ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Tejas and the Gulf States
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2013, 08:07 AM   #60016
stuckin
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Oddometer: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
I'd do it online, calling can be a real PITA. I'm gonna do it also, figure the more people that complain maybe the sooner they get it fixed.

Can you put up a link to the web page i need to be on? i have the hardest time on there web site. Wanted to email them about a return and keep getting asked ?'s i could not answer and i could not get to there email.

stuck
stuckin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 08:11 AM   #60017
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckin View Post
Can you put up a link to the web page i need to be on? i have the hardest time on there web site. Wanted to email them about a return and keep getting asked ?'s i could not answer and i could not get to there email.

stuck
You need to log into the My Garmin page and then click on the My Support tab. Since you use your own log in and password I obviously can't link it for you.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 08:16 AM   #60018
stuckin
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Oddometer: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
You need to log into the My Garmin page and then click on the My Support tab. Since you use your own log in and password I obviously can't link it for you.
I think i found it. Thanks. I am not a computer person. i just sent them the problem.

stuck
stuckin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 08:28 AM   #60019
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRZ Charlie View Post
Albie if it's a legacy product (more than five years old) Base Camp won't necessarily see it.
It won't access ANY of the maps including the latest CN or Topo maps when I have them installed on the card. If I install them directly to the GPS memory then it allows me access to them.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 08:32 AM   #60020
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,445
Also, you can actually SEE those maps on the card in the My Garmin Devices column, but you can't find them under the pull down menu for Currently Displayed Maps.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 08:34 AM   #60021
stuckin
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Oddometer: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Also, you can actually SEE those maps on the card in the My Garmin Devices column, but you can't find them under the pull down menu for Currently Displayed Maps.

So your having the same problem when u download to ur card only Albie? Are u getting the error message when u plug in ur gps?
stuckin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 08:37 AM   #60022
wayno
Beastly Adventurer
 
wayno's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: East of KCMO
Oddometer: 6,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLewall View Post
mornin mike...I do the same..I check here first and then I make my rounds

this be my main "room"
Nobody takes their pooter to the kitchen and krapper

Morning Gents!
__________________
DL650
DR650
98 KTM RXCe
RIDE SAFE
May as well Laugh
wayno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 08:41 AM   #60023
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,445
Here's a shot of what I'm talking about Charlie, I've got the Topo 24K and CN 2013.30 loaded on the GPS, then I have TOPO 100K and CN 2013.20 on the SD card. I can only access the 2 maps on the GPS mem, but not the 2 on the SD card.

__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 08:43 AM   #60024
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckin View Post
So your having the same problem when u download to ur card only Albie? Are u getting the error message when u plug in ur gps?
I don't get any error messages, I just can't use the maps on the card.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 08:50 AM   #60025
stuckin
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Oddometer: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
I don't get any error messages, I just can't use the maps on the card.

Well its nice to see it might not just be me then.

If the maps all fit on the GPS with room left over is there a reason to have the card? The guy at garmin said it would run better with the maps on the card.

stuck
stuckin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 09:01 AM   #60026
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckin View Post
Well its nice to see it might not just be me then.

If the maps all fit on the GPS with room left over is there a reason to have the card? The guy at garmin said it would run better with the maps on the card.

stuck
Well, you either have to move the maps to the GPS memory or load them up on your PC if you want to be able to use them in BC. Since you probably only need a couple blocks from CN (unless you plan on doing a lot of long road trips) the mapset should easily fit on your on your GPS.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 09:17 AM   #60027
stuckin
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Oddometer: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Well, you either have to move the maps to the GPS memory or load them up on your PC if you want to be able to use them in BC. Since you probably only need a couple blocks from CN (unless you plan on doing a lot of long road trips) the mapset should easily fit on your on your GPS.
it says the US maps are 1466mb My gps will hold 1839mb. Is that enough room to have left over? I am re downloading it to the GPS right now so i can look on Basecamp at smaller roads. Going to leave it on the chip right now and see if it will work.

stuck
stuckin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 09:22 AM   #60028
DrLewall
The Human GPS
 
DrLewall's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Drakes Creek, AR
Oddometer: 30,298
I still like mapsource much better than base camp..
DrLewall is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 09:23 AM   #60029
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckin View Post
it says the US maps are 1466mb My gps will hold 1839mb. Is that enough room to have left over? I am re downloading it to the GPS right now so i can look on Basecamp at smaller roads. Going to leave it on the chip right now and see if it will work.

stuck
You don't really need to load the whole mapset. Do you really think you'll be doing a lot of riding in South Dakota, or Wyoming, or New York, or Massachusetts?
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 09:23 AM   #60030
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLewall View Post
I still like mapsource much better than base camp..
Of course you do, You probably like Windows 98 also.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014