ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 81 votes, 4.95 average. Display Modes
Old 03-14-2014, 09:05 PM   #6856
focallength
Sexual Tyrannosaurus
 
focallength's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Laffin at yer mule
Oddometer: 4,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikonsAndVStroms View Post
So my friend is looking for a gaming PC but doesn't want to build one so I put together the lazy mans version which also happens to be a pretty fucking fast PC for anything else too.

http://www.shopping.hp.com/en_US/hom...0qe-Desktop-PC

i5 quad core (a hair faster than my Xeon Workstation from 2010, if you need more CPU you are a big time power user) the only add on is for the 8GB single DIMM for 60 bucks. And the power supply can handle a GTX 750 Ti and being a small card it SHOULD fit, that's the 1 last thing I need to look into is if there is an open slot above it.

But your talking 750 for a computer than can do photo/video editing without much hassle. Has a solid upgrade path (16GB/SSD) for a refresh, and will be close to XB1/PS4 graphics.
I recently got a lenovo 710p Its around $950, comes with an I7 quad core, 2 750i graphics cards, a gig or memory, 8mb of ram with an extra slot for another 8mb. Itll do photo editing/video editing, play the most recent games. It uses SLI for gaming, so if the game dosent have SLI compatibility itll only run on one graphics card. It has 8mb of ( I forget what its called) boot up storage so it starts within seconds. Battery life is short about an hour of regular use, if you want to do anything major it has to be plugged in. You can swap out one of the graphics cards for another fan or a drive.

I only play WOT on it right now, all settings maxed, its not SLI enabled so it only uses 1 graphics card, but I average 50fps on it. Ive seen video of people playing the latest and greatest games all on maxed or close to maxed settings with no lag.

I know itll run titanfall on close to max with no issuses, Its supposed to run witcher 3 on max settings w/o problems, so far theres no game it cant handle. I just hope itll be able to run cyberpunk 2077 when it comes out...who knows when thatll be...Im thinking that game wont be able to be ran on anything currently out.
__________________
I went to Anne Frank's house and got kicked out, because I complained about the Feng Shui

focallength screwed with this post 03-14-2014 at 09:31 PM
focallength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 01:51 AM   #6857
tserts
Praise San Irritrack
 
tserts's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Yunanistan (Stans baby!)
Oddometer: 2,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by YakSpout View Post

Would one of you DayZ'ers point me that way?
Install Day-z commander on top of the steam installation, then use it to install add-ons. Once you install the two major, big add-ons (don't remember their names, but you will see they are used on thousands of servers), you will be able to connect to a lot more servers.
__________________
BMW F 800 GS 2010 - My Brunhilde
New toys to brake!
Road Rush (Romania, Serbia)
Peloponnese Peninsula on two Africa Twins
9 countries in 15 days - Tserts.eu
tserts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 10:00 AM   #6858
OConnor
Bad juju
 
OConnor's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Midwest
Oddometer: 3,363
Anyone buy Titanfall yet? Review?
__________________
2008 GSX1250N
2006 Ducati S2R1000
1990 HD Ultra Classic
2000 Suzuki SV650 track bike
1971 CB175 vintage racer inabox
OConnor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 11:04 AM   #6859
Jeffy
Hmm...
 
Jeffy's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: SF - East Bay
Oddometer: 4,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by OConnor View Post
Anyone buy Titanfall yet? Review?
I'm going to pass I think, 6 player teams is way too small and no SP mode at all.
__________________
"I'm going to shift gears now.... This will involve man touching." - Jeremy Clarkson
Jeffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 04:31 PM   #6860
YakSpout
Obstacle Allusion
 
YakSpout's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: all by myself
Oddometer: 5,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by tserts View Post
Install Day-z commander on top of the steam installation, then use it to install add-ons. Once you install the two major, big add-ons (don't remember their names, but you will see they are used on thousands of servers), you will be able to connect to a lot more servers.
Thanks! I'll give that a shot.
YakSpout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 02:02 PM   #6861
Jeffy
Hmm...
 
Jeffy's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: SF - East Bay
Oddometer: 4,942
Anyone looking forward to Watch Dog?

http://watchdogs.ubi.com/watchdogs/en-us/home/

__________________
"I'm going to shift gears now.... This will involve man touching." - Jeremy Clarkson

Jeffy screwed with this post 03-17-2014 at 02:08 PM
Jeffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 07:34 AM   #6862
RxZ
Legal Drug Dealer
 
RxZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Tyler, TX
Oddometer: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffy View Post
I'm going to pass I think, 6 player teams is way too small and no SP mode at all.
Just wanted to say that I have been enjoying Titanfall quite a bit. At first I thought the 6v6 design might be a little slow, but after playing the beta and now the actual game I think if there were anymore players it may be too busy! There are no maps where I run around and can't find something to shoot at. Map size is just right for 6 players per team with a couple in Titans (big robots) plus the grunt robots that seem to be everywhere. Overall, I feel the game is well balanced, and a lot of fun.

Also, it has been out a week and I might have 5-6 hours in it. I do not get to play any games that much, so I do not have many games in rotation. I'll play Gran Turismo or a mickey mouse game with the kids, then Titanfall at night if there is nothing else going on.

The lack of a single player mode is not a big deal to me though. I haven't played the single player mode in the last 2 or 3 call of dutys! For me it is more fun online where you never really know what is about to happen.
__________________
2002 Yamaha FZ1
RxZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 09:22 AM   #6863
liquidsmile
Beastly Adventurer
 
liquidsmile's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ga
Oddometer: 1,342
[QUOTE=Jeffy;23715662]Anyone looking forward to Watch Dog?



I can't wait for this one to come out.
liquidsmile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 07:48 AM   #6864
NikonsAndVStroms
Beastly Photographer
 
NikonsAndVStroms's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Hub of the Universe
Oddometer: 37,042
Documentary on pro gaming (specifically DOTA) by Valve:

__________________
Motorcycles save lives


"It's the game of life. Do I win or do I lose? One day they're gonna shut the game down. I gotta have as much fun and go around the board as many times as I can before it's my turn to leave."
NikonsAndVStroms is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 04:56 PM   #6865
ThePikeman
German n00b
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Berlin
Oddometer: 4,611
I got my new parts today. So now I am working with an i7 4771, AMD R9 270x and 16 Gb Ram on a Gigabyte H87-HD3 board. I also added an efficient Corsair 550W 80+ gold power supply to the mix. I was lazy and just threw my harddisks in there without new installation. Worked absolutely flawless with my Windows 8.1. Gigabyte even has a nifty little classic shell tool

Not counting the graphics card, it was 540.
Now I can actually play games in acceptable quality.

The whole deal is part of my "Instant GratificationTM Program" for starting to work fulltime.

Now... on to thiefing!
ThePikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 07:55 AM   #6866
NikonsAndVStroms
Beastly Photographer
 
NikonsAndVStroms's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Hub of the Universe
Oddometer: 37,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePikeman View Post
I got my new parts today. So now I am working with an i7 4771, AMD R9 270x and 16 Gb Ram on a Gigabyte H87-HD3 board. I also added an efficient Corsair 550W 80+ gold power supply to the mix. I was lazy and just threw my harddisks in there without new installation. Worked absolutely flawless with my Windows 8.1. Gigabyte even has a nifty little classic shell tool

Not counting the graphics card, it was 540.
Now I can actually play games in acceptable quality.

The whole deal is part of my "Instant GratificationTM Program" for starting to work fulltime.

Now... on to thiefing!
__________________
Motorcycles save lives


"It's the game of life. Do I win or do I lose? One day they're gonna shut the game down. I gotta have as much fun and go around the board as many times as I can before it's my turn to leave."
NikonsAndVStroms is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 03:23 PM   #6867
tserts
Praise San Irritrack
 
tserts's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Yunanistan (Stans baby!)
Oddometer: 2,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePikeman View Post
acceptable quality.
Yeah, right... 10k + cpu rating..

Do yourself a favour and get an ssd as well, it will do wonders on that hardware, instant gratification compatible... Enjoy the new rig!
__________________
BMW F 800 GS 2010 - My Brunhilde
New toys to brake!
Road Rush (Romania, Serbia)
Peloponnese Peninsula on two Africa Twins
9 countries in 15 days - Tserts.eu
tserts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 04:32 PM   #6868
ThePikeman
German n00b
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Berlin
Oddometer: 4,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by tserts View Post
Yeah, right... 10k + cpu rating..

Do yourself a favour and get an ssd as well, it will do wonders on that hardware, instant gratification compatible... Enjoy the new rig!
Comparing to the former quality, it is brilliant.

I do have a small 60 Gb SSD for the system. I already had that covered. I still need a new DVD burner. No more IDE.
ThePikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 05:32 PM   #6869
tserts
Praise San Irritrack
 
tserts's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Yunanistan (Stans baby!)
Oddometer: 2,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikonsAndVStroms View Post
Documentary on pro gaming (specifically DOTA) by Valve:

That's actually a much better movie than I expected, even my wife sat in to watch...

I also added DOTA2 to my steam, not that I will get to play it...
__________________
BMW F 800 GS 2010 - My Brunhilde
New toys to brake!
Road Rush (Romania, Serbia)
Peloponnese Peninsula on two Africa Twins
9 countries in 15 days - Tserts.eu
tserts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 10:58 PM   #6870
UnderNewOwnership
Thread Slayer
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Eastern Yurp
Oddometer: 3,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePikeman View Post
I still need a new DVD burner. No more IDE.
I think you can buy SATA to IDE converter cables, if you still have your old drive.
UnderNewOwnership is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014