ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Some Assembly Required
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2009, 06:21 AM   #46
DRjoe OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
DRjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Sunshine coast qld
Oddometer: 4,870
I'm back

Ok so i have finaly got motivated and started on the dr again.

I have bought a programmable cdi from these guys http://www.ignitech.cz/english/aindex.htm


I have ordered a set of black plastics for a drz400e you never know they might fit.

A fellow inmate put me on to these lights from hella so I have ordered one for low beam and i have some projector lights that I'll use for high beam.


I have started on the rally style light mount/ nav tower thingy.
Here are a few pics of the first stages with my newely aquired touratech road book.




I decided against welding a lug to the steering stem so i made a bracket that bolts on.





The bottom light thats in the pic is just there to show me what it will look like i'll eventualy instal the hella there.
Should i go with two top lights


Or one


New handle bars, the local bike shop say there un-bendable


sorry about the small photos.

What do you all think?
DRjoe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 07:41 AM   #47
Mezo
Banned
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane,Australia.
Oddometer: 2,129
Wicked Pulls up chair

Excellent Joe

Haa, programable cdi, i was talking to Sander the other week about the same thing.

Lukas will love this, you going to make a fairing to cover the lights yeah ?



Mezo.
Mezo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 10:02 AM   #48
DisTech
Studly Adventurer
 
DisTech's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 616
Beautiful work Joe! How are you cutting your brackets? You have a laser or water jet cutting table? Looks like you have metal forming equipment and skills as well.

Does the bracket passing between the forks interfere with turning radius?

I like the look of two top lights, but not sure what that would do to the final fairing. How much gear are you going to run besides those lights? Will you have enough juice?

I'm on board!
__________________
DisTech - Suzuki (1993 DR350S & 1994 DR350, 1996 DR650/DR790), BMW (1999 R1100GS)
DisTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 01:16 AM   #49
DRjoe OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
DRjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Sunshine coast qld
Oddometer: 4,870
Quote:
you going to make a fairing to cover the lights yeah ?
There will be a fairing, i dont know if i'm going to make it from scratch or convert a bought one.

Quote:
How are you cutting your brackets? You have a laser or water jet cutting table? Looks like you have metal forming equipment and skills as well.
I'm cutting the brackets with a very cheap jig saw and finishing them with a file and a sander.
I'm bending the brackets buy hand in a vice.
Its not that hard.

Quote:
How much gear are you going to run besides those lights? Will you have enough juice?
I'll use HID for low beam and halogen for high beam so it should only total about 115w to 145w depending on what lights are use for what beam.
I'll run heated

The original cdi is powered buy a seperate alternator, the new one just runs off the battery I'm not sure how much power the cdi will use.
It does mean i can put a regulator on the spare power out put that comes from the alternator.
In other words i can have two charging systems and maybe even two baterys.


What should i make the fairing out of plastic or glass fiber?
If i go glass fiber i'll make a composite using alloy sheet to make the shape and then sandwich that in fiber glass.


thanks for the input guys.

Joe
DRjoe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 05:11 AM   #50
Mezo
Banned
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane,Australia.
Oddometer: 2,129
Haaa, be like close encounters comming down the highway





Mezo.
Mezo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 06:46 AM   #51
NOSIGN
Adventurer
 
NOSIGN's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Melbourne, VIc
Oddometer: 94
thats gonna be awesome. I think i'd use two lights not three, but im interested either way. Nice work so far!
__________________
NOSIGN

DR650SE ('97) current project
CBR954 ('03) daily ride
CBR900 ('96) the 'ol days
CR250 ('03), 125 ('89), 80 ('85) the 'ol days
KX80 ('92) the 'ol days
NOSIGN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 06:55 AM   #52
Mezo
Banned
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane,Australia.
Oddometer: 2,129
Thumb Programmable CDi

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRjoe
I have bought a programmable cdi from these guys http://www.ignitech.cz/english/aindex.htm
Hey Joe ive been reading other forums on that clever bit of kit, shift light, rev limiter, quick shifter, tacho, kill switch, program button (allows you to press a button & change the ignition timing for a given time set by you) handy in the wet. You can set the ignition at 15 points through the rev range, i think ? if its the same as other ones for other bikes.

And you could use this a a nifty security device (if yer smart)

Looks pretty simple to hook up.





Mezo.
Mezo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 06:57 AM   #53
dylandr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dylandr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: South Africa
Oddometer: 204
Got the 2008 DR 650 and just did some mods to give it that ralley look too. but I wasn't keen to strip the stock stuff off the front of my baby... So I left it on and built around it. Wish I had the guts to just rip the front end off! Looks good though... show me more
dylandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 07:10 AM   #54
Mezo
Banned
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane,Australia.
Oddometer: 2,129
Wicked We`ll show you ours, if you show us yours.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dylandr
did some mods to give it that ralley look too. but I wasn't keen to strip the stock stuff off the front of my baby... So I left it on and built around it. Looks good though... show me more
Well lets see yours then

And fill out your profile

Mezo.
Mezo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 07:28 AM   #55
dylandr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dylandr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: South Africa
Oddometer: 204
Shit

Gonna have to hold on a while... only large pics available!
dylandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 07:36 AM   #56
dylandr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dylandr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: South Africa
Oddometer: 204
No worries will be sorted soon.

Will take som more tonight... Gotta get the size right cause this forum doesn't take a huge format Jpeg
dylandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 07:40 AM   #57
pookiebear
Studly Adventurer
 
pookiebear's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: CharVegas
Oddometer: 936
This thread needs WAY more pics.
tuning in for sure.
pookiebear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 11:04 PM   #58
DRjoe OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
DRjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Sunshine coast qld
Oddometer: 4,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mezo
Hey Joe ive been reading other forums on that clever bit of kit, shift light, rev limiter, quick shifter, tacho, kill switch, program button (allows you to press a button & change the ignition timing for a given time set by you) handy in the wet. You can set the ignition at 15 points through the rev range, i think ? if its the same as other ones for other bikes.

And you could use this a a nifty security device (if yer smart)

Looks pretty simple to hook up.





Mezo.
the cdi came with a wiring loom for the dr and it came with a disk that has what they think your timing should be set at.

Its just plug and play.

You can get the cheaper one for a standard dr that will do 2D maps but i wanted to use the tps sensor that's on the pumper carb so i can have 3D maps.

It has several outputs for shift lights, solenoid's and servo's and also it has two inputs that you can choose what they do i'll have one set to retard the ignition so that i can run on crap fuel and the other will be an engine cut out connected to the clutch, this cuts the engine for a preset time when the clutch is pulled so that you can change gear whilst still on the throttle.
(that's mainly to protect the gear box from my lack of riding skills)



I'll try and get some more work done tonight and then i can post some more pictures to keep you all happy
DRjoe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 03:10 AM   #59
dylandr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dylandr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: South Africa
Oddometer: 204
damnit

Having problems uploading pics... any advice?
dylandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 03:11 AM   #60
LukasM
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: On a RTW ride - currently Central Asia
Oddometer: 5,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylandr
Having problems uploading pics... any advice?
Photobucket.com Free, easy, quick
LukasM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014