ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Ask Baldy, blame AceRph
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2011, 12:08 PM   #91
AceRph
Affluenza Free!
 
AceRph's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Where the stupidest people on earth run things
Oddometer: 24,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktm950se View Post
Greetings,
I've used the IE de-crufter program on my old PC and loved it. But now, I have a new MacBook Air and my internet access is via Safari.
Is there a de-crufter program that will run with Safari, or would I need to install Firefox?

Thanks for your guidance!

ktm950se
Get Firefox for Mac. Greasemonkey works.
__________________
Equal to all of you of roads and good luck! - krokodil al-kashi

“We are turning into a nation of whimpering slaves to Fear—fear of war, fear of poverty, fear of random terrorism, fear of getting down-sized or fired because of the plunging economy, fear of getting evicted for bad debts or suddenly getting locked up in a military detention camp on vague charges of being a Terrorist sympathizer.” —”Extreme Behavior in Aspen,” February 3, 2003

"The State sees the spectre looming ahead of terrorism and anarchy, and this increases the risk of its over-reaction and a reduction in our freedom." - Stanley Kubrick
AceRph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 06:49 PM   #92
ktm950se
Banned
 
ktm950se's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Southern Maine
Oddometer: 1,385
Thanks!

ktm950se
ktm950se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 06:25 AM   #93
DrLewall
The Human GPS
 
DrLewall's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Drakes Creek, AR
Oddometer: 30,285
just dwnld'd it, and there is no ADV script..wtf? Oh well, I was hopefull..guess I will go back to the old way..damn..
DrLewall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 07:57 AM   #94
rallybug
Local Yokel
 
rallybug's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Location: North Salt Lake, UT
Oddometer: 8,099
The script works quite happily with Safari on a Mac - the GreaseMonkey functionality is built in to Safari (doesn't need an extension like FF).

[Edit]Strange, I'm sure that I remember it working before, but it doesn't now
__________________
Ben

My Ride Reports

rallybug screwed with this post 01-12-2011 at 08:06 AM
rallybug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 11:31 AM   #95
tbolt OP
Bypass? What bypass?
 
tbolt's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Oregon, Corvallis
Oddometer: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLewall View Post
just dwnld'd it, and there is no ADV script..wtf? Oh well, I was hopefull..guess I will go back to the old way..damn..
If you can clarify what you mean by "there is no ADV script" I might be able to help you. Until then, no dice.
__________________
bolty.net - a blog about riding motorcycles [SV650] [DR200]

The ADV Ride Report De-crufter -- [Firefox] [IE]
The ADV Picture Once-inator -- [Firefox]
tbolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 09:48 AM   #96
word1
I'm working on it...
 
word1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Rome, GA
Oddometer: 510
FF beta 4

I've started running the Firefox beta (4.0b9) which I really like.

I'm also a Greasemonkey user, but I'm a little confused by it's status as it pertains to the FF beta.

I'm currently running 0.8.20100408.6, which I understand isn't for FF beta 9.

greasespot.net discusses GM 0.9.0, but my attempts to download it result in getting the same version I already have.

Should I just wait for FF beta 10?

Thanks!

_jay
__________________
Ride it.
Maintain
it.
If it breaks, Repair it.
Repeat.
word1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 02:24 PM   #97
monkeyfez
Enabler....
 
monkeyfez's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: just east of center
Oddometer: 5,016
any support for chrome? I'm just moving to it now and it's pretty nice. Fast and solid like FF used to be.

I'm still sorting if Greasemonkey will do it's thing on chrome but thought I'd ask just in case.
__________________
"When the monkey tells you to give it up, give it up." ~ Bubba Satori
monkeyfez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 08:44 PM   #98
tbolt OP
Bypass? What bypass?
 
tbolt's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Oregon, Corvallis
Oddometer: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by word1 View Post
greasespot.net discusses GM 0.9.0, but my attempts to download it result in getting the same version I already have.

Should I just wait for FF beta 10?

Thanks!

_jay
I have no idea. You're running beta software, which is, by nature, called "beta" for a reason. ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyfez View Post
any support for chrome? I'm just moving to it now and it's pretty nice. Fast and solid like FF used to be.

I'm still sorting if Greasemonkey will do it's thing on chrome but thought I'd ask just in case.
As I've said before, I do not intend to port this script to Chrome. The script is open source, so a Chrome user with programming-fu is more than welcome to take the lead.

Or, you could pay me. Because money is an excellent motivator, and my new DR200 needs farkles.
__________________
bolty.net - a blog about riding motorcycles [SV650] [DR200]

The ADV Ride Report De-crufter -- [Firefox] [IE]
The ADV Picture Once-inator -- [Firefox]
tbolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 07:18 AM   #99
word1
I'm working on it...
 
word1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Rome, GA
Oddometer: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbolt View Post
I have no idea. You're running beta software, which is, by nature, called "beta" for a reason. ;)

Uh.. yeah, I pretty much understand what beta software is after working in the industry for 30-odd years. ;)

I was trying to get 0.9.0 downloaded & installed - which was the point of my post.

It was based on this snip from greasespot.net:

Greasemonkey 0.9.0 Release


It's been a long time coming, but it should be worth the wait! The next major release of Greasemonkey, version 0.9.0, is ready. Let's dive right into the new features:

New Features:

  • Compatibility with Firefox 4! Note that because of Firefox bug 612025 this is somewhat unsafe for 4.0b7 to 4.0b9 (inclusive). Beta 10 should be fixed (the nightly build on January 14th definitely is). Firefox 4 support is still preliminary. Everything probably works, but not everything works really well. The backlog of bugs for the next release is primarily focused on this.
  • Complete integration with the standard Firefox Add-ons dialog, treating User Scripts as just another kind of browser add-on.

FWIW, I was able to get GM 0.9.0 installed, and it seems to integrate and function correctly for me under FF 4.0b9.

_jay (a happy GM user and supporter)
__________________
Ride it.
Maintain
it.
If it breaks, Repair it.
Repeat.
word1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 09:57 PM   #100
tbolt OP
Bypass? What bypass?
 
tbolt's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Oregon, Corvallis
Oddometer: 436
Firefox 5 breaks this script

It has come to my attention that upgrading to Firefox 5 will break this script.

At this point, I don't know if the problem is with the script itself or with Greasemonkey. I will investigate, but with my OBDR trip coming up in two short weeks, I don't have a timeframe for when this will be fixed.

If you care about this script and/or this matters to you, keep an eye on this thread for updates.
__________________
bolty.net - a blog about riding motorcycles [SV650] [DR200]

The ADV Ride Report De-crufter -- [Firefox] [IE]
The ADV Picture Once-inator -- [Firefox]
tbolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 10:10 AM   #101
RAGBrian
jonesing for a ride
 
RAGBrian's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Wildwood, MO
Oddometer: 935
At least Once-inator isn't broken! I just tried it De-crufter after installing FF5 and I can confirm it's broken...

Standing by...
__________________
RAGBrian :: NC700X ::1978 CX500 Standard :: 1976 CB360T ::
"Going where you don't belong, I decided a long time ago, is the root of all misery and the soul of all adventure." - Peter Egan
RAGBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 05:21 PM   #102
tbolt OP
Bypass? What bypass?
 
tbolt's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Oregon, Corvallis
Oddometer: 436
I've fixed the issue with the script not working in Firefox 5. Please upgrade your scripts to version 1.4.

To install the update...
  1. Go to Tools -> Greasemonkey -> Manage User Scripts...
  2. Locate "ADV Ride Report De-crufter" in the list and click Remove.
  3. Then click here to install the new version.
__________________
bolty.net - a blog about riding motorcycles [SV650] [DR200]

The ADV Ride Report De-crufter -- [Firefox] [IE]
The ADV Picture Once-inator -- [Firefox]
tbolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 10:41 AM   #103
klrmtn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Byron, IL
Oddometer: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbolt View Post
I've fixed the issue with the script not working in Firefox 5. Please upgrade your scripts to version 1.4.

To install the update...
  1. Go to Tools -> Greasemonkey -> Manage User Scripts...
  2. Locate "ADV Ride Report De-crufter" in the list and click Remove.
  3. Then click here to install the new version.
You are awesome! Thank you for fixing it. It's amazing how much I missed it when it didn't work, I almost stopped reading some reports waiting patiently for the fix. And to do it while getting ready for your own trip, thanks a bunch.

(Much happier now)
Jason
klrmtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 09:32 AM   #104
sdswingr
No, I don't own a BMW
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Burlington, VT
Oddometer: 227
So I just tried your chrome links, it works as in it installs the only show " " posts button, but it doesn't actually do it
__________________
Best Quote ever...
Quote:
Then I told them to smash their face into the floor as hard as they could and drive it forward 3 feet. I got a bunch of laughter and of course no one did it. I went on to say that if you weren't willing to do that, that you should rethink any decision to ride without a helmet.
sdswingr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 09:39 AM   #105
tbolt OP
Bypass? What bypass?
 
tbolt's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Oregon, Corvallis
Oddometer: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdswingr View Post
So I just tried your chrome links, it works as in it installs the only show " " posts button, but it doesn't actually do it
Chrome is currently not supported. Some have tried to make it work. I do not intend to offer support for Chrome at this time.
__________________
bolty.net - a blog about riding motorcycles [SV650] [DR200]

The ADV Ride Report De-crufter -- [Firefox] [IE]
The ADV Picture Once-inator -- [Firefox]
tbolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014