ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2009, 04:45 PM   #16
Jccc
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jccc's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: The Hudson Valley
Oddometer: 1,844
Looks like the Nuvi 350 or 360, I have the 350 and works great, discontinued but you probably could still find one. I use this ram mount on my Dl-650, it's the same exact one pictured on the BMW minus the plastic clip holding onto the bars, it's very solidly built and stable.


http://www.gpscity.com/item-ram-moun...mb149zga21.htm
Jccc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:34 PM   #17
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,139
This is how I mounted my Garmin 60CSx on my F800GS:



I added RAM Diamond mounts on my BarkBuster handguard mounts and the setup is really solid! No vibration at all.

Whatever you get, if you're using a RAM mount, get the short stalk or else you'll have vibration problems.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:43 PM   #18
WoodWorks
House Ape
 
WoodWorks's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Ashland, OR, USA
Oddometer: 2,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee
This is how I mounted my Garmin 60CSx on my F800GS:

Jeebus! Is that a phaser you got on that? Or photon torpedoes? Espresso maker too?

Make it so!

David
__________________
David

I'm tryin' ta think, but nuttin' happens!
--Curly
WoodWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:53 PM   #19
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodWorks
Jeebus! Is that a phaser you got on that? Or photon torpedoes? Espresso maker too?

Make it so!

David
Ok, so I like toys. The item on the right is an older Pentax video/camera, and though it all looks crowded from this view, it works and everything I need to see is visible.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 08:30 PM   #20
Harry Swan
One more time
 
Harry Swan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: High in the Hollywood Hills
Oddometer: 1,097
Anybody tried Touratech's bracket?

I'd like to clamp the Touratech's Zumo mount to something a little more permanent than my current RAM ball and arm setup. I'm pretty sure I would still be able to see the speedometer but I'm not sure about the tachometer.

Hey, Emmbeedee, I like the idea of the Spot but does it need to be mounted?
__________________
What the hell do I know?!?
Harry Swan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 04:12 AM   #21
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Swan
Hey, Emmbeedee, I like the idea of the Spot but does it need to be mounted?
Of course not, but I like to do it right if I can. This way it's always pointed in the best orientation for the signals to work, and it's not easy to steal. The nylon tie I have around it keep it from being lifted quickly, but I left it loose enough that I can just pivot it out of the way to take the SPoT with me if I want to.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 04:26 AM   #22
marty hill
The Energizer Bunny
 
marty hill's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: marietta, ga.
Oddometer: 4,176
Harry, I'm only 5'9" so it would have blocked my view. I sold it and got the TT x-bar. Mounted my 2720 over on the left and can see everything.
__________________
ride till you can't.
1200GS/black
Boxer Cup Replika/red-white-blue

Semper Paratus
marty hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 05:24 AM   #23
CrazyMike
***42***
 
CrazyMike's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: South Cackalacka
Oddometer: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Swan
Anybody tried Touratech's bracket?

I'd like to clamp the Touratech's Zumo mount to something a little more permanent than my current RAM ball and arm setup. I'm pretty sure I would still be able to see the speedometer but I'm not sure about the tachometer.

Hey, Emmbeedee, I like the idea of the Spot but does it need to be mounted?
I've got this setup with a Zumo. It does partially block the tach. I just flipped the brackets and now the bar is on the bottom. It doesn't block anymore. Good to go .
__________________
Mike
--------------------------------------------
1999 BMW R1200C
2009 BMW F800GS
WANTED: Kawasaki ZRX 1200R
CrazyMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 08:08 AM   #24
dholaday
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dholaday's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: White Salmon, WA
Oddometer: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee
This is how I mounted my Garmin 60CSx on my F800GS:



I added RAM Diamond mounts on my BarkBuster handguard mounts and the setup is really solid! No vibration at all.

Whatever you get, if you're using a RAM mount, get the short stalk or else you'll have vibration problems.
What mount did you use for your SPOT?
TIA
dholaday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 08:55 AM   #25
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by fantom
Hi, all fellas :) My first post here, but been lurking for quite some time now. Let me contribute here.



To quickly adapt your cage GPS to your bikes without spending a fortune on watertight, dust-proof solutions ...
It's called Hama Bike Hard Case and here in Poland costs as little as 15 bucks. The layout of the holes at the back is universal and matches many mounts for GPS gear, both in cars and motorcycles. And the 8 removable internal pads with velcro let you adjust the space for the GPS device. In the specs they say the thing is dedicated to bicycle and motorcycle use. Might be a good cheap alternative, huh?
Thanks!!!!

I like it! with the handle bar adapter it MIGHT fit right in the center of the handle bars....

http://translate.google.com/translate?prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.amazon.de%2FHama-Bike-Hard-Universal-Schwarz%2Fdp%2FB0015L5P0S&sl=de&tl=en&history_state0=de|en|


A casual search didn't turn up any USA vendors.... I'll look some more...

Jim
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 08:58 AM   #26
Harry Swan
One more time
 
Harry Swan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: High in the Hollywood Hills
Oddometer: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyMike
I've got this setup with a Zumo. It does partially block the tach. I just flipped the brackets and now the bar is on the bottom. It doesn't block anymore. Good to go .
Thanks folks. I thought about a crossbar but I'll admit to just liking the look of the bracket...
__________________
What the hell do I know?!?
Harry Swan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 11:35 AM   #27
DiabloBlanco
Intl' Hops Inspector
 
DiabloBlanco's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Oddometer: 301
Of course everyone has seen this pretty basic setup, but I'm really pleased with it, RAM mount with the short arm and TT mount (even though my butt hurt a little after paying the toys TT fee). The fact that it locks is pretty worthless if you don't get the extra RAM locking nut (because then if you locked the TT mount, someone could still come up and undo your mount and walk off with it). But the TT does ensure the mount won't be the weak point that gives in the event of... something... But I really like the RAM mount, being able to put the garmin at any angle at any place on the bars. Works out nicely.

Furthermore, I bought a Garmin power cable and a CANbus cable, so once I solder them together I'll have it powered through the CANbus terminal on top of the battery.

The 60Csx isn't the best option in any situation (it IS a small screen), but it's a great option in all situations. Plus I use it a lot on the military side of life, so it's my little do everything. In a couple weeks I'll be purchasing the Wanderlust map data from smellybiker.com once version 2 comes out. Hell of a lot better than Garmin's worldmap...

__________________
-Jordan-
Summer 09 Venezuela to Minnesota: Summer http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=449804
The goal of course is everywhere
US (MN, WI, IA, KS, OK, MO, TX), Mexico, Belize, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, Colombia, Venezuela. 11 down, 184 to go.
DiabloBlanco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 02:28 PM   #28
Trout
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Trout's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: SoCal (91356)
Oddometer: 341
Mine

RAM mount attached to the BMW touring screen support. I moved it up recently. It's hard to tell from the photo, but it doesn't block the idiot lights at all. I positioned it more vertical and there is less glare. Now that I have good software and my maps converted to my Mac to route plan I'm very content with this setup. The OR has worked out very well for me both on and off the bike.

Trout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 02:53 PM   #29
SBloke
Adventurer
 
SBloke's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by dholaday
What mount did you use for your SPOT?
TIA

That's just what I'm wondering... I didn't know they made mounts for these things.
SBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 03:22 PM   #30
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by dholaday
What mount did you use for your SPOT?
TIA




The SPoT holder fits on this "RAM Mount Plastic Handlebar Rail Mount and Direct Swivel Diamond Base". It's not recommended for motorcycle use but I think it's going to work just fine - and I have a tether on the SPoT in case the mount does break, anyway.


__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014