ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2011, 08:46 AM   #6751
kubiak
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: madera california
Oddometer: 4,809
anyone know if its ok to run a 100 watt headlight bulb with the stock dakar wire harness? i know on my 1150gs i was told not to do it because the stock harness couldnt hold up to the extra wattage.
kubiak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 09:46 AM   #6752
rc mad
Physycotic gecko
 
rc mad's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Deeping About
Oddometer: 1,408
The Dakar headlight wiring is fairly small gauge stuff as well, I'd run it through a relay with an inline fuse. I'm doing that with a 35watt hid light as I thought the stock wiring was far too thin.

Some people report lighting improvements just fitting a relay.

If i was going to fit a relay i'd upgrade the bulb at the same time.
__________________
"Mad Science" means never stopping to ask "what's the worst thing that could happen?

rc mad screwed with this post 11-12-2011 at 02:34 PM
rc mad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 10:23 AM   #6753
redbastard
Beastly Adventurer
 
redbastard's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rat City
Oddometer: 1,112
over kill

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc mad View Post
The Dakar headlight wiring is fairly small gauge stuff as well, I'd run it through a relay with an inline fuse. I'm doing that with a 35watt hid light as I thought the stock wiring was far too thin.

Some people report lighting improvements just fitting a relay.

If i was going to fit a realy i'd upgrade the bulb at the same time.

Isn't the stock bulb a 55/60 watt, I would hope you'd be fine with a 35 watt hid set up without running a relay.
redbastard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 11:43 AM   #6754
rc mad
Physycotic gecko
 
rc mad's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Deeping About
Oddometer: 1,408
You'd think so wouldn't you, The one I tested before fitting took around 80 watts on initial start-up, not for a great amount of time but I figured a relay was cheap insurance against a fried wiring loom
__________________
"Mad Science" means never stopping to ask "what's the worst thing that could happen?
rc mad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 01:09 PM   #6755
mattomoto
2 wheels rule
 
mattomoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: In the shadow of Long's Peak, CO
Oddometer: 1,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by kubiak View Post
anyone know if its ok to run a 100 watt headlight bulb with the stock dakar wire harness? i know on my 1150gs i was told not to do it because the stock harness couldnt hold up to the extra wattage.
I'm no electrician, so don't hold me to it, but the TT race light is 55w (halogen), so theoretically, should be ok... RC's idea of a relay is not a bad idea however. I might throw one in mine when I do my race light. X2 is OK, but not as bright as I like. It suits my Husky 450 much better and is way brighter than the stock light.
__________________
Matto
mattomoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 02:27 PM   #6756
Ebbs15
Parttime Saddletramp
 
Ebbs15's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Oddometer: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by kubiak View Post
anyone know if its ok to run a 100 watt headlight bulb with the stock dakar wire harness? i know on my 1150gs i was told not to do it because the stock harness couldnt hold up to the extra wattage.
I wouldn't. I've done many headlight swaps in my toyota pickups(older 79-94 models) before finally going to HID. I had a problem with the harnesses melting when ever I used a high W bulb. actually just replacing the harness with a more stout version increased the light output of the 55/60w bulbs as is.

I wouldn't chance it, as inevitably when you're gonna find out it doesn't work it's gonna be 9pm, on some back road, 50 miles from town, with no cell service.


oh and HID pulls more than the claimed wattage while firing up. my 35w bulbs in my DRZ pull close to 90w while igniting. then settle. just FYI


Good luck!
__________________
Part-Time Saddle Tramp
Ebbs15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 03:00 PM   #6757
tmotten
Lefthand ride Dutchy
 
tmotten's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 2,455
I haven't checked the wire cross-sectional size, but most of my accessories wiring uses 4mm wire which is good for 15Amp. That's 210W. Say BM uses thinner wire like 3mm. This is still good for 10Amp. I'd be surprised is running HID's would fry it, also because I thought the high current is only for a short period? I'm guessing a few seconds?
tmotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 04:42 PM   #6758
Ebbs15
Parttime Saddletramp
 
Ebbs15's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Oddometer: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmotten View Post
I haven't checked the wire cross-sectional size, but most of my accessories wiring uses 4mm wire which is good for 15Amp. That's 210W. Say BM uses thinner wire like 3mm. This is still good for 10Amp. I'd be surprised is running HID's would fry it, also because I thought the high current is only for a short period? I'm guessing a few seconds?
yeah it's like a second at most... but that's all it takes. also, remember the condition of the wires, if abused, corroded, or in anyway diminished, they may not handle the power they're supposed to.
__________________
Part-Time Saddle Tramp
Ebbs15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 04:54 PM   #6759
kubiak
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: madera california
Oddometer: 4,809
i talked to a guy at the motorcycle shop today and he said he has only seen where the plug plugs into the bulb gets hot from the extra bulb heat not the wire so they offer upgraded plugs for the higher wattage bulbs. this makes sense but it seems like the wire gauge should be thick enough too for the extra amps.
kubiak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 04:56 PM   #6760
mattomoto
2 wheels rule
 
mattomoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: In the shadow of Long's Peak, CO
Oddometer: 1,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by kubiak View Post
i talked to a guy at the motorcycle shop today and he said he has only seen where the plug plugs into the bulb gets hot from the extra bulb heat not the wire so they offer upgraded plugs for the higher wattage bulbs. this makes sense but it seems like the wire gauge should be thick enough too for the extra amps.
Is yours an HID or a halogen?
__________________
Matto
mattomoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 05:05 PM   #6761
kubiak
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: madera california
Oddometer: 4,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by notmybikemodelname View Post
Just use the stock YZ brakes and it should take no more than 1.5 hours. I tell you, when I got my forks, I couldn't wait like a 15 year old boy getting laid by his 18 year old cheerleader neighbor for the first time.
well today i went for a 200 mile ride around the mountains then got back home aroud three then said what the heck and started doing the fork conversion. got it all switched over in about a hour and a half like you said ready to ride! i do have one more thing to do like the key switch. i just got the switch in the mailbox so monday thats going on and it will be done.
Attached Images
 
kubiak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 05:06 PM   #6762
kubiak
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: madera california
Oddometer: 4,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by kubiak View Post
well today i went for a 200 mile ride around the mountains then got back home aroud three then said what the heck and started doing the fork conversion. got it all switched over in about a hour and a half like you said ready to ride! i do have one more thing to do like the key switch. i just got the switch in the mailbox so monday thats going on and it will be done.
man am i happy!
Attached Images
 
kubiak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 05:07 PM   #6763
kubiak
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: madera california
Oddometer: 4,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattomoto View Post
Is yours an HID or a halogen?
mine is halogen, i was thinking just now and the baja design light i have comes with a 55 or 100 watt bulb so i should be ok?
kubiak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 08:18 PM   #6764
Benjah
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Oddometer: 142
Quote:
man am i happy!
Wait until you take it for ride.

There is a bit of a technique to getting the axel aligned properly. I found the below document very useful.

http://www.moto-pro.com/files/shopti..._alignment.pdf

and

http://www.thumpertalk.com/forum/arc.../t-860817.html

I may well be preaching to the choir here but hopefully someone will find it useful and it does make a noticable improvement.

My axle needed to be filed a little to allow it to be seated all the way in on the RHS (as per second link). PO had being using a metal hammer on it to tap it into place..
Benjah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 03:37 AM   #6765
Aquatic
Beastly Adventurer
 
Aquatic's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Buddina, Sunny Coast, Australia
Oddometer: 1,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by kubiak View Post
anyone know if its ok to run a 100 watt headlight bulb with the stock dakar wire harness? i know on my 1150gs i was told not to do it because the stock harness couldnt hold up to the extra wattage.

I ran a 90/100w Phillips on my 2001 Dakar back in South Africa.
The wires got warm, but nothing ever melted!

The vibration kills those bulbs in no time though. 3 in 16 months
Aquatic is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014