ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2009, 11:13 AM   #1
jimmy2020 OP
limpiador de ventanas
 
jimmy2020's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: BERTHOUD, COLORADO / SANTA TERESA, CR
Oddometer: 977
battery life of 60csx?

looks like it runs on 2 AAA's. How many hours can you typically get out of a set. I have an old etrex and battery life is more like 6 hours (ie..dies during a long day).
I'm headed down to ride in Costa Rica and seems like the 60csx is going to be my companion and I don't plan to hardwire.

Thanks Jim
__________________
jim

"the adrenaline and stress of an adventure are better than a thousand peaceful days"
jimmy2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 11:20 AM   #2
CanyonRider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
CanyonRider's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: North Carolina
Oddometer: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy2020
looks like it runs on 2 AAA's. How many hours can you typically get out of a set. I have an old etrex and battery life is more like 6 hours (ie..dies during a long day).
I'm headed down to ride in Costa Rica and seems like the 60csx is going to be my companion and I don't plan to hardwire.

Thanks Jim
Two AA not AAA. Mine lasts around 5-6hrs as I recall. I went ahead and hardwired after my first all-day trip. You should really consider hardwiring.
__________________
1990 Moto Guzzi California III CI
2000 Cagiva Gran Canyon
2000 Suzuki DR-Z400S
CanyonRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 11:23 AM   #3
crashmaster
ow, my balls!
 
crashmaster's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Girdweed, AK
Oddometer: 5,009
2 AA's. I have the 60Cx but the only difference is that I dont have a baro altimeter or a magnetic compass Not sure if those two features on the Csx eat up considerably more battery power or not.

With the backlight turned off and regular alkaline batteries I get roughly 14 hours. with the Li batteries I get considerably more time but I have not made a note of it.

With the backlight on I estimate that I get around 8 hours.
__________________
Riding the Americas: No Fumar Español
_____________________________________________

crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 12:06 PM   #4
tedder
irregular
 
tedder's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles (ktown)
Oddometer: 8,797
supposedly they last 16-20 hours.

But if you are on a bike, expect it to turn off automatically unless you hardwire. Any bumps, even on-road, will cause it to do so.

It isn't hard to hardwire, even on a rental bike (assuming that's what you are doing in CR).
tedder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 12:18 PM   #5
freeflow
get in or go in
 
freeflow's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: GB-Wisconsin
Oddometer: 15,210
I throw my 60CX in a small tankbag (Wolfman) on my XR650R when doing some offroad desert stuff. I usually get a few days of riding out of a set of AAs. IIRC, 5 days of baja riding and on all the time, I think I only went thru 2 sets of AAs.

When on a KLR or Vstrom, I have it hardwired and a RAM mount. hardwire is much better and then backlight stays on full time.

I am very very satisfied with my 60CX
freeflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 12:31 PM   #6
jimmy2020 OP
limpiador de ventanas
 
jimmy2020's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: BERTHOUD, COLORADO / SANTA TERESA, CR
Oddometer: 977
thanks guys. it will be a rental in Costa Rica and I guess I will hardwire as most of you have suggested.
Does the hardwire have an inline fuse so I could connect straight to the battery? I'm asking because I once fried an ETREX.
__________________
jim

"the adrenaline and stress of an adventure are better than a thousand peaceful days"
jimmy2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 12:34 PM   #7
tedder
irregular
 
tedder's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles (ktown)
Oddometer: 8,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy2020
thanks guys. it will be a rental in Costa Rica and I guess I will hardwire as most of you have suggested.
Does the hardwire have an inline fuse so I could connect straight to the battery? I'm asking because I once fried an ETREX.
Um, the wire I have in front of me doesn't have a fuse, but it uses a very tiny gauge wire. I don't know how you could fry a 60, unless you reversed the polarity.
tedder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 12:35 PM   #8
Tappet
Feral
 
Tappet's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: South Africa
Oddometer: 1,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy2020
Does the hardwire have an inline fuse so I could connect straight to the battery? I'm asking because I once fried an ETREX.
For those too useless to build this up themselves (like myself), touratech does a nice little kit:

http://www.cycoactive.com/ram/ram60.shtml


Tappet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 12:53 PM   #9
jimmy2020 OP
limpiador de ventanas
 
jimmy2020's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: BERTHOUD, COLORADO / SANTA TERESA, CR
Oddometer: 977
FYI, I just called Touratech and it sounds like it can be wired directly to a M/C battery. It supposedly handles a range of 6 - ~20 volts. Where the ETREX, that I fried, is limited to 5 volts.
__________________
jim

"the adrenaline and stress of an adventure are better than a thousand peaceful days"
jimmy2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 12:58 PM   #10
markjenn
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Swellvue, WA
Oddometer: 10,311
I wouldn't screw around with hard-wiring on a rental. Irrespective of the setup hassle, many of the touring companies really don't want you messing around with their bikes. The drop out problem is curable by shimming the batteries and the back-lite is worthless except at night. I get 15 hrs +/- (basically 3-days if you turn it off at stops) on disposable AA's without backlight on. And being able to pop it out of the mount when you leave the bike without having to screw around with wiring is nice. KISS.

If you do hard-wire and don't shim the batteries, you need to remove them - leaving them in and unshmmed may still cause dropouts, even with hard-wiring.

- Mark
markjenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 01:32 PM   #11
tedder
irregular
 
tedder's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles (ktown)
Oddometer: 8,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjenn
If you do hard-wire and don't shim the batteries, you need to remove them - leaving them in and unshmmed may still cause dropouts, even with hard-wiring.
I've never had dropouts while the 60 series was powered externally with batteries installed. Ever.
tedder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 06:59 PM   #12
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedder
I've never had dropouts while the 60 series was powered externally with batteries installed. Ever.
Doesn't mean it won't happen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ever!
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 07:04 PM   #13
BryceB
It's OK we know the Mayor
 
BryceB's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Acworth, GA
Oddometer: 296
I've had good luck with putting a bit of dielectric grease on the battery contacts of the 60CSx and that stops mine from turning off in bumps. 99 cents for a pack at the counter of just about any autozone or advance autoparts. I do have mine hardwired now though.
__________________
"It sure beats working all week, boozing it up in some smoky bar or sitting around watching the world go to Hell in living color and still ending up, just before payday, flat broke as usual. That's only existing, not really living."-Don Marshall, Cycles South, 1971
'08 KLR650 - Blue 21 & '06 Ninja 650R - Galaxy Silver
BryceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 07:29 PM   #14
tedder
irregular
 
tedder's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles (ktown)
Oddometer: 8,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown
Doesn't mean it won't happen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ever!
Nope, but I've been using the 60 series since 2004, have gone above the arctic circle, to the equator, and dual-sported in some incredibly difficult places and haven't had it drop out. I've had the RAM mounting balls break from vibration, I've had parts of motorcycles fall off from vibration, and I've had the whole assembly fall off in offroad crashes. But the GPS hasn't turned off.

I'm not saying it won't happen- markjenn says it does, and I believe him. I'm saying I haven't seen it.
tedder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 07:50 PM   #15
Tappet
Feral
 
Tappet's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: South Africa
Oddometer: 1,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedder
I've never had dropouts while the 60 series was powered externally with batteries installed. Ever.
Incase anyone else encounters it, I was having dropouts under battery power & not external power.

Garmin support suggested it was due to a full memory card, so I upgraded the size, reset the unit & its been fine since.
Tappet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014