
__________________
JD (K2ADV)

"These pretzels are makin me thirsty"

I can't seem to remember why I don't drink anymore.
jdaniele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 06:05 AM   #12
BWalker
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BWalker's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Pittsburg,Tx
Oddometer: 176
I recently had some issues with trying to load maps from Mapsource NT on my 276c but after I downloaded a device software update everything works great. If you don't have software ver 5.3 you might try the free download from Garmin.
__________________
Bob
'12 BMW K1600GTL
'00 BMW K1200LT Trike
Pittsburg,Tx
BWalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:19 PM   #13
bandera
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 17
Bullet Proof

My 276C was just replaced with a new Zumo and now I am using it in the car. The unit is 5 years old and has 70,000+ moto miles on it. I've never had a problem with the 276C--bullet proof.
bandera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 02:48 PM   #14
ebbo
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ebbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: England
Oddometer: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jellyrug
Thanks Jason, thats reassuring, techie here checked it out, lady just buzzes, tried a different speaker, same thing. Must be the growl of that Husky. She sounded like a bit of a smoker in the beginning, now she just hums. Garmin has an exchange on its way, I should be good.
My first 276c developed an intermittent fault were the audio output turned to a really nasty buzz instead of words. I put up with it for quite a while then chopped it in for a refurb when it couldn’t find satellites anymore. The second one’s a year old and ok so far.

PS, fault was on speaker and audio out to Autocom...
__________________
Martin Ebdon, England, R1200RT
Orkney 2009 trip report
ebbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 12:28 PM   #15
ObiWanJak
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ObiWanJak's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Monterey, CA
Oddometer: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOLO LOBO
On a similar note, by 276c seems to have a hard time connecting with satelites... moch more so than my old 176c did... I have used both the stock antenna as well as a remote Glisson that should bring much more db gain (think that's what it is called)

Is there any way to check, reset or do something to the 267c to see if it is working as it should?

Thanks!
A common problem with the 276 is the backup battery going dead. This will cause the GPS internal clock to drop out and dramatically increase satellite acquisition times. Turn your GPS on and see if the time on the satellite status page is up to date. If the time starts counting up from the last time it had a satellite fix, then your backup battery is dead (should keep counting forward even when turned off). Seach this forum for 276c battery and you'll find a thread on replacement - costs about $5 and about 90 minutes w/ a soldering iron. Questions shoot me a PM.

Loren
ObiWanJak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014